A year in my life: 2009

On January 1st of this year I had the same New Year’s resolutions as I always had on January 1st.
This year I would lose the weight and I would starting exercising more.

The first three months nothing happened, I stayed on track one or maybe two weeks and then fell back in my old habits.

Until March, my best friend K. who also worked with me said to a co-worker that I was a runner and maybe I would like to participate in a 5K run in Amersfoort with a team from my work. I said “What? Me a runner? That was about 3 years ago since I ran frequently. But she knew I needed a kick in the butt because I was talking about how I needed to exercise more all the time. So I decided to take the challenge and did my first run of the program Start to Run on March 30.

I ran three times a week as the program told me too but besides that I didn’t do much more. Still didn’t watch my food intake and no extra exercise. And then it was the date: June 14th, my first 5K race. And I finished in a very slow time. But running got to me and I decided to go for a 10K run in September. That is when I also started to watch my food intake more. But I still didn’t work out much more than run 3 times a week.

I became more interested in running and losing weight and started searching the internet for more information. That’s when I discovered blogland and I started reading some blogs, most of you I still follow and read today. And I started my own blog on June 27th, Marcelle was one of the first who commented on my first post.

Ever since I started blogging things started to change for me. I went to the gym, I participated in a few races and I finally started losing weight. In November I decided to rejoin Weight Watchers because I need to be more aware of what I’m eating, it’s still too much from time to time.

So looking back this has been a great year for me and I’m not making New Year’s resolutions for 2010. I’ll keep walking this path I’ve chosen this year and hope to reach my goal weight in 2010. I’m not focussing on resolutions but on goals I’ve set for myself (which I’ve posted last week).

Allthough I was the one who started running, started exercising more and lost some weight, I never could have done it without the help of my friends, especially K., my hub R. who went to almost all the races with me and motivates me and last but certainly not least all of you. You inspired me, motivated me, made me laugh and helped me when it was though by reading and commenting on my blog and let me read yours. Thank you all for that! I look forward to 2010 to reading your blogs and you reading mine.

Statistics:
Highest weight ever: 89.2 kg / 196.6 lbs
Weight on January 1st: 86.6 kg / 190.9 lbs
Weight on December 24th: 80.5 kg  / 177.5 lbs

Total weight loss in 2009: 6.1 kg / 13.4 lbs
Total weight loss since highest weight: 8.7 kg / 19.1 lbs

Fat % on January 1st: 45.1
Fat % on December 24th: 42.1

Muscle % on January 1st: 28.8
Muscle % on December 24th: 29.6

BMI January 1st: 28.6
BMI December 24th: 26.9

Waist on January 1st: 95 cm / 37 inches
Waist on December 1st: 89 cm / 35 inches

Hips on January 1st: 112 cm / 44 inches
Hips on December 1st: 108 cm / 42 inches

Number and time of workouts in 2008: 49 workouts, Total time 38 hours and 34 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in 2009: 136 workouts, Total time 94 hours and 56 minutes.

Total km’s/miles in 2009: 437 km / 271 miles
Total running time 57 hours

Races 2009:
06/14/2009: 750 Amersfoort, 5K, time 00:37:33

08/26/2009: Emiclaerloop Amersfoort, 5K, time 00:36:18

09/27/2009: Singelloop Utrecht, 10K, time 01:19:35

11/01/2009: Maple Leaf Cross Hilversum, 6K, time 00:46:42

11/28/2009: St. Nicolaasloop Bunschoten, 5K, time 00:35:12

17 responses to “A year in my life: 2009

  1. What an amazing 2009 you had, Fran! Wow. That was such an inspiring post to read.

  2. Hey Fran: I love the series of running shots. I think it sounds like you had a great year. We WILL both reach our goal weight in 2010. I can feel it. I don’t want to let myself or any of my blogland friends down. 🙂

  3. My 2010 goal is to become a runner!!!!!

  4. It sure feels good for the resolutions you made this year to have come to fruition. It looks like a lot of growth has happened, and you are well-positioned to keep it up in 2010.

  5. onelittlejill

    You made a lot of good progress 🙂

    A blog certainly helps with accountability that is for sure, I know I am better at what I do because the blog keeps me honest!

    To answer your question from my last post: in America, fast food is very cheap. Healthy good is much more expensive. This is why many people rely on quick fast food and struggle to provide healthy meals for their families. For example, at one fast food place, you can get two cheeseburgers, a large fries and a large drink all for $5.

  6. To me, you’ve always been a runner, Fran – I had no idea that you had only just started running in earnest this past year! You really have come a long way and should be proud of yourself. Glad you started blogging – I enjoy your take on life!

  7. Keep on running down the wonderful path to fitness and health that you have created! You are so worth it. Love all the running pics.

  8. Fran – I just loved this post so much! You have accomplished so much in such a short period of time – not just with your weight but with improving your health. I’m so proud of you!!

    Thanks for letting me know about Marcelle – I’m going to facebook her and let her know I’m thinking of her. I hope everything is okay.

  9. Bravo! You had a great year and finish, even if the start was slower – goes to show what can happen when you put your mind to it. I love, love the pictures, too 😀

    I look forward to seeing what you will do in 2010!

  10. I’d say 2009 was a good year. You may not have reached your goal, but you are on the right path and you’ll be there in no time. You’ve got all the tools. Now, it’s just about time and persistence. I know you’re going to reach your goal and I’ll be here cheering you on.

    Thanks for all the support you’ve given me these last few months. It means a lot. 2010 is going to be our year!

  11. Isn’t it funny how after your first race you just get that little “bug” on your shoulder and you just want to keep running!
    You have accomplished great things this year Fran, no wait not great FANTASTIC things this year, I know with the frame of mind you are in that you will continue to cross more finish lines, be it running or your weight loss.
    You continue to not only motivate others but motivate me, that’s right, I love all your comments, sometimes I think, I’m just an ordinary person how can she see me like that. But you do and I see you as motivating.
    Thank you for all your support since we found each other, I am sorry I haven’t been here in a few days, it’s just been crazy. I also need to add you to my favorites, the bloggers who have wordpress are sometimes forgot for me because they don’t come up in my feed as updated but I am definately going to be here more often Fran I promise!

    Happy 2010 lets’ knock it on it’s arse ok?? “:-)

  12. Fran, What a great post – it’s nice to see your history all summed up like that. You’re a great inspiration for running. Thanks for all the nice comments on my blog – I really appreciate it!

  13. I love that you are intending to drag me along with you on your road to success. It’s like insurance! LOL! If I’m over there this summer, I want us to do a run together with both of us at our GOAL weight. Incentive? Yes!

  14. Fran, You had an amazing year and you look fantastic! And by the way, I always read your blog and love the new design!!!
    You’ve come a long way this year. We all have. Let’s keep motivating each other through 2010 too!
    Have a very Happy New Year!

  15. Oh my gosh! You are doing so great! Loved reading all of your stats and the pictures are so inspirational.

    Keep up the good work in 2010!

  16. All right my friend, I’ve got you in my google reader..your life will never be that same 🙂

  17. Great recap Fran! and congratulations on fulfilling your new years resolutions – just imagine what you’ll accomplish in 2010!

Leave a Reply

