A day in my life: Wednesday January 13th 2010

Thoughts:
After I read a post last week on Marcelle’s blog about aspartame, I decided to do a bit of research myself on the internet because I heard about the risks of using this before. After some reading I talked to R. about it and we decided to banish as much products that contain aspartame as possible.

After checking my supply closet I found out that we don’t use much of these products. Our soda is all diet so we’re replacing that by normal soda. We both don’t drink much of it, 1 glass a night, and I myself will start drinking more water and tea instead of soda. I threw away the sweetener I use in my yoghurt and replaced that with honey or “Roosvicee” (it’s a sirup without sugar and sweeteners). For breakfast I use low fat yoghurt without sweetener but for my “snack” I used low fat yoghurt or soft curd cheese which contains aspartame. I have replaced that with normal yoghurt and just eat less off it.

Although I hasn’t been proven completely that it’s bad for you, it also hasn’t proven it doesn’t do any harm so better safe than sorry. Besides I like non fat products better than those chemical low fat/non sugar products, I just have to eat/drink less of it.

I’m not feeling well today. I’ve had a dental surgery in July last year and ever since I have a blister on the spot where the stitches have been. Sometimes I don’t feel it but today I feel it a lot, I had to take two painkillers, one this morning and one in the afternoon, to get rid of the pain. It has to heal by itself the surgeon said but it’s been 6 months now. I’ll look how it goes the rest of the week and otherwise make a new appointment at my dentist. I getting quit bored with this.

Allthough I had pain in my mouth it was a happy day. Do you remember I bought two new dresses in November? The first one I wore at the Christmas lunch for the first time, the other one today. I had matching shoes which I bought earlier and I felt great in it, had a lot of compliments today. Of course I let K. make a picture of me this morning at work to share it with you.

This is me 2 years ago in Italy:

This is me today, 7K / 15.4 lbs less weight:

Beck’s Diet Solution:

Day 3: Sit down while you are eating
Before starting to read this chapter I thought this would be an easy one for me. I always sit down for breakfast, lunch and dinner at a table. But when I read it, it appears that I have to sit down at everything I eat. Hmmm I don’t always do that. For example, when I’m busy at work I usually eat my apple while I’m walking to a colleague to ask something (I’ve trained myself not to everything by email but walk a few times a day instead). I have to stop that. Yesterday afternoon I wanted to eat my pear, I didn’t really have time to sit down so I stood there holding the pear and wanted to start walking and eating when I realized: no you have to sit down. So I did and ate my pear, taking a short break.

I need to work on this one because eating standing sometimes are points you “forget” to count and it doesn’t give you the same satisfaction as sitting down and eat relaxed.

Day 4: Give yourself a compliment
This is a though one. I’m a person who usually is sarcastic about herself, about how I look, how I feel etc. And now I have to give myself a compliment for everything that goes well in my diet. F.e. for sitting down and eating, for not taking a pastry at a birthday at work, for reading my motivation cards etc.

I have to learn this so I put an alarm in my phone every day at 1 pm that I have to give myself a compliment and I have to write down every night the compliments I deserve. I have to do this till giving myself compliments goes naturally.

When I sat down after dinner today to write down the compliments I gave to myself I could only think of one and that was when I saw my legs reflected in the mirror this morning that I said to myself “wauw you’ve got great legs”. I need to work on this one.

Day 5: Eat slow and with attention
This is another one that needs work. I usually eat too fast so my brain hardly ever gets the message I’m full until it’s too late. I’m going to work on this one by putting down my cutlery a few times and wait a few seconds before taking another bite and drink something between bites. I know eating slow is good for you but I never put it really to practice, but tomorrow I will.

Exercise:
Yesterday I started the new Matt Roberts program and I liked this one very much.

Training exists of 4 circuits of 3 minutes high intensive cardio (80% max heart rate) followed by 4 weight exercises: 2 for the upper body and 2 for the lower body. The last circuit has abs exercises.

It took me an hour to complete it which is a perfect time for me to spend in the gym.

No training on Tuesday, rest day and no training today because of the pain in my mouth.

Yesterday I received the picture that was taken off me at my run on December 31th:

What’s for dinner:
Monday: mashed potatoes with carrots and onions. You might notice we eat this kind of food a lot on Monday and that’s correct. I can make it in advance because Monday is my workout in the gym after work and R. puts the stove on as soon as he is home so we can eat when I come home.

