A day in my life: Wednesday March 10th 2010

Thoughts:
Tuesday I finally moved to my new office and I couldn’t be happier. It’s quiet, no negative people surrounding me and a room all to myself. Before this job I always had an office for myself but when I started working here 7 years ago I had to share one. But now finally alone again. I’ll make some pictures of my new office tomorrow to show you.

Today I took a vacation day. I had to do some housekeeping which I postponed way too long. So I cleaned my bathroom more than normally, I worked with a lot of bleach and now my eyes and throat are still irritated. Then I cleaned my computer room completely and dusted and vacuum cleaned our bedroom and R.’s computer room. By then it was noon and I’ve had enough.

After lunch and a bit of internetting I went to the gym for a Matt Roberts workout and when I got home I sat down on the couch with a cappuccino and an episode of Desperate Housewives and Ugly Betty that I had recorded.

Exercise:
Yesterday I had planned a 8K run but my legs were so tired. In fact I didn’t feel like running at all but the weather was so beautiful: not cold, sunny, clear blue sky, that’s what made me do a run after all. But instead of 8 I did 5K and every step was a struggle. I did make it the whole 5K however and felt better afterwards even the legs were still tired.

Stats:
Weather: 9C/48 degrees, sunny, clear
Distance: 5K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:34:14
Average time: 6:51 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour

Today week 2, training 2 of the Matt Roberts workout. I have to say I cheated a bit and didn’t do the complete workout, I skipped a few exercises, but still had a 53 minute workout.

What’s for dinner:
Pasta with a sauce of spinach, onions, garlic, bacon and cheese.

Positive today:
A free day and lots of sunshine.

Daily Tip/Quote:
I don’t believe in pessimism. If something doesn’t come up the way you want, forge ahead. If you think it’s going to rain, it will.
Clint Eastwood

18 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday March 10th 2010

  1. I hope you are having a great day off! I hate when I put cleaning off for so long it can be so much work to put things back in order. Glad to hear that you are enjoying the new work environment. Have a great night 🙂

  2. Sounds like we both spent some of the day in the bathroom. Glad to hear that you got your own office!!!

  3. Yah for you new office!

    Good for you for getting out and running even if you didn’t want to!

    oh and I wouldnt consider what you did cheating, you still did it and that’s what’s important!

  4. That pasta looks delicious!!! And good for you for pushing yourself out there!

  5. Hooray for the new office!

    I have run days like that too (as you read on my blog). At least you went out – that’s the good thing!

  6. Yes both you and Sarah cleaned bathrooms today…I only visited one…LOL

    I hate those runs when your legs feel so heavy, I had two of those runs since staying here at my brothers…and yesterday wanted to sleep a lot so didnt run, today I walked and skipped instead of running and by this afternoon I’ve come down with a crocky voice, sore throat…so think that is why I felt so flat…
    I skipped in the rain today, was wonderful – it was so humid and skipping in the rain cooled me down.

    Am happy you have your own little space at work now and would love to share it with you so post photo’s for me to see.

    Will chat on msn when you back..but yes, you are on the right track, just don’t want to blog about it as we discussed, somethings are better left unsaid.

    I’m enjoying not cooking this week, my sister in law is cooking all the meals – when I stay with my children I cook for them to give them some time off.

    Love U too!!

  7. Hi first visit to your blog. Glad you took a little bit of your vacation day for relaxation. A cup of cappuccino sounds pretty good right now.

  8. Ugh, runs like that are annoying. Feels like a fight every step … but in the end you got ‘er done. I think we have to have days like that so we can appeciate the good ones more.

    YAY for a private office. I’d hate to have to share my office space. I’m kind of a loner that way. 🙂

  9. Yay – I am so glad you finally got your own office!!! Wonderful that you are away from that annoying co-worker – did you decorate the office yet?

    Sounds like you have had a productive day off in the morning, and a pampering one in the afternoon. Good for you for taking some “me” time.

    About the run – at least you got out there in the sunshine and did it. That’s the important part. I won’t be running again until Sunday if you can believe that…I’m hoping that after the time changes this weekend I will be more motivated to run after work on Fridays.

  10. Hello Fran! Thank you for stopping by my blog! What you wrote was music to my ears! What a smart decision you made 3 weeks ago. The world (media,magazines, advertisements) would have us think we are the fools…but it’s a known fact (statiscally and personally…diets rarely work).

    My condolences on the loss of your father back in 2000. I lost my mother in 2005 and it can feel like yesterday.

    I have my own office and I LOVE IT! So congrats! And your dinner looks absolutely delicious. Care to share the recipe? My whole family LOVES pasta.

  11. onelittlejill

    I really think you are going to feel so much better away from the negative. I am sure it will make a difference in your work-outs too because you wont feel so drained!

  12. Enjoy your new office and your clean house!

    I do know what you mean about those kind of runs…it is hard but I try to tell myself that the ones that feel hard are the ones that really are helping me improve the most, also learning not to give up when things are tough. So it’s good you got it done!

  13. It’s great you’ve got your own office. Especially because now you won’t have the negative people around. It’ll make a nice difference and reduce your stress level. Excellent.

    Good for you for getting out there and running even though it was hard. It’s the sign of a true champion. You’re not a quitter. Some days are just hard but powering through is the only way to go.

  14. I’m so glad that you have a new office! You didn’t need that negative stuff.

    I bet you will just enjoy your work so much more.

  15. Thanks for stopping by my blog Fran! I love your idea of having a tip of the day. What a great idea.

  16. Glad to hear you forced yourself out for a run. Who cares if it was less than you had planned. The important thing is that you did it. That”s the hardest part.

    And yeah, that pasta looks AMAZING. I am a sucker for pasta. YUMMO!

  17. It was the US version of Runners World – I have a subscription. But you can read the entire article (including the strength training) at http://www.runnersworld.com/myths

    I never cared for soy either – It took me a while to develop a taste for soy products – I actually really love tofu now!

  18. I think 53 minutes is a great work-out!! Good job!!

Leave a Reply

