A day in my life: Saturday August 1th 2009

Health:
I didn’t renew my online subscription on Weight Watchers today. Counting calories or points makes me grouchy after about 2 weeks. So I’ve decided to do it on my own. I’ve been too heavy for many years now and I know how to eat healthy and we do! It’s the snacks which I have to control.

So I use this starting point:
– Eat 5 fruits/veggies a day
– Drink enough water
– Exercise 5 times a week
– Eat 3 meals and 2 to 3 (healthy) snacks a day

I did join Spark People today but not for tracking my food but for my exercise tracking and I like the tips and information the site provides.

Exercise:
This morning I had to run 50 minutes. I was a bit nervous yesterday: could I do this. This would be the longest run I ever did. I said to myself this morning: you can run at least 40 minutes, if you’re tired by then you may walk for a minute. But I didn’t! I made it the whole 50 minutes and I’m very proud of myself!

This was the first day of 6 days of exercise in a row. Coming up are two more runs, 1 Pilates class, 1 Power yoga class and a Zumba class. After these 6 days, 2 days of rest.

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday I’ve made some pasta with cherry tomatoes, mozzarella, rocket salad and some olive oil. It tasted very good.

I never cook on Saturday, I buy some fresh bread on Saturday morning at the bakery and we eat that for dinner. Today I made a delicious Greek salad to go with it. Made enough so I can eat it for lunch tomorrow.

Thoughts:
Today was a beautiful day: sunny and not too hot so I spend most of the afternoon sitting in my garden working on one of my cross stitch works.

Positive today was:
I did a run of 50 minutes!

Daily Tip/Quote:
What distinguishes those of us at the starting line from those of us on the couch is that we learn through running to take what the days gives us, what our body will allow us, and what our will can tolerate.
John Bingham, running writer/speaker

6 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday August 1th 2009

  1. Hey Fran – Thanks for your comments. I noticed we’re close to the same weight (I’m hovering around 189) and our goal weights are the same, 160. Strange! I will definitely be following your progress. I don’t have a time frame in mind for reaching my goal weight, tho’ – just whenever I get there.

  2. Wow! That greek salad looks awesome….I’m heading to the grocery store today and may need to pick up those ingredients. 🙂 Great job on your run! I have to do run today too and I’m feeling tired. But now I feel like it can happen–thanks for inspiring me…

  3. I love bread and could easily eat it for dinner with a little cheese and a glass of wine! That is the perfect meal to me.

    Great job on your workouts! Have a wonderful week!

  4. 50 minutes!! WOW!! you go girl! That’s fabulous in my books!!

    That greek salad looks ‘to die for’.. YUM!!!

    ~Carla~
    http://www.operationmuffintop.wordpress.com

  5. I didn’t really like WW online. The people on the message boards we’re really catty. I thought I was in high school again. All I wanted were tips and advice for losing weight. Now I attend weekly meetings. I prefer that. Good luck with your weight loss.

  6. OKAY…so I see when you stopped.

    I cant stop counting points now after 8 months it makes me feel in control, even when I end up eating bad things if I still keep to my 20 points a day I feel no guilt…

Leave a Reply

