A day in my life: Wednesday November 25th 2009

Thoughts:
Okay everybody sit down. Are you sitting?

Well here’s the Dutch girl who said she wouldn’t diet again or follow a program. And guess what …. I’m back at Weight Watchers. After Marcelle told about the new WW program in Germany I looked it up on the Dutch WW site and they will launch it online next week. I think it will help me on my journey to reaching my goal weight.

I’ve been writing down my food intake since last week and reading back it seems my portions are too big and they can be more healthier, especially dinner. So I entered my food since last Monday and yes I’m eating too much and make not enough healthy choices. As I don’t want to be obsessed too much by points I keep writing down my food in my diary and enter it on the site at night. I’m going back to weigh my foods for a while to get focussed on portion sizes again.

WW has been the only program that helped me lose weight in the past, all other diets/programs didn’t work. It’s not a diet to me but a lifestyle and I need their help right now to change my food lifestyle again. I did it once before 10 years ago already and it worked. So .. wish me luck.

Exercise:
No exercise yesterday since I had to had my nails done.

Today I left a bit early from work since it was raining all day and at the end of the afternoon it stopped raining. So I went home, put on my running clothes and went for an interval training of 4K. I did tempo runs of 30 seconds, 1 minute and 1 minute and 30 seconds and then repeated it with jogging in between. It didn’t rain but there was a very strong wind which I don’t mind, I love wind. So I had a very good feeling afterwards, it went very well.

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday some kind of Chinese food (Dutch version).

Today a piece of meat, rösti and carrots with green peas.

The Ultimate Diet Log:
I’ve told you about my food diary. Yesterday I noticed that there’s a tip on every page and I’m going to share it with you. It’s categorized in: research report, nutrition shocker, by the numbers, food factoid, nutrition tip, fitness factoid and a quote so every time I’m blogging I will give you one or more of these things. Maybe it helps you, maybe not. I thought it would be nice to share it with you.

Quote: All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast, John Gunther.

Research report: In a fast-food study, subjects who ate small meals underestimated the calories by 8 percent. Those who really indulged undershot by 38 percent, guessing that their 1188-calorie meals contained only 675 calories.

Nutrition shocker: A single-serve soft drink in a typical American supermarket is 52 percent larger than a soft drink in a Parisian supermarket.

Subscribbler award:

I received this reward from Kimberley (K_the_Phoenix) Kimberley has Dutch roots and she knows about some things I talk about and she’s a great support to me.

Here are the rules and regulations:

-Each Superior Scribbler must in turn pass the award on to five most deserving bloggers.

-Each Superior Scribbler must link to the author and the name of the blog from whom s/he has received the award.

-Each Superior Scribbler must display the award on his/her blog, and link to The Scholastic Scribe http://scholastic-scribe.blogspot.com/2008/10/200-this-blings-for-you.html which explains the award.

-Each blogger who wins The Superior Scribbler Award must visit this post http://scholastic-scribe.blogspot.com/2008/10/200-this-blings-for-you.html and add his/her name to the Mr Linky List. That way, they’ll be able to keep up-to-date on everyone who receives this prestigious honour.

-Each Superior Scribbler must post these rules on his/her blog.

 

I would have given the Scribbler to Marcelle http://marchellos-livingaway.blogspot.com/ Syl http://www.livesmilerun.com/ or Tamara http://onelastkick.blogspot.com/ who are all so supportive to me and a motivation for me but they already received it.

So I’ve chosen the following recipients of the Superior Scribbler Award:

 

Shelley at a fourty-something weight loss journey She is inspirational, sensational, motivational and lost over 100 pounds already.

Amanda at 5 miles 2 empty. Amanda is my running inspiration. I hope one day I run as good as she does.

Kenz at All the weigh. Kenz is such a great person, her posts always make me happy and she’s a Bruce Springsteen fan too.

Bare it all Bare it all I’m ashamed to say I don’t know her name but she bares it all and keeps on going on her journey. I love her blog.

Amy at No to the deuce. I love Amy, she’s got so much humour and loves to cook like I do.

Visit these great girls if you don’t already, they’re absolutely worth it!

