A day in my life: Monday December 7th 2009

Health week 49:

Goal 1 (lose weight every week):
Weight result December 3th:. : -0.8 kg / -1.8 lbs.
Current weight: 80.5 kg / 177.5 lbs

Goal 2 (eat healthy every day):
Weight Watchers daily points: 29
Free points: 49
Earned active points: 25

Monday: 26,5 points
Tuesday: 24 points
Wednesday: 31,5 points
Thursday: 34,5 points
Friday: 29,5 points
Saturday: 56 points
Sunday: 41,5 points

Used free points: 48
Used active points: 0

Goal 3 (work-out 5 times a week):
Monday: Lunchwalk for 30 minutes.
Tuesday: –
Wednesday: 4.5K/2.8 miles run in 30:31 (8.8K /hour, 6.46 /km)
Thursday: –
Friday: –
Saturday: Matt Roberts weight loss plan, week 4, training 2, 1:14
Sunday: 7K/4.3 miles run in 51:30 (8.2K /hour, 7:21 per km)

Goals week 49:
1)       Workout 5 times -> no, 4 times
2)       Get at least 5 pink days -> not relevant anymore
3)       Get 7 hours sleep a night -> done!

Thoughts:

This is how spend our Saturday nights: fire in the fireplace, burn some candles and watch some TV or read. As we both have busy jobs for us spending a quiet Saturday night at home is what we love the most.

My first WW Propoints week is finished. As you can see I had 5 days where I used more than my daily 29 points. I used up a lot of points during the weekend so there is a big improvement to achieve. I had 1 free point left by Sunday night. I like the new program, I enter my daily intake at night because I don’t want to think about food all day. I can evaluate afterwards where I could have made better choices.

I’m having a doctor’s appointment tomorrow afternoon and I’m nervous about it. For birth control I have a IUCD (Mirena) placed. I have had it for 5 years and now it has to be replaced by a new one.

Only 5 years ago putting it in was a nightmare. Because I was frightened by a prick while the speculum was still in me, I closed my legs in a reflex which damaged my inside. I’ve had stomach pain for a few weeks after that. And I passed out afterwards, I think because of the tension before.

So you could probably imagine I’m not looking forward to this tomorrow.

The fact that I only had my period for about 4 times in the past 5 years and my hormones aren’t bothering my anymore is the reason I’m going through this again. Wish me luck!

Exercise:
Yesterday morning my bed was so warm and I didn’t want to go out for a run. First I surfed to Syl of Live, smile, run. She ran a 5K Saturday in the snow and at a very low temperature. You should visit her blog, this woman is amazing! How many of you would go out in that kind of weather and run? I know I wouldn’t.

Anyway: after reading Syl’s story I decided to go running because we hadn’t had snow or a low temperature so no excuses: just go! And it was a good run. I ran 7K/4.3 miles. Weather was dry but again a lot of wind. This seems to become the story of my running life: wind J

Today I went to the gym after work, I had a cardio workout to do from my Matt Roberts plan. I finished level 1 today and will continue with level 2 which exists of 12 workouts (just like level 1).

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday vegetable soup with bread. I often make soup on Sunday’s because I don’t feel much like cooking then.

Today sauerkraut with mashed potatoes and sausage.

The Ultimate Diet Log:

Fitness  Factoid: Setting your daily exercise goal in terms of steps, rather than miles or minutes, can help with motivation. In one study, woman instructed to take 10,000 steps per day averaged 10,159 steps, whereas those told to take a 30-minute walk accumulated 8,270 steps.

Quote: “The biggest seller is cookbooks and the second is diet books – how not to eat what you’ve just learned how to cook” – Andy Rooney.

Positive today:
Had a good day at work and a great workout.

Daily Tip/Quote:
Everyone who has run knows that its most important value is in removing tension and allowing a release from whatever other cares the day may bring.
Jimmy Carter

8 responses to “A day in my life: Monday December 7th 2009

  1. I don’t blame you for being nervous about having it replaced. This is the second blog today that I read about this Mirena – I think the universe is trying to tell me something here. (I have similar issues, maybe the Mirena could help me) I am thinking of you and hope it all goes well without a repeat episode of the last time!!!

    Way to go on the run and workout! wow!

  2. Good luck with the Mirena. It sounds horrible, but if it helps I guess you will just have to suffer briefly. Poor Fran. Hopefully it will be done and over quickly. The one thing that helps with my yearly exam is remembering to keep breathing, try not to hold your breath.

    The fireplace looks so nice and welcoming. I love to just sit and read too.

    I could really go for some sauerkraut, potatoes and sausage. It looks delicious.

    Glad to hear you like the new WW program!!!

  3. I like your new blog look!

    Good luck tomorrow – it would be nice if they could give you a tiny dose of Valium or some sort of relaxant! But having just a few periods in 5 years sounds worth it.

    Love your fireplace – looks so cozy! And the Christmas ornaments in the tall vase look really pretty.

  4. I love to read by the fireplace! That is one of my favorite things to do!

  5. Hello my friend
    I see you’ve changed your page…:)

    I want you to please do yourself a huge favor…visit WW again and ask them to double check your weekly bonus points allowed.

    To lose weight the formula is 29 points daily and 35 weekly bonus
    To maintain weight the formula is 35 points daily and 49 weekly bonus.

    This formula was done for me by the leader in our area and when we worked it out on the calculator I bought it says the same…so I’m concerned you are eating to many weekly points which means you are then going into your activity points.

    Here I was so worried about me overeating last week but seeing your amounts I see I’m actually doing okay and need to relax a little more, am so hard on myself.

    Well done on that run….I would have stayed in bed….LOL and as far as Syl is concerned, she’s supa woman that one!!

    Have a good day.

  6. I hope your appointment went okay. I know I’m late, but got super busy yesterday!

    Great job on your run – I’m so impressed with your dedication!

    I really like the blue color of the blog. We have a room in our house that is just a shade lighter and it’s so pretty!

  7. I love your new blog layout and congrats on the loss last week! I hope everything goes fine at the doctor. Four periods in five years??? Where do I sign up?

  8. Fran, I hope all goes well at the doc today.

Leave a Reply

