A day in my life: Sunday October 25 2009

Exercise:
Yesterday I went for a run, had no goal so I just started and did 6.29K/3.9 miles in 46 minutes.

It was dry but before and after my run it was raining so my timing was perfect. I love running in Autumn because I don’t like running in hot weather.

My new tights arrived in the mail yesterday so I could try them out and they fit perfectly!

I found some fun races to participate in. First there is the “Third Christmas day” run. In Holland Christmas is celebrated for 2 days. This run is the day after that: great way to burn the calories of Christmas.

Then I found one that is on December 31, the “Sylvester cross”.

And one next year which is for woman only, men are not allowed to participate. It’s called the “Marikenloop”. And finally a run across a circuit where normally car races are held.

I don’t know if I will participate in all of them but I think I will do the one on December 31. For me that’s a great way to close a year in which I finally started living healthy and exercising.

This morning I went to the gym for my Matt Roberts training. Gym opens at 9 am on Sunday so I was there at 9 am sharp. But it was busy! I got to do my running, my biking and my strength exercises but then I had to do 10 minutes on the elliptical: they were all occupied! So I did my last exercise: crunches first and checked again after that: still busy. I hate it when that happens. So I skipped this one and did my cooling down exercises. While doing that I saw the rowing machine and said to myself I will do that next time if something else is not available.

What’s for dinner:
I didn’t make pictures of the buffet Friday night.

Yesterday I made a sandwich of rocket salad, carpaccio, pesto and some old cheese. Delicious!

Thoughts:
The party Friday night wasn’t much fun. There was no atmosphere. The band wasn’t very good. And as we have a law against smoking in public buildings everybody had to go outside if they wanted to smoke and as a lot of the people there smoked it seemed more like the party was outside.

The food was very good, I had a little plated with some meat and French fries and a little plate with dessert. I drank only 2 glasses of wine since I was the one to drive home. We were home at midnight.

This afternoon I’m meeting 5 friends for a high tea. We all met on the woman’s forum I write on and every now and then we meet in real life. None of them lives really close by but I “talk” to them every day at the forum. I’m really looking forward because their great and fun women!

Itunes shuffle playing right now:
Rod Stewart – I’ll stand by you

Positive today:
Went to the gym to burn calories before high tea this afternoon with lovely friends.

Daily Tip/Quote:
Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.
Albert Camus

8 responses to “A day in my life: Sunday October 25 2009

  1. I love going to high tea – especially if there’s clotted cream and lemon curd. But mostly it’s nice just to feel dainty and ladylike and spend some time with lovely ladies (I’ve never been to tea with a man…hmmmm).

  2. Reading about your day makes me feel so guily as I’ve taken the day off….why is this….do you also feel guilty when you read about others training programs on your off day??

    I walked for about one and a half hours around the most beautiful zoo called Opel – Zoo today after our big breakfast…was such a beautiful day out…I took so many photo’s, loved being out and came home in such a good mood.

    Enjoy your high tea…sounds very posh!!!

  3. ahhhhhhh so that’s my problem…I dont plan my workouts in advanced, I wake up and decided that morning what I’m going to do, then when I get to the gym I can often change my mind and do whatever comes my way while there…
    So today i did think of going to gym when I got back from Frankfurt, but then changed my mind, read your post and felt so guilty that I took today off…LOL

  4. High tea sounds lovely. Tea is a great meal.

    Glad your new pants arrived and that they fit perfectly.

    Great idea about the run on December 31st. Perfect way to end the year.

  5. I had high tea at the Savoy Hotel once, loved it. Enjoy!

  6. High tea? I’ve never done it but I’ve seen it done in movies. How fun for you!

    I love the way you are planning your future runs.

  7. Sorry I scared you! 🙂 didn’t mean to! But I am back now! Thanks for sharing that I am an inspiration to you, that really helps to motivate me! I think it is just the gloomy weather change. I love the beautiful trees this time of year but fall is just so hard for me. the transition from summer to winter just plain sucks!

    Sounds like your workouts are going awesome! And those races sound great!

    The rowing machine is one of my favorites! Be ready for a sore back after you do it! remember to pull the rows back far enough that your shoulder blades nearly touch! Then slowly release! he he!!

    Amanda

  8. High tea sounds like so much fun! Wish we had that around here.

    Great job on the run!

Leave a Reply

