A day in my life: Thursday February 18th 2010

Weight Challenge week 7-2010

Starting weight: 89.2 kg (196.6 lbs).
Target weight: 70 kg (154 lbs).
Current weight: 79.6 kg (175.4 lbs).

This weeks result: +0.3 kg (+ 0.6 lbs)
Total loss: – 9.6 kg (21.1 lbs)

Fat percentage: 41.3 (last week 41.1)
Muscles percentage: 29.9 (last week 30.2)
BMI: 26.6 (last week 26.5)

I’ve gained this week. I ate too much over the weekend and only worked out twice since my last weigh inn. So I know how this happened. Better luck next week.

Thoughts:
Lori and Karen asked why I left WW. The main reason is simple: money. I have to pay for using their online tools like the diary and as I’m trying to watch my expenses this is the main reason.

The Points system isn’t difficult to follow, after a while you know the Points of your “basic” food and I do have a little book which contains a lot of food with the Points they represent. However I’m a lazy person: I don’t want to count it everyday by myself. I now enter my food on this other site and it calculates the calories for me.

Another reason is that I had 29 daily Points and even though I had bonus Points I could use I found that I was getting frustrated after dinner when I used to track my Points and found that I didn’t have much left of those 29 Points. It made me feel like I couldn’t eat anything if I wanted too. Which isn’t true because I had the extra Points but it’s all between the ears that I started thinking like that.

Now I aim for 1700 calories a day with a max. of 2002 and I know I’m between 1500 and 1700calories on a normal day. This gives me more peace of mind.

Today was my day off, I started with cleaning my house. When I finished that I went to the gym for a short interval training. Then back home to take a shower and have lunch before I had to go to my hairdresser. Had a haircut and colored it. After that I did my grocery shopping for next week and by then it was 4 pm already.

Tomorrow evening I am going to have dinner at K.´s. She invited me and I, of course, accepted that. After dinner we´re going to the theatre to see the musical “Chicago”. I’ve seen this musical over 10 years ago and like it back then. So I’m looking forward to a nice evening tomorrow.

Exercise:
As said before I went to the gym this morning for a short interval. Did 100 m speed, 300 m jogging, 200 m speed, 400 m jogging and repeat that twice. Total of 3K but I ended up at 3.2K.

I’m beginning to like doing my intervals on the treadmill because I can set the speed myself. I run the speed sessions faster on the interval than I do on the road.

I was supposed to do a run outside but it was still slippery and icy this morning. By now most of the snow has melted and I truly hope we won’t get anymore snow from now on.

Stats:
Weather: inside
Distance: 3.2K / 1.9 miles
Time: 22:54
Average speed: 7.09 /km

What’s for dinner:
Tuesday we had a pasta dish out of the oven with shii-take, cheese and some cooking cream. It was a new recipe and it didn’t taste as good as I hoped for. So this one hasn’t made it to my recipe database.

Yesterday kale with mashed potatoes.

Today an oven dish of potatoes mashed with a herbal cheese, chicory, ham and some melted cheese on top. It was jummie.

Positive today:
Great workout, new haircut and color, day off.

Daily Tip/Quote:
When you run in the morning, you gain time in a sense. It’s like stretching 24 hours into 25. You may need to sleep less and get up earlier, but if you can get by that, running early seems to expand the day.
Fred Lebow, founder of the New York City Marathon

10 responses to “A day in my life: Thursday February 18th 2010

  1. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1251823/I-lost-10-stone-year–pictures-prove-it.html

    Going to read this now, just replying quick

    I have so much time…that doing all 3 is pretty easy, but will only do old WW points for the next 5 weeks on holiday.

  2. Hello there…
    Okay have not read this entry…LOL

    I see you are eating about the same amount of calories my site tells me to eat…1 800 but I’m trying to keep it under that for now.
    Do you know that today my points looked like this..
    Old program – 19.5
    New program – 33
    Big difference hey!
    But then the old program doesn’t have the weekly bonus points – only the activity ones and there one can only use 12 of your weekly activity points.
    I’m losing again so am happy.

    Its also still very icy here…cant run outdoors. today I skipped outside on my patio, was lovely so feel the fresh air in my lungs and feel the cool air on my skin…so can imagine running outdoors now would be nice, but then the snow and ice must be gone.

    So are you going to share a photo of yourself with us???
    We want to see the new hairstyle

    Enjoy the dinner and musical tomorrow…my hubby comes home tomorrow…late!!

  3. I like your daily tip today! It’s true for me – if I workout in the morning then I feel more energized the whole day and get lots more done!

  4. I love when I get a new hair cut and style. It makes me feel sassy 🙂 I think tracking the calories is a good way to do it too! I hope you have a great time at the theatre. That sounds like a lot of fun 🙂

  5. Have a great time with K! Dinner and a show…wooohoooo!!!

  6. I saw Chicago last year in London with my husband and loved it! I think you are right about WW – it costs a lot of money to do something you actually know how to do yourself and the whole points thing can get a bit obsessive. At least, that’s how it was for me when I did it years ago. And if you do it online you’re not even getting the support from the meetings,which I think is their best feature. What website do you use now to track calories?

  7. I think I am going to just do points. I have most things memorized with the points and that is nice though I also feel that I can eat more if I do the calories. I have lost a total of 38 pounds with WW though so I am not sure I am ready to make a switch. Not having to pay would be great.

  8. Our local community theatre did Chicago last year and had to post a warning to the patrons that it was a little raunchy (we live in a pretty conservative town) – I LOVED IT! Hope you have a wonderful time with your friend!

  9. Exciting speed skating! Thanks for the congrats! Right back at ya.

    I have to admit, I have no idea what that quote means. LOL! What am I missing.

    Have a great dinner with your friend! And a great weekend!

  10. Will you be showing us your new haircut?

    Great job on the workout and figuring out you can do this without WW.

Leave a Reply

