A day in my life: Tuesday January 19th 2010

Thoughts:
I’ve really catched a bad cold this time. I’m feeling better today but still not completely well. Yesterday was the worst day. I did go to work but when I got home I was tired and didn’t feel like doing much.

I’ve recently discovered the Twilight saga books by Stephenie Meyer and borrowed the movie Twilight yesterday from my friend K. so R. and I watched that one yesterday evening.

Tonight I have a nail appointment.

Work was irritating, there was a network error which means I couldn’t do anything on my PC from lunch till I went home. And as I’m an organized person I didn’t have anything to file either. Of course the internet was down too so couldn’t do that either.

Good news is that I move to a different office within 3 weeks and this time I’m getting an office alone. I’m very happy about that because I like sitting alone, especially when I’m busy.

I haven’t been exercising either. I’ll take the day off tomorrow too and will hopefully be well enough on Thursday to go for a run. The stupid thing is that I’m feeling guilty for not working out even though I can’t help it being kind of sick. Do you have this feeling too when you’re not well enough to train?

Beck’s Diet Solution:

Day 10: Set realistic goals
Basically this is about taking small steps and celebrate them when you reached a goal. I have to lose 7 to 10 kg (15 to 22 lbs) but the book tells me to set a small goal like 2,5 kg (5.5 lbs) and when I reach that set another goal so who am I to refuse and my next goal will be losing 2.5 kg

Day 11: Discover the difference between hunger, appetite and an urge to eat.
You have to fill in a form for a day for your three meals and write down if you are hungry, have an appetite or an urge to eat. You have to fill it out before, during, right after and 20 minutes after your meal. You have to grade your feeling and describe it. I haven’t done this task yet, I will do that next Thursday, it’s my day off and it’s easier to keep track of it at home than at work.

I still need to practice on eating slowly. I don’t do that enough even though I usually read my motivation card about this before dinner. But I’ll keep trying.

What’s for dinner:
No pics, my food is a bit boring lately, too much of the same kind of stuff. I want to spend more time the next weeks on my dinner planning and find new recipes from my cook books. Right now I often choose the easy way and make something usual.

The Ultimate Diet Log:

Research report: The intense sweetness in diet beverages may contribute to conditioning for a high preference for sweetness, some studies suggest. So while diet sodas are a better choice than sugar-sweetened sodas, unsweetened drinks like water and tea are best.

I have to disagree on this one since I’m abandoning all diet stuff from our foodstyle due to the aspartame.

Positive today:
Get an office for me alone and feeling better.

Daily Tip/Quote:
Quiz: who’s quote is this?

‘It’s sad that I can’t run longer on the White House outdoor track. It’s one of the saddest things about the presidency’

Answer:
George W. Bush Jr.
Marathon time: 3:44:52
Where: Houston
Year: 1993

14 responses to “A day in my life: Tuesday January 19th 2010

  1. It will be nice to have your own office! I hope by tomorrow you are feeling much better. I hate being sick and not feeling like getting anything done! Hang in there…

  2. Hope you are feeling better soon. I know when I have a cold, I don’t feel like doing anything productive.

    Take care.

    Enz

  3. That is interesting about President Bush!!! I hope that you are feeling better 🙂

  4. I hope that you feel better soon. I had a tummy ache today but just did a walking video. I really didn’t want to but oh well. Hopefully you will be ready to go Thursday for a run!

    Did you like Twilight?I read all 4 books and books 2-4 I read in under a month. I couldn’t put them down.

  5. Ah my sick friend across the way…
    Horrible to be sick.
    I never trained when I had flu as so bad on the heart to train – so am pleased to read you are taking it easy….Don’t feel guilty, ( says me…hehehe)

    Lovely to have your OWN office, I loved it when I was manager of a department and had my own…so agree…its best for you.

    I’m not into the Twilight series, not my kind of thing, see everyone is going mad about it, I suppose if I watch I too will become a fan. LOL..typical hey.

    Chat again soon, Heinz in France now.

  6. you are doing much better than me on beck, I’m still on the “giving yourself credit” portion 🙂

    I use to hate when computers went down because it meant that there was going to be some much work when i caught up!

    Hope you can fully get back on your feet soon
    hugs
    Syl

  7. I feel frustrated when I can’t workout due to feeling sick – but it’s for the best in the long run. Hope you are on the tail end of the cold and are back to your normal self soon! Oh, and a workday without internet? I would die of boredom!!!

  8. Boooo to being sick! Don’t feel guilty about not exercising. I think you should feel good about not exercising. Your body needs all its resources right now to heal you. Rest helps that process. Don’t worry Fran, you’ll be back out there in no time.

    I do agree with the super sweet items causing more cravings for super sweet items, that’s for sure. And I also agree with you that diet sodas are not better! Chemical sweeteners are evil.

  9. Sorry that you aren’t feeling well. Better to rest and recuperate. Never feel guilty about giving your body a break! It’s like running your car out of gas and expecting it to keep going just because you want it to.

    I hear you on the making the usual stuff. I have grand plans for meals, and then a lot of time fall back on the same old/same old.

  10. Hmmm, I never knew GWB ran. Interesting.

    I’m sorry you’re feeling sick! I totally feel guilty when I can’t work out too, but just let it go and focus on getting better. You can channel that guilt into eating really well and getting the nutrients you need to heal. 🙂 Fee better!

  11. By the way Fran, I just was wondering if I ever told you about my blog in Dutch? It’s with my friend Linda I do workshops with and it’s all about healthy eating and has a lot of recipes – here is the link: http://natuurlijkevenwicht.blogspot.com/
    Cheers !

  12. I’m 5 hours away from Berlin…would have gone has the hospital stint not happened…he is very busy while here.
    I will be seeing him soon – had such a lovely chat this evening…

    Hope you feeling better as well tomorrow…I’m going to gym and going to do a straight 5kl run and then walk the rest to get my hour cardio…

    Get well my friend…xxx

  13. Man, hope you feel better real soon. It’s horrible being sick.

    I love the quote about Bush and running. I never knew that!

  14. Hey Fran – 20 jaar in Belgie en schoonouders die geen engels spreken – het moest wel! 🙂

Leave a Reply

