Keep Running

Meet Evy!

In september I’ve planned a 10K run. I use a program called Keep Running which helps me to run 10K in 10 weeks. Evy is my friend who talks me through my trainings. She tells me when I’m halfway and when I have 5 more minutes to go. And along the way she gives me tips about food, training clothes and shoes and how to deal with different weather conditions. This program works fantastic for me. I rarely look at my watch how much longer I have to run.

Every week exists of 3 trainings.

First training is always a run of 30 minutes, after 5 weeks 35 minutes.
Second training week 1: 35 minutes up to 1 hour and 10 minutes in week 10.
Third training is interval: warming up for 10 minutes, 25 minute run with in week 1 4 x 100 m acceleration up to 4 x 400 m acceleration in week 10 over a distance of 4.000 meters and then a 10 minute cooling down.

This third training is the hardest one. Tonight I ran lesson 9 which means that I had to accelerate 8 x 100 m.

It goes something like this:
Warming up: I can do this, its easy.
Run: La la la its easy but then comes the first acceleration (about 30 seconds). It becomes a bit more difficult but only 7 to go. After the 4th I talking to myself: I’m never gonna make it, yes you can do it, no I can’t, yes you can and while talking to myself I’ve finished the 6th. And then 5 more minutes to go but still 2 accelerations ahead. Am I gonna make it the whole 25 minutes. At this point my tongue is on my shoes but I’m thinking: you’ve made it this far so come on finish it.
And then …. then I can walk again and regain my breath. I have my own Rocky moment and by the end of the cooling down I’ve recuperated and am happy that I made it.

And now an hour after my training I feel great! Up to next week when I have to accelerate 3 x 100 m and 2 x 200 m. But before that a 30 and 45 minute run.

Never thought I would say this but I love running and I keep running!

4 responses to “Keep Running

  1. I’m right there with you. I have a constant battle in my head when I’m running. That’s probably the biggest reason that I listen to music while I run – to distract me! The second I get an “I’m tired” or “I can’t do this” thought in my head… it’s hard to shake and even harder to keep going.

    That sounds like a great training program, though! I imagine having Evy’s voice in your head telling you to keep running is very motivating! 🙂

    Keep up the awesome work!

  2. Well done Fran!!
    And I also ‘love’ Evy 😉 She talks me right through the running lesson. 🙂

    Big kiss!

    Sis 😉

  3. It’s great to find something you really love! My biggest exercise love was always swimming. Now I have some mental barriers holding me back from it.

    From what I hear about running, is it’s mostly a mental battle. If you can win from that little voice telling you that you can’t go on.. then you’ve won. Hopefully you keep track of all the times you “won” so on future runs you won’t have to doubt yourself!

  4. This sounds like a great program! I’ve been pushing myself to accelerate during my runs but I’m not always successful.
    Sounds like you’re conquering the mental battle as well. It’s tough to keep going when that little voice in your head is yelling “WALK or even worse, STOP!”
    You’re doing so great! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

