A day in my life: Wednesday September 16th 2009

Health:
I’m kind of tired since Sunday. I suppose it has to do with the weather changing from summer into fall. Don’t have much energy.

Exercise:
I skipped my Pilates class yesterday. I wasn’t in the mood to do any kind of exercise.

Today for the first since a long time I also didn’t feel like running. My legs felt heavy. But I did go. I said to myself that I had to run but do a shorter round than usual and so I did. I ran 3.5 km/2.2 miles in 25 minutes. Now I feel good that I did go instead of skipping this one too.

I kind of lost my “mojo” for working out this weekend so please look and help me find it back  🙂

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday a simple dinner of minced steak, potatoes and spinach with cucumber.

Tonight a chicken breast in breadcrumb with parsley, baked potatoes and carrots with green peas.

Thoughts:
R. was home late Monday, after midnight so I already was sleeping by the time he got home.

Work’s still busy. Tomorrow I’m having a meeting outside the office so my boss is picking me up early at the carpool near by my home. The thing I dislike the most about my job is taking notes at meetings so I don’t really look forward to tomorrow.

Positive today:
Had a nice lunch with my best friend K.

Daily Tip/Quote:
To change one’s life:  Start immediately.  Do it flamboyantly.  No exceptions.  ~William James

5 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday September 16th 2009

  1. Hi Fran,

    Thanks for adding me and following. I have been very successful thus far in my weight loss journey. Thanks 100% to Weight Watchers. I saw you tried it. I absolutely love the program and I get excited to track all my points and watch the weight fall off. I will add you and continue to contribute to your weight loss as well.

    Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Ha! I have lost my working out mojo before too! Thank goodness it always rolls back around…eventually!

    As for your questions about tempo and interval and paces…I am no expert! But I will try to clear it up a bit. Here is a good site you can poke around http://www.halhigdon.com/halfmarathon/inter.htm
    if you scroll down Hal kinda explains each run.

    So an interval workout usually consists of fast repeats separated by walking or jogging. so I do 400 meter intervals usually, sometime 800 meter (1/2 a mile). You could 100 meters or 200 meters. It really doesn’t matter. So you could run pretty fast, almost as fast as you can for say 200 meters then slowly jog 200 meters (works out well on a track and can be done on a long trail too). You would do say maybe 5 repeats of the fast interval, making for 5 slow ones as well to equal 2000 meters total. I do my 400 meter intervals at 5K pace. Meaning that if I were to run a really really fast 5 K my 1/4 mile splits would be 1 minute 30 seconds to make for a 6 min mile (18 min 5k) IF I were to run them that fast all at once. So I run between a 1:30 and 1:40 min per lap fast pace then my slow lap is about 2:15. does that make sense?

    Tempo runs are a bit more difficult. For say a 30 min tempo run You start out very slow, slower than your usual running pace (speed at which you run consistantly). so it is a continuous run with a buildup in the middle to near 10-K race pace. A Tempo Run of 30 to 45 minutes would begin with 10-15 minutes easy running, build to 15-20 minutes near the middle, then 5-10 minutes easy toward the end. The pace buildup should be gradual, not sudden, with peak speed coming about two-thirds into the workout. Hold that peak only for a minute or two. I consider Tempo Runs to be the “Thinking Runner’s Workout.” A Tempo Run can be as hard or easy as you want to make it, and it has nothing to do with how long (in time) you run or how far. In fact, the times prescribed for Tempo Runs serve mainly as rough guidelines. Feel free to improvise. Improvisation is the heart of doing a Tempo Run correctly.

    Now as for pace, usually what is meant by that is the average speed at which you usually run. for instance, if my 10K is 60 min my pace is about a 10 min mile. Or if my 5K time is 21 min then my pace is a 7 min mile.

    I hope that helps!! 🙂

    Amanda

  3. Dear Fran, please get your mojo back because I look to you for running inspiration!

  4. Hi Fran, I know what you mean about not feeling like going for a run! I usually never feel like running, I just tell myself that I will feel better afterwards, and it’s true, I usually do!

  5. Oh that freakin Mojo. Mine lost too. I suspect our mojo’s are off together somewhere getting their drink on.

    Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

