Running goal 2009/2010/2011

Recently I’ve got a new manager whom I work for (I’m a management assistant working for the managing director and two other managers). This newbie is extremely sportive, one of the things he does is running. He completed several half-marathons.

We started talking about running and how proud I was about completing 50 minutes. He asked me how many km’s/miles I run in 50 minutes. I told him (a bit shameful) that I ran a little more than 6 km (3.7 miles) in these 50 minutes, that I’m a slow runner. He then asked me what my goal was: do I want to run a fast time or do I want to lose weight (told him about my weight loss journey). So I told him I want to lose weight.

He told me that I was doing great: running slow for a longer time helps you lose weight. Running fast to get a good finishing time doesn’t help you to lose the weight very much.

It made me happy: I sometimes worry that I don’t run faster but as of today I’m not going to look how many km’s/miles I run but only that I run the whole training without taking a break.

It also made me think about my goals for my running. So (assuming that I keep enjoying running) I’ve made a plan:

Next month (September 27th) I’m going to run a 10K race. Then during the winter I’ll keep running 10K and will sign up for some 10K races during the winter).

Next spring (2011) I’ll start training for a 15K run which I will run somewhere in August/September next year. During that winter I will do the same as this year but then at 15K races.

And my final goal is start to train for a half-marathon in the Spring of 2012 and run this half-marathon in August/September 2012.

It might seem as a “slow” goal but I’ve got time, I don’t want to rush into things. I want to run the 10K self-assured before I go to the next level.

4 responses to “Running goal 2009/2010/2011

  1. I’ve always read that the more oxygen you can get to your body, the more fat you’ll burn, so slower should help you lose more weight. Sounds like a great goal for a 1/2 marathon – I’ll be rootin’ for ya!

  2. You know how the old saying goes… “slow and steady winsthe race!”

    😉

  3. That is great to know! Because I will NEVER be fast….

    I love your goals and I think they are totally do-able!

  4. That’s very interesting about the slow running helping in weight-loss (says the very slow runner!) – thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

