A day in my life: Sunday December 27th 2009

Health week 52:

Goal 1 (lose weight every week):
Weight result December 17th gain 0.5K.  NOTE: Watch the date, Christmas isn’t included yet. My weight day is on Thursday!
Current weight: 80.5 kg/ lbs.

Goal 2 (eat healthy every day):
Weight Watchers daily points: 29
Free points: 42
Earned active points: 21

Monday: 28.5 points
Tuesday: 31 points
Wednesday:  29 points
Thursday: 40 points
Friday: no counting
Saturday: no counting

Goal 3 (work-out 5 times a week):
Wednesday:  Running, 4.38K/2.7 miles, 32.32
Thursday: Running, 4.5K/3.1 miles, 31.25
Sunday: Running, 6K/3.7 miles, 33.43

Thoughts:
Well Christmas is over. We’ve had two great days. On Christmas Day my mom stayed with us and had dinner with us. Yesterday, second Christmas Day, we went to my mother in law in the morning and had coffee over there. After that we spend a quiet afternoon at home and had dinner together.

I didn’t count anything during these 2 days and I did eat more than I should have but less than other years. I also didn’t workout on both days but did it Thursday and this morning. Today I’m back on track, started counting my points again this morning.

Next week I still have a vacation, plan is to workout in the mornings. We don’t have many plans this week except Tuesday night when we’re going to the theatre.

Exercise:
Thursday it was a beautiful day so I decided to run in the afternoon instead of Christmas morning and I wanted to try my new Garmin. Unfortunately I had my settings wrong, I had GPS on off and auto lap off so no stats this run. I ran 4.5K/3.1 miles in 31.25 and it was a good run.

This morning I didn’t feel like running but I did go. I finally got my Garmin at the right settings and wanted to try it out. There was a strong wind and it’s funny to see that the rounds where I had the wind right to the front were my slowest ones. I’m going to post my running stats from now on. I can share my stats of Garmin connect with WordPress. If you click on the link you’ll see my running stats of today.

Garmin Connect – Activiteitdetails voor Zondag 27-12-2009: 6K.

What’s for dinner:
On Christmas day we had breakfast together.

Christmas Dinner:

For starters a salad with smoked chicken and pear.

Main course: tenderloin with cranberry-port sauce, a “pie” of puff pastry, potatoe and mushrooms and cooked pears.

Dessert: Pannacotta with cranberries.

Yesterday “gourmetten”. Don’t know if you know this or if it’s typical Dutch but you baked your meat and vegetables on a grillplate on the table.

The Ultimate Diet Log:

By the numbers: 96: Percent of lettuce composed of water. 85: Percent of an apple composed of water. 60 to 85: Percent of fish that is water. 36: Percent of bread that is water. 2: Percent of potato chips that is water.

Food Factoid: Just because a food package features a picture of a fruit doesn’t mean there’s any of that particular fruit in the product. Those chewy bits of fruit in some brands of “strawberries and cream” instant oatmeal are actually dehydrated apples dyed red.

Nutrition tip: When assembling your dinner plate, try this visual: half your plate should be veggies, one-quarter should be whole grains, and one-quarter should be protein.

Positive today:
After a great Christmas I’m happy things are getting back to normal.

Daily Tip/Quote:
Remember, the feeling you get from a good run is far better than the feeling you get from sitting around wishing you were running.

12 responses to “A day in my life: Sunday December 27th 2009

  1. What is a 0.5 gain with how much you enjoyed yourself.
    I dont consider that a gain at all…its more a maintain to me.

    Glad you have a good Christmas and Boxing day with your family – I really missed mine so much but hey, thats life so I have to deal with it and move on…

    going to DR tomorrow morning early to get my ears and eyesight sorted…hold thumbs

  2. Hi Fran! Sounds like you had a good Christmas. I love seeing your food–looks delicious and exotic at the same time. I am off to check out pannacotta recipes!

    And I love that quote about running. And it is true. Yesterday I had to fight with myself to take my dog for a walk. And I didn’t enjoy the first half. But finally, I realized I was enjoying it, and if felt so good to have done something good for myself (and my dog.)

  3. On your “by the numbers” I was waiting to see what percentage of water was water, lol! Obviously my sense of humor is in fine form this morning…:)

    Sounds like Christmas was fun and you ate about like me – more than normal, but much less than years past. Progress!

    Glad you are getting to “know” your Garmin – will be cool to keep up with your stats!

  4. to only gain .5 during the holidays is great accomplishment. I have been looking at the watches and hope to get one in the next month or two when I am brave enough to face the cold. Looks like you got through the holidays well.

  5. Thanks Fran…I will let u know…going at 7.30am and will sit there in the que till I get seen….

  6. Thanks for not telling in my blog…wonder if Sarah will…LOL

    I spoke in Afrikaans to marcelle when I met her as we were comparing how similar the languages are. My Afrikaans is not that good as it was my 2nd language while growing up…and I spoke * Kombuis Afrikaans * which our cleaners spoke.
    But with us both speaking and understanding English it was much easier for us….and me…LOL

    More gaan ek Dokter toe, ek hoop sy kan uitvind wat die problem is met my oe. Ek voel glad nie lekker nie.

    xx

  7. Sounds like you had a wonderful Christmas, ate some beautiful food and got in some good exercise.

    I followed the SBD over Christmas. I didn’t stray and was rewarded with a nine pound loss after 14 cays!!! Pics of what I ate on Christmas day are in my blog.

  8. I am a sucker for a gadget – after seeing the garmin in action, I really want one. 🙂

  9. Your meals look fabulous and not that bad…..

    So glad you had a good Christmas!

    Thank you so much for your support this weekend!

  10. What a fun toy! Sounds like you had a great Christmas!

  11. congratulations on going for a run even when you didn’t really want to! Awesome job, and I love the Garmin. I wish I had one!!

    Your food looks beautiful, and that small gain will come right off before you know it!

  12. Yes, I think we are about the same pace, Fran – you would be able to figure it out with your Garmin! We do “gourmetten” here too, every January at my husband’s aunt’s house. Yummy and festive!

Leave a Reply

