A day in my life: Friday August 21th 2009

Health:
I’m still feeling very relaxed. Eating is okay even though I’ve gained a bit last week. I haven’t eaten much fruit in this week, that’s a common problem when I’m having a holiday: I just forget to eat it.

Exercise:
Wednesday I had to do my 35 minute run but it was already hot at 9 am so I made it a run of 27 minutes.

Yesterday I did my housekeeping.

This morning I had another milestone: I had to run 1 hour and I’ve made it all the way. I’m so proud of myself. I ran 8 km (4.9 miles).

To think I started at March 30 with running. That day I ran 9 minutes with walking in between. I can’t believe I’ve come this far!

What’s for dinner:
Wednesday I’ve made a salad of nectarines, feta cheese and uncooked ham. We ate it with bread and herbal butter.

Yesterday I made breads filled with minced meat, mushrooms, shallots and garlic. I’ve put in the oven so the cheese on top could melt.

Thoughts:
Wednesday and yesterday were hot. Yesterday was the hottest day in The Netherlands of this summer. I’m not a person who can stand the heat very well (at least not here, in Southern countries I can handle it much better) so I was relieved when at the end of the day it cooled down and we’ve had a thunderstorm. Today the temperature is so much better!

Tomorrow is going to be a fun day. R. restores old Ducati’s (motorcycle) and tomorrow he’s having his first classic race. So I’m going to watch him and make some action pictures. But first I’ll take a Pilates class in the morning.

Positive today was:
I ran 1 hour!

Daily Tip/Quote:
I run with my head, my heart and my guts, because physically, I don’t think I’ve got a great deal of talent or ability. I started at the bottom and worked up.
Steve Jones, former marathon world record holder

7 responses to “A day in my life: Friday August 21th 2009

  1. This entry is filled with so many positive thoughts that it inspires me as well…
    Well done on that hour run today, agree being cooler today does help as the last two days have been so so hot.

    today I went to the gym and did one hour on the ellipitcal machine then toned on machines for 30 mins…boy did I sweat as so humid in that place.

    Meals look lovely…

  2. I’m so impressed by all the things you have accomplished in just one day. I just walked for 35 minutes. We had a cold front go through, and it cooled off the air so nicely!

    Have a wonderful day.

  3. Nice work! I want to be able to run like you!!!

  4. Amazing running!!!!! You rock!!! 🙂

    Your bread with the minced meat & cheese looks soo good! yum!! 🙂

    Glad it’s cooled down for you!!! Heat can be brutal sometimes can’t it??

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog!!

    It seems you are doing well with your challenge! AND running ONE hour! High five girl that is AWESOME! One hour is brutal but you did it! Isn’t it amazing to look back and see how far you have come? 9 min a year ago and one hour this year! Just think where you will be next year! 10K then a 12K then a 15K then a HALF MARATHON?!
    Keep up the good work!
    Amanda

  6. Great job on the run!

  7. Very nice blog!! Best of luck on reaching your goals!

Leave a Reply

