A day in my life: Saturday January 23th 2010

Thoughts:
Finally I’m getting better. I’m not tired anymore and my cold is as good as gone.

As a gift to myself for losing 10K which is a hugh milestone for me, I bought a new Ipod Nano today.
The Ipod nano I’ve got now is about 5 years old and the battery is getting bad. It’s empty after about 45 minutes and replacing the battery is expensive. As I have to go back to training for a 10K in April I need to run longer distances and if I hate one thing is that my Ipod doesn’t work anymore during a run. It happened once and I really need my music to keep going.

I’m keeping things easy this weekend because I have a very busy week at work coming up. We might go visit my Mom tomorrow morning but that’s all the plans I have for this weekend.

Beck’s Diet Solution:

Day 14: Make a plan for tomorrow.
Beck wants you to make a plan of what you’re going to eat tomorrow every day.
I’m already doing that. Ever since I started living together with R. I make a meal plan for the next week. First it was only for dinner but since I rejoined WW online I also make it for my breakfast and lunches. So this task is easy for me because I’m already used to doing this.

Exercise:
This morning I went out for a run. Since I’ve had a cold the whole week I took it easy. I didn’t bother how long it was going to take me, I just wanted to get back at running. I ran 5K and it felt so good to be back at running. I saw this was my third run this year which isn’t much, it’s mostly due to the weather at the start of the year and my cold. But hopefully I won’t get sick this winter anymore and can get back to my usual training. I want to go for another run tomorrow morning.

Stats:
Weather: 3 C / 37 degrees, cloudy, not much wind.
Distance: 5K / 3.1 miles
Time: 36:56
Average speed: 7.23 /km

The Ultimate Diet Log:

Food factoid: Alcohol not only stimulates appetite but also loosens your inhibitions, so you may be less careful about your food choices. Lowest-calorie choice: light beer, which contains about 100 calories per 12 ounces

Bleh: I hate beer.

Nutrition tip: Arrive at the supermarket with a full stomach and a shopping list set in stone so that you avoid buying junk food on impulse.

Positive today:
A slow but great run.

Daily Tip/Quote:
Everyone who has run knows that its most important value is in removing tension and allowing a release from whatever other cares the day may bring.
Jimmy Carter

18 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday January 23th 2010

  1. onelittlejill

    Shopping with a full stomach is a good plan!

  2. I love the ipod as well when I train…cant train without it..

    The weather there is a little warmer than here I see. We had minus 5 today. Am wearing my thermal underwear.

    Glad to read my friend is feeling a lot better.

  3. I to have to have music or it is a no go. It give me the extra bounce in my step.lol Glad you are having a relaxing weekend!

  4. Glad you gave yourself a reward – the new iPod will be nice! I just made a playlist last night and will try running on Sunday with music for the first time ever…after reading about so many bloggers who love running with music I thought I’d give it a try!

  5. Glad you are feeling better!

    I love beer, but really only microbrew ones. I just don’t drink it very often because I don’t like to drink my calories!

    Have a super weekend!

  6. I love your reward to yourself. A new IPod is so fun and so focussed on fitness too. Well done Fran! I’m really honoured to know that my blog is one you don’t miss. You’re such a loyal reader. It means a lot to me.

    I love that Jimmy Carter quote. How true it is!

  7. So glad you’re feeling better and that your run felt good! Isn’t that a great feeling?

  8. I’m glad that you are feeling better. If you can run 5k, you must be back to normal soon. Yay! You are going to love your new Nano…think how much longer you’ll be able to go with music! 🙂 That makes all the difference for me.

  9. Hey Fran! The answer is yes. I went for a run this morning. It was a great one too. I started with 30 minutes walking on an incline then a 5k run in about 33mins. Woot! Walked out of there feeling really good. Thanks for checking on me. 🙂

  10. Congrat’s on the 10K loss Fran!!! Woot!! That’s *WONDERFUL*!! And enjoy your ‘reward’!! Well deserved! 🙂 Have missed you!

    PS – I hate beer too.. yuck! lol!!!

  11. Glad you are finally all better and good for you for getting out for a run.

    Don’t laugh too hard but there is no way I can win the “Perfect 10” challenge…you have to live in the US and I am in Canada. But I love participating!

    Have a nice relaxing weekend!

  12. What a great reward. Glad you enjoyed your run.

  13. Great job getting out for a run….so glad your cold is gone.

    Alcohol does lower inhibitions….Riesling is responsible for both of my children being conceived.

  14. I’m not doing all 3….only wanted to test it out today and next week a few days, but already prefer the new one – calories I want to do a day or two out of interest.

  15. Forgot to add.
    1 400 calories as my weight is 60kg’s…

  16. I’m so happy that you are feeling better! I knew that alcohol lowered inhibitions but I had never thought about how it could make you eat more too!

  17. Glad to hear your cold is gone.

    Sounds like many of us are doing the Beck Diet solution. I’ve read the first 50 pages, and have just gotten to the daily exercises. I look forward to seeing what kind of impact it makes.

  18. I love that you rewarded yourself! Glad you’re feeling better, Fran.

Leave a Reply