Yesterday some beef meat, potatoes and Brussels sprouts.

Today fish with a roast-potatoe with some yoghurt-garlic sauce. No vegetables, I had a hugh salad for lunch so I did eat my veggies today.

The Ultimate Diet Log:

Research report: Compared to men who watch TV an hour or less per week, men who tuned in for 2 to 10 hours per week had a 66 percent greater diabetes risk. Men who watched 21 to 40 hours had twice the risk.

Nutrition shocker: The latest edition of “Joy of Cooking” contains the same brownie recipe as the original, but the new edition makes 16 brownies instead of 30, which means the portions are twice at large.

Positive today:
Wear a new dress and felt great in it.

16 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday January 13th 2010

  1. You are rocking that dress! Woo Hoo!

    Hope your mouth feels better soon….

  2. You look great. I love that dress!

  3. You look smokin’ hot in that dress!!! What a change from that old picture – you are glowing and gorgeous now!!!

    Your workout sounds great – similar to mine with those short bursts of cardio.

    I wonder about the aspartame as well and try not to have it very often. Better safe than sorry. Glad you are getting rid of it, too.

    Sorry about your mouth – six months is a long time to have that pain! Hope your dentist can fix you up.

  4. What I wouldn’t do for legs legs like that. You look FANTASTIC!

  5. Great dress!!! You look fabulous.

    Running on the sand must have been tough…I find it hard to walk in the sand. LOL!

    Nice food pics…did you ever try roasted Brussels sprouts? They are the BEST!

    Looks like you are doing great!

  6. I agree with the above commentators – you looks great!!

  7. Holy hottie in that dress! My word! I hope you feel great about what you have accomplished between last year and this year. You should!

  8. Fran I just have to say, it doesn’t matter how much weight you lost (well it does but let me get to my point!) I can see the complete switch in CONFIDENCE from one photo to the other..WOW! You look STUNNING!

  9. Good morning….

    Thanks for sms this morning.
    I logged off at about 9pm last night and didn’t see this entry or your comment in my blog…

    I remember that first photo of you and when I see the new one in that amazing dress I am totally blown away, you look like a totally new ( modern and happy ) woman.

    Look how great you look in that photo of yourself running…I have no action pics of myself…so will have to run in a race hey!!

    Meals look very interesting…not many people like Brussels Sprouts – I am okay to eat them but not too many…

    I don’t eat sitting down very often…I eat and sit at the computer most times, besides dinner, but I eat walking around..never just focus on my food and the taste. I have a book by Paul McKenna and he says the same…never done it as it doesnt suit my lifestyle…LOL>>>

    There is more proof that Aspartame is bad for you on the net than its benefits, I like you think its worth giving up.

    Chat soon…xxx

  10. Fran, you look so great! What a difference! You can be so proud of yourself…
    Another tip for replacing aspartame is stevia – it is a natural sweetener made from the tropical plant stevia and you can find it in powder or tablets. It has no calories and does not affect your blood sugar so it is okay for diabetics.

  11. That dress looks great on you and I love the shoes. I am going to give up Aspartame as well but finishing off what I have. We can not afford to just throw food away.

    Was that a picture of you running in SAND? Did you have to run in sand the whole way?

    I sit when I eat but it is always at the computer except for dinner. Then it is with family!

  12. You look fantastic in that dress.

    I am really interested in your food pictures. Love the idea of mashed potatoes with carrots and onions–how flavorful!

    And that blister in your mouth for 6 months doesn’t sound right. Although I know it takes a long time for your mouth to heal. Still, I think you should get a second opinion.

  13. You look amazing in that dress!!!

  14. Absolutely Fran! Come on along for the 100 days. Imagine how amazing we will feel at the end of it. And with a few of us doing it now (including my great friend Sadies at randomthoughtsbySadie.blogspot.com) we will all be holding each other accountable. 🙂

  15. onelittlejill

    I LOVE the black and white dress!!!! So pretty!

    TGIF- Thank God It’s Friday 🙂

  16. Wow, I just loved seeing your pictures. You have made such a wonderful transformation. You were beautiful before, that hasn’t changed. What has changed is that you are much healthier now and it shows all over your face!

    Congrats on coming so far. How inspiring!

Leave a Reply

