A day in my life: Monday February 8th 2010

Thoughts:
Overall last week has been a great week on the exercise part I had 4 workouts I definitely made the right decision switching gyms. First of all I love it there, the trainers look after you and help you if necessary and having it so close to home makes it so much easier to go there. I intend to workout a lot more in February than the first month of this year.

So satisfied I am with my working out last week so angry I am with myself concerning my eating. The last two weeks I’m getting careless and I cheat on my Points over the weekend, meaning I don’t write everything down. Result that I gained over 1 kg this morning same as I did after last weekend.

I’ve got this habit that I’m doing great for a few weeks and then I blew it again, usually over the weekend. This has to change otherwise I will never reach my goal weight.

This weekend I’ve read about a website where you can set a goal and if you don’t reach that goal you’ll get a penalty, the penalty is an amount you’ve set for yourself and the money will go to charity. So you’ll make a contract with yourself.  I’ve made my own contract with myself.

So what’s the plan, starting today:

·         Write down everything I eat and measure everything I eat.

·         Stay within 29 points on weekdays and within 35 points on Saturday and Sunday.

·         Make a weekly review of points eaten, activity points earned and workouts.

·         Stop drinking wine in the weekend for a while.

·         Eat my fruits and veggies in the weekend.

The contract with myself:

·         Put € 0,50 on my savings account for every day I stay within 29 points

·         Put € 0,50 on my savings account for every time I work-out

·         Put € 0,10 on my savings account for every km I run

·         Put € 5,00 on my savings account for every kg I lose (starting at 79 kg)

When I’ve saved € 50,00 or more I’m going to use that money to buy new clothes in a smaller size.
(€ 1,00 = ± USD 1.37 and ± CAD 1.46)

I think I’m not the only one who has troubles sticking to her plan over the weekend so what’s your strategy? Tips and tricks are welcome.

Exercise:
Yesterday morning it was time for a longer run. It has been since October since I last ran 8K/4.9 miles and as I need to get back to training for my 10K in April it is time to run longer distances. I didn’t run on time, goal was to make it to 8K without stopping and I did. It felt great knowing that I could still run 8K even though I hadn’t done it in more than 3 months.

Stats:
Weather: ± 0 C / 32 degrees
Distance: 8K / 4.9 miles
Time: 58:56
Average speed: 7.22 /km

This afternoon I took a lunchwalk with my friend K. We didn’t realize how cold it was but did go. My ears were still red and glowing after an hour 🙂

Today I went to the gym and did a Matt Roberts workout: 20 minutes interval on the bike, weight training, 10 minutes elliptical and finish with abs exercises. Total time: 01:07.

What’s for dinner:
R. has made dinner so I could eat right after I got home from the gym: sauerkraut with mashed potatoes and a sausage.

Positive today:
Realized I was on the wrong path and turned around to take the right direction.

Daily Tip/Quote:
Trust your own instinct.  Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s.
Billy Wilder

12 responses to “A day in my life: Monday February 8th 2010

  1. I love the idea of putting money in a savings account for new clothes! You are a genius!

  2. I think it’s great that you recognize where you were going wrong and made a change. And way to go on the 8K run! Well done.

    Guess what I read online today? It’s looking really good for a third season of Being Erica! Wheeee!

  3. See, now I’m not a big fan of Ethan. I thought he was stifling her. Funny! Different perspectives. Plus I ♥ Kai. The guy who plays him was a contestant on Canadian Idol a couple of years ago. He’s dreamy. 🙂

  4. I like the idea of putting money aside, but I am not that disciplined and wouldn’t keep up with it. However, if you do, you will have a nice pile to spend on new clothes that you will need since your body will have gotten much smaller!

    Great job doing the 8K – it’s nice to know that you were able to jump right back into running a longer distance!

    And to answer your question – erm, not really. Stretching after a run is not a habit yet. I do stretch after I workout, but we all do it together. I guess I forget after running. 😦

  5. Weekends are really tough. Have you actually planned out your food for a weekend? That might help you stick to the plan a little better.

    And 8K? You rock!!

  6. Good morning…
    I can offer no advice as I am struggling as well at the moment…I am eating within my points, training, tracking, measuring and still gaining…gained again from yesterday to this morning and ended my day yesterday on 26 points/29.
    So I dont know anymore.

    The one thing I do know is…I never weighed in first thing in the morning and now am…I think I am carrying morning water or something and then once i have eaten I cant weigh…so do I starve myself till 10 am to weigh in??

    That gym of yours sounds great…I wish we had a fancy one here. When I go home a friend has gotten me two free training sessions, I cant wait to be able to train in first world facilities again…
    Will also be running on the road again as its hot and the only way I can stay fit as dont have access to the gym on a daily basis.

    That 10km is around the corner…I cant run that amount at the moment, I struggle to get to 8km,,,,5 I can do and sometimes 6km,, but not longer..will have to work on that distance when back home.

    Enjoy your day…xx

  7. I know – it was FREEZING all of a sudden here yesterday!!! Bah! I can totally relate to your struggle to keep on your plan more than a few weeks – it is hard to be disciplined for such a long time.

  8. I love the idea of the account. Sounds like it is something that might help. Isn’t finding a gym that is better a wonderful thing!!! I have no ideas on anything because well I feel stuck if you no what I mean.

  9. onelittlejill

    Money is a good motivator!

  10. Love the little contract you’ve made with yourself. I’m betting you’ll be buying some new clothes soon.

    If it weren’t for weekends, we’d probably all be thin already. 🙂 Weekends are my BIGGEST struggle. Since going back to WW a couple weeks ago, I told myself that I’d eat healthy during the weekdays and that I could eat whatever I wanted on the weekend as long as I stayed within my points. It still pisses me off because I want to eat more on the weekends, but unfortunately that method wasn’t getting me anywhere. It was basically do it or stay chubby. So, needless to say, I’m just doing it.

  11. Great idea about the savings account! 🙂

  12. Fran just know that every single one of us struggle on weekends. someone once told me that it’s because we change our routine on the weekends and tend to get a little more relaxed, and I think that is so very true.

    I love your idea and how you are going to be accountable to yourself. I am sure you will be shopping for new clothes in no time.

    I find a little trick that works for me is I fill my water bottle up first thing in the morning, this reminds me that yes it may be the weekend, but I still need to get it in. Once I start drinking the water, my mind switches to healthy frame of mind. Don’t get me wrong I still have treats once in a while on weekends, or don’t find the time to workout but this helps me stay more focused!

Leave a Reply

