A day in my life: Tuesday September 8th 2009

Health:
No changes in the food department, still eating healthy, drinking enough water and eat my fruits and veggies.

Exercise:
Yesterday was my last training of my 10K program: an interval training. I had to go before dinner because I had to do something else after dinner (see thought) but yesterday was a hot day.

I went terrible! I had to speed up 4 times in the training. I managed the first two, by the third I just kept on jogging my normal speed and after that I even had to walk. I just must not run when it’s above 25 degrees (77F) so I won’t do that anymore. Fortunately fall is arriving and the temperatures will be nicer to run in.

My 10K is Sunday in 2 weeks and my program is finished. From now on I will run 2 times on working days: 1 5K run and 1 interval training and 1 time in the weekend: 10K.

Today’s a day of rest.

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday a simple dinner: a piece of pork meat, potatoes and broccoli.

Today I’ve made mushrooms with onions and bacon, baked potatoes with Italian herbs and a salad with feta cheese.

Thoughts:
Ever since I’ve lost my dad to cancer in 2000 I am a volunteer for the Dutch anti cancer campaign. Every year in the first week of September I collect for money for the fight against cancer in two streets nearby my home. That’s what I did yesterday evening.

I was so touched by a little girl of about 10 years old. She opened the door and I told her what I was coming for. She said her mother wasn’t home so I said that I might come back later this week.

No, wait, she said and she ran upstairs. She came down with about a dollar and gave it to me.
So I’ve asked her if she got that money from her piggy bank and she said yes. And I found that so sweet of her.

Tonight I had an appointment at my beauty salon. I go there every 8 weeks for a facial treatment and a neck and shoulder massage so right now I’m feeling kind of sleeping from the massage

Positive today:
Beautiful weather, productive working day, relaxing treatment at the beauty salon.

Daily Tip/Quote:
I still find each day too short for all the thoughts I want to think, all the walks I want to take, all the books I want to read and all the friends I want to see.
John Burroughs

6 responses to “A day in my life: Tuesday September 8th 2009

  1. Fran,

    Children can be so sweet, so innocent, so pure… it’s a beautiful thing. 🙂

    Sounds like your 10K training is coming along really well. I had to laugh at your comment about the temperature, though. I can only WISH for such nice running weather. It’s usually 85+ degrees by the time I get out for a mid-morning run on the weekend. Runners here are on the streets at 4 am, 5 am… and then as late as 10 pm – just to beat the heat. Perfect running weather won’t arrive until late October/early November, unless we get a late season tropical storm. Then, it’ll be even later in the year. The heat really slows me down – even more than usual! I’ve definitely figured out that races for me are mostly in the Oct – March season, though I will do a 5K this weekend, just for the experience. PR will be slower than usual, I’m thinking. Bummer.

    Sunday in two weeks: Sept 20? I want to mark my calendar.

    Headed to the kitchen to prepare dinner (it’s 6 pm here now).

    Take care, friend!

    Robin

  2. What a sweet girl!

    Great job completing your 10K training!

  3. That is such a sweet thing with the little girl! What a big heart. 🙂

  4. I know what you mean about the heat – it was really hot here too yesterday, bah! This morning it still felt muggy but they say it is supposed to get cooler. Hopefully it will be perfect weather for your 10K!

  5. It is really hard to exercise in the heat, let alone train for a 10K in it! I’m impressed you did so well.

    That little girl sounds really sweet. I hope my kids will be so generous as they grow up.

    Have a wonderful day!

  6. It is very hard to exercise in hot weather. Did you know that once you get warmed up, it actually feels 20 degrees hotter than the actual air temperature while working out? I love running on cool mornings.

Leave a Reply

