A day in my life: Sunday August 16th 2009

Health:
Eating is going well, I’ve had some chips yesterday evening and a few chocolates at my tea this afternoon but besides that it’s going good.

Exercise:
Yesterday morning I did a run. I had to do 55 minutes. I’ve never run this far. I can’t believe that I get a step further every week and do it without walking or stopping.

This morning I went to the gym and trained 20 minutes at the elliptical machine and did 40 minutes strength exercises after that.

What’s for dinner:
Sunday smoothie:
a handful of strawberries, a handful of raspberries, ½ pineapple, some low fat yoghurt and pineapple juice.

We ate soup with bread tonight. I’ve made it easy for myself because I’ve bought it ready-made and all I had to do was heat it up. I did make dessert: semolina pudding with a sauce of strawberries, raspberries and red currants.

Thoughts:
Yesterday afternoon I had my mom over to visit us and this morning my mother in law dropped in for a cup of coffee. I spent the afternoon working on one of my cross-stitch works.

I think I’m going to watch The Shawshank Redemption on tv tonight. I’ve seen it many times but it still is one of the best movies ever in my opinion.

It’s a wonderful idea that I won’t have to get up tomorrow morning to go to work but have 2 free weeks ahead of me. We haven’t planned much, we have to save money as we used most of it on a renovation of our house this spring. But I don’t mind, I love being at home. I planned to exercise almost every morning and do some housekeeping jobs which I should have done earlier and enjoy the beautiful wheater that is expected for the next few days.

Positive today was:
Lazy Sunday.

Daily Tip/Quote:
If you ever get a second chance in life for something, you’ve got to go all the way.
Lance Armstrong

4 responses to “A day in my life: Sunday August 16th 2009

  1. Smoothie looks soooo good & refreshing! I bet it was fabulous!! 🙂

    Sounds like you had an awesome workout, good for you!!! 🙂 I’ve never seen the Shawshank Redemption, i’ll have to rent it soon!

    Enjoy your 2 weeks off!!! 🙂

  2. As always you are eating beautiful (and delicious, no doubt) things! Yum!!

    I LOVE the Shawshank Redemption… perhaps I will put it in my Netflix queue to watch it again.

    Also, 55 minutes of non-stop running?? Go girl! I’m proud of you. 😀

  3. Enjoy your STAYcation! That smoothie looks so good!

  4. Fran,

    Enjoy your time off! I love staycations, too! Today was my first day back to work after being home all summer – 11 weeks – wonderful! Would love to see pics of your newly renovated home.

    Wanted to tell you – I thought of you Sunday, after reading your profile, learning a bit more about you, and then seeing a book at the store: The Geography of Bliss, by Eric Weiner,
    http://www.ericweinerbooks.com/content/index.asp

    Do you know this book? I had heard of it, but had never seen it. The author sets out to find the “happiest” places on earth, and guess where the book starts? The Netherlands! I hope you are findng your happiness in your part of the world!

    I was glad to hear your speedwork went well, too… better than mine, I think!

    Take care,
    Robin

Leave a Reply