Itunes shuffle playing right now:

Back to memory lane, in May R. and I went to Pinkpop, a music festival in Holland where Bruce Springsteen performed. He did one of my favourites “Thunder Road” and did that together with Brandon Flowers of The Killers. It was a great performance.

Positive today:
Back to the weight watchers!

Daily Tip/Quote:
I keep trying to lose weight… but it keeps finding me!
Author Unknown

11 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday November 25th 2009

  1. No way!!!! Thanks so much! I am honored! And you keep running! Before you know it you will be going further and it will be easier and easier! I can’t wait to pass this award along!

    Good luck with your weight watchers! i have a hard time keeping track of what I eat and how much. I bet it would make a HUGE difference if I did!

  2. Good Luck Fran! I’m happy we will be doing this together.

  3. Fran! Thank you so much! And OMG, I’m totally considering WW again, too. I’m not quite there yet, but who knows?

  4. What irony about the award and my post today, right? Any case, thank you so much – your kind words mean the world to me, Fran!

    Good luck with WW – sometimes I think we have to go back to basics with our weight-loss journey…after not logging my food for a few months, I finally started doing that again, just to keep better tabs on myself and to make sure I was staying closer to my “good” calorie count. I bet you’ll see a lot of success with it!

  5. Good Thursday morning to you…
    Hope you had a good sleep and are feeling on top of the world today.
    I’m thrilled you have rejoined WW…its a lifestyle that one can do after you’ve lost the weight, after all its all about relearning what to eat, portion size and training which WW encourages in their program.
    I’ve been on WW for 9 months now and loving it…no other plan looks as interesting to me. Wonder why it took me so long to realize this…I yoyo dieted and tried it on my own for years…stupid me!

    I once again admire you for going out for a run, its been warmer here 10 degrees, but still I head off to the gym for my workouts…I prefer the treadmill during the colder weather, but then you have to remember I taught myself to run on the treadmill last winter, so I’m very comfortable on it.

    Thanks so much for the award…sorry I didnt give it to you myself when I handed it out last week, I got the impression you were not into blog awards and found them a pain…and here I see you giving them out as well…I’m still learning more about you so please be patient with me..

    Did you see in Group I had a challenge?? You must pop in and take a look at everyone’s meals yesterday…

  6. Wow… you are joining WW. Will have a look on the Dutch site later. I did write down my food intake for a while but dropped that since our removal to China. Might give it a go again as well!

    I love looking at your food pics every time again. It feels like home to me I guess 🙂

    Thanks for sharing the tips of your food diary… I’m really interested. The nutrition shocker is fun… we kind of know that…but so much!!

    Good luck with your WW journey!!

  7. Good luck on the Weight Watchers! I can’t wait to follow your journey 🙂

  8. Did someone say rösti? Lekker! Congratulations on joining WW! That is wonderful. I joined before and lost 80 pounds. Found it quite quickly again, but it did work.

    Not as well as when I lost 136 all by myself, but WW was good too. I followed the old Core program which they don’t have anymore.

    I am excited and will look forward to your WW updates!

  9. I think joining WW sounds like a really smart thing to do! I read Marcelle’s post on it and it sounds like a great new twist to their program.

    I love all your food! What’s the sauce near the Asian food? It looks like sour cream.

    I haven’t heard of some of your very deserving blog awardees – I can’t wait to check them out!

    Congratulations on your award – you totally deserve it!

  10. Hello there…
    This blog award has NO questions so you can pass them on to one for 5 people…easy one.

    I love taking photo’s of people, but do take of scenery as well, taking photo’s of people gives me lots more pleasure…I have taken such lovely ones of families and made books of all my work which I keep for memories.

    Heinz and I are going to do our grocery shopping – want to sit down now and make a list of the foods that have lower points to the foods I’m eating at the moment…for example I see Salmon is 7 points but Alaska Salmon has only 3…so need to see what carries lower points.
    Have just had a bowl of fruit…as want to save points for my drink this evening – its Friday night…lol
    xx

  11. Thank you for the award my friend! I feel so honored to be a part of your journey and would love to return the sentiment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

