A day in my life: Thursday December 31th 2009

Exercise:
Monday morning after breakfast I went to the gym to do a Matt Roberts workout. 32 minutes of cardio and 2 short circuits of strength training.

Tuesday I went for a short run (pick up my long runs after New Year) and did 5K in 34 minutes exact which is again a little bit faster than my last PR. It was cold but clear so a perfect day for running.

Garmin Connect – Activiteitdetails voor Dinsdag 29 december 2009, 5K.

Thoughts:
Well here it is: the last day of 2009 and what a year it has been. It’s been a very good year to me. Everyone around me stayed healthy, I did wonderful things with R. and my friends, I finally started losing weight and started exercising more and that feels good.

I closed this year with a weight of 80.5 kg/177.4 lbs. I gained 0.5 kg/1.1 lbs in the last two weeks, a result I’m happy with considering it was Christmas and I ate more than I normally do.

Well looking at 2010 I already published my workout goals for 2010. This is my priority together with reaching my goal weight in 2010. I’m aiming for 73 kg/160.9 lbs at first but if I lose it easily I might go for 70 kg/154.3 lbs. My plan is to try and lose 0.5 kg/1.1 lbs each week, this means I should reach my goal weight around my 42nd birthday in May. Wouldn’t that be a beautiful birthday gift for myself.

Starting January 2nd I will be counting WW points everyday and stay within my daily points of 29 on weekdays so I can have a treat over the weekend. I will set 3 goals every week. 2 Goals will be the same every week: lose weight and workout 5 times a week. The third will be a goal to help me change my eating habits, like for example: no alcohol for a week or no chips. This goal will change every week. I will update my weekly goals on Monday or Tuesday and also update my new goals then.

This afternoon I will run my last run of 2009. It’s a cross run through the woods and loose sand. It must be a hard run to do. One round is 3K/1.9 miles. After I have run that I will decide weather I go for another round but I don’t think I will do that. Today is not about time or distance, it’s about closing a year in which I finally got more active and what’s a better way to do that with a run.

My dear blogger friends, I’m so happy I’ve “met” you all this year. You’ve given me motivation and inspiration, thank you so much for that, and I read your blogs with much pleasure and learn from you. I look forward to following you in 2010 and you reading my blog. I hope all your goals for 2010 will be reached and that we together make 2010 a great year.

For the runners among us I leave you with this quote:
As every runner knows, running is about more than just putting one foot in front of the other; it is about our lifestyle and who we are.

I wish you a happy, healthy, sporty, fun and sensational 2010! See you next year!


14 responses to “A day in my life: Thursday December 31th 2009

  1. Happy New Year to you!!! I can’t wait to see what 2010 has in store of all of us!

  2. Fran, I think your plan for 2010 sounds like a good one. Onward and forward!

    I am also glad to have met you this year. It is the support we all get from each other that makes this easier.

  3. What a great quote so true! You are going to have a fantastic year! Happy New year my friend

  4. I’m struggling to read long blog entries but did make a huge effort to read both of yours!!!
    Your my special blog friend…xx
    Thanks for the love….I love u too…
    We will make an effort to meet this summer.

    I have decided not to make any plans for now.
    One day at a time for me
    I hope you reach all your goals set out, they good ones.
    xxx

  5. Fran: something you said in your last post really resonated with me. You said you are finally prepared to make sacrifices to get to your goal. I think this is what I need to do! I’m always trying to fit it in, make it a part of my life. But I’m not prepared to sacrifice other, less important things. Hmmm. You’ve given me lots to think about, as usual.

    We’re going to be writing MAINTENANCE blogs by the summer Fran, I can feel it. I sincerely hope you meet your goal of hitting 154 by your birthday. You would hear me cheering all the way from Canada if that happened!

    Have an awesome final run of 2009! And Happy New Year my new cool European friend 🙂

  6. Happy New Year Fran!!! I am really glad I “met” you too!

    All the best for 2010!

  7. Happy New Year, Fran! I’m so glad you started blogging – I love having a Dutch friend along in this crazy thing we call diet and exercise!

  8. Happy New Year to you Fran! I am looking forward to seeing what you do in 2010! So glad we are blog friends.

  9. Happy New Year!

  10. Great goals! I love that you’re going to challenge yourself with something new every week.

    Happy New Year!

  11. Fran,

    Happy New Year! I LOVE the quote at the end of your post… so fitting, and it was my realization as 2009 was coming near its end: running truly is a lifestyle and becomes who we are. When I realized this, I knew I was REALLY a runner. 🙂

    Wishing a healthy and happy 2010! Are you joining the Pay it Forward 500 Mile Club?

    Hugs from Orlando!

  12. Fran that “glow” may have been the wine 🙂
    xoxo

  13. onelittlejill

    Fran,

    Thank you for the kind words on my blog- I am so happy to have been an inspiration to you. You have done so much this year!!!! Looking forward to following you further in 2010!

Leave a Reply

