A day in my life: Friday January 29th 2010

Thoughts:
Yesterday I had a long meeting at work from 9 am till 3 pm. I have this meeting 6 times a year and am always very tired afterwards. I take notes at the meeting and since these are always important ones I have to stay focussed the whole time. These meetings also always include lunch and there are cookies and cake on the table. Until yesterday I always ate too much of the cake and of the lunch but not yesterday. I had a small slice of cake and only one sandwich and some yoghurt at lunch. I was very proud of myself and noticed I could concentrate much better after lunch by not eating too much.

I only worked this morning and used the afternoon to do my housekeeping and go to the gym.
I have to work tomorrow from 8 am till 6 pm and I have to drive an hour to get there. I’m going to work in one of our stores with a lot of colleagues. This store has won a contest and may call itself the best store in the Netherlands of all 161 stores we have. Usually the regular staff is going out this day and we take over the store but they insist on working tomorrow because we are going to throw kind of a party to celebrate this with the customers. I do this every year, it’s on a voluntary basis, and it’s a lot of fun to do. So I won’t be reading blogs tomorrow because I know that once I get home I do nothing more than lying on the couch 🙂  I have an office job and am not used to walking all day 😆

Beck’s Diet Solution:
I’m still reading this book but this week I’ve been so busy that I didn’t get to read a chapter every day.

I will no longer write aboutthis book but will tell you every now and then where I am and how it is going. I will finish this book because it really helps me but starting next week my focus will be on working out because I notice that when I don’t do that much I’m not losing weight or just a little.

Exercise:
I have been puzzling with my workout plan now that I go to the new gym. As it’s a bit more expensive than my old one I want to go more often than to the old one. So in the uneven weeks I have planned to go the gym 3 times and run 3 times. In the even weeks 3 times gym and run 2 times. I have planned to go to Pilates every two weeks and to Zumba, also every two weeks. If this works for me I have to find out.

It has been raining all day and I wanted to go for a run but didn’t feel like running in the rain which I usually don’t mind. So I went to my new gym and stepped on the hated treadmill. I made it through 5K but it was a struggle, I can tell you that. I walked two times during my run and played with my speed so I kept it interesting for me. That helped but it’s still not my cup of tea. I prefer running outdoors. It also feels I’m running faster outside. But for today it was okay to use the treadmill.

Stats:
Weather: I was inside but looking outside it rained.
Distance: 5K / 3.1 miles
Time: 39:05
Average speed: 7.49 /km

The Ultimate Diet Log:

By the numbers:3,900: Number of daily calories per person per day produced by the U.S. food supply. 1,877: Number of calories the average woman reports eating, likely a significant underestimation.

Food Factoid:”No-calorie” cooking-oil sprays aren’t actually calorie-free. The government defines a serving size as a spray lasting ¼ second, which contains ¼ gram of fat, but on food labels, servings containing less than ½ gram needn’t be liste. A I-second spray contains 9 calories.

Positive today:
Proud of myself I made it through 5K on the treadmill.

Daily Tip/Quote:
Free your mind, and your feet will follow.
Kevin Nelson, The Runner’s Book of Daily Inspiration

11 responses to “A day in my life: Friday January 29th 2010

  1. great job on the treadmill – you inspire me to try again 🙂

  2. Nice work resisting most of the sweets at that meeting…that’s hard to do, especially when they are out all day and the meeting goes all day! Good that you noticed a difference after lunch – bet that made you feel happier about not eating the junk.

    Just curious, what store does your company run?

    Congrats on pushing through on the treadmill! I think when you complete a workout that you are not particularly fond of, it should count for double the calories burned, lol!

    No bra yet 😦 – come on, mail!!!

  3. Great job on the treadmill!! I do the same thing with the speed. Otherwise, I get sooo bored. Have a great weekend!

  4. And I disagree with you…beginners should stand at the back or the sides…and this comes from a teacher who has been in the industry for 31 years!!

  5. Okay now read your entry…..

    You will find your rhythm again – I’ve leaned not to plan things as they never work out the way I want them, I take it day for day and this way I get to train – my eating has not been very good…am picking on rubbish lately…

    I also think that Becks book is not something I would read after following your and Syl’s comments on it…I think we spend too much money on books ( you must see my bookcase on diets ) – we know what to do…we just find it hard to do all the time.

    Am sorry you didnt enjoy the treadmill…I always enjoy it when I go one…

  6. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO sorry that it came out that way.
    I’m chatting to Sarah on msn, she and I are sharing links about books so that is where my attention was…then I wanted to read your entry…

    NOPE angry at you…NEVER!! XX

  7. I am also curious what store your company represents – do they have any in Belgium? Good luck with the new gym, it must be kind of weird to start all over in a new place. I have been at my gym for seven years or so now, so that would be a big adjustment for me!

    Glad you tried the treadmill – I was trying to encourage my mom to do it today and telling her to do some tempo intervals on it to keep it interesting!

  8. 🙂 Cyber hug to my friend…xx

    I agree, I hate doing tasks as well..the book I’m reading as well makes me go to the mirror and talk to myself etc…am doing it when *I* feel like it in my own time…so can understand that tasks are not for everyone and this South African is like the Dutch girl in that way. I think we get too carried away with other people’s journey and forget to be on our own one.
    Sarah and I were chatting now about the Becks book, she is keen to read it….but I told her what I told you…in the end its her choice if she wants to read can do her no harm…..
    I’m focusing on my healing at the moment. Have 3 books I’m trying to get through, so deep I can only read a little bit a day…so will take me forever to get there.

    Are u drinking wine this evening…I’m having a mug of Green Tea…going to bed early as we up at 4am to fetch a friend at the airport tomorrow, they been in CT…xx

  9. Well we feel the same about the treadmill. I hate being stuck in ope spot. Maybe that is why I don’t like it. Least you ran. Can’t wait to hear what you think about Zumba. Interesting facts about the spray since I use that. Thanks for the fyi!!!

  10. onelittlejill

    At work sweets are the devil! I have it almost every day! I have learned to stay out of the room! Good job with it!

  11. I feel your treadmill pain. Always.

    I can’t believe you and Marcelle haven’t met yet! You’ve gotten to be such good friends. Go do it and post pics. I want to see pictures of two of my favourite Europeans together.

    Sounds like you and I do similar stuff at work. I’ve had to take notes for those lengthy meetings and it is tough if you’ve got the mid afternoon drowsies. I try not to eat too much when I’m there either. It totally helps.

Leave a Reply

