A day in my life: Sunday March 14th 2010

Goals week 10:

Weight (weigh inn = Thursday)
Lose 0.5 kg / 1.1 lbs
Lost 0.2 kg / 0.4 lbs

Exercise
Tuesday: 8K run -> did run but only 5K
Wednesday: Gym, Matt Roberts program -> check!
Friday: Interval training on treadmill -> skipped
Saturday: 10K run -> check

Total km’s/miles this week
15K / 9 miles.
15K / 9 miles

Food:
Eat my fruits and veggies on Saturday and Sunday.
Saturday was okay but today is difficult as I have no control over what we’re eating for dinner.

Lifestyle:
Get 7 hours of sleep every night. -> check.

Goals week 11:

Weight (weigh inn = Thursday)
Lose 0.5 kg / 1.1 lbs

Exercise
Monday: 5K run
Wednesday: 8K run
Thursday: Interval on treadmill and strength training
Saturday: Cardio
Sunday: 10K run

Total km’s/miles this week
15K / 9 miles.

Food:
Eat my fruits and veggies on Saturday and Sunday.

Lifestyle:
Get 7 hours of sleep every night.

Thoughts:
The theatre show was great: funny and beautiful songs in between. Here’s a photo to give you an impression. We were not allowed to make pictures so I couldn’t use the flashlight.

I’ve decided to change my workout schedule. I continue on 2 days working out, 1 day of rest but I want to run more. This year so far I’ve been running max 2 times a week. Yesterday when I was running outside I realized that running is what I love doing most.

So what’s the plan:
–          Run 3 times a week, weekend is for my long run.
–          Strength training and/or cardio 1 to 2 times a week.
–          I’m going to finish my Matt Roberts program but skip the cardio in it once a week and replace that with an interval training on the treadmill.

Later this afternoon we will go to my MIL who had her birthday last Friday. We’re celebrating that today, we’re also going to have dinner over there.

Exercise:
Yesterday I had planned my first 10K since September. I chose a route where I could go home after 6 or 7K just in case running didn’t go well. It was sunny, then cloudy, then sunny, then between 6 and 8K it rained (not very hard) and after 8K the sun came out again. Put all that together with a strong wind and you’ll have the weather conditions. After 6K I decided I could go on, passing the 7K where I should have made a turn to go home I decided I could do this: I would run this 10K today and I did.

I finished in 01:11:17 and beated my own time with 8 minutes! (September was 01:19:35 see here if your interested https://dutchgirlgetshealthy.wordpress.com/2009/09/27/singelloop-utrecht-09-27-2009/ )

I’m so happy, I’m really improving myself lately.

Stats:
Weather: 8C/46 degrees, sunny, rain, windy
Distance: 10K / 6.2 miles
Time: 01:11:17
Average time: 7:08 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour

Positive today:
Lazy Sunday

Daily Tip/Quote:
I always loved running… it was something you could do by yourself, and under your own power.  You could go in any direction, fast or slow as you wanted, fighting the wind if you felt like it, seeking out new sights just on the strength of your feet and the courage of your lungs.
Jesse Owens

9 responses to “A day in my life: Sunday March 14th 2010

  1. Wow, you not only improved your previous time, you smashed your old record!!! Nice work, Fran!

    I am going to try and run more during the week as well – the weather is so nice now, and like you, I DO enjoy running.

  2. Great job on the time Fran! If you love something, I think you should do it. I need to take my own advice though because I love to swim and haven’t been doing it.

    My dad is going to be staying in Zeeland, he will probably be visiting in Walsoorden, Kloosterzande and Hulst. His one brother also lives in Purmerend and he will probably spend time there too.

  3. Way to go on improving your time! That’s awesome Fran, I’m so happy for you!

    ***happy dance***

  4. onelittlejill

    Ilove that quote!!

    WTG on the time improvement!

  5. 8 minutes!? Way to go on your running 🙂 I hope you have a great week in your new office 🙂

  6. Brilliant result with the time! Glad you had a good time at the theatre. 🙂

  7. Great job with the 10k! I wish I could love to run!! You’re doing great!

  8. Great job on the run! I love the quote…

  9. WOW FRAN!!! SUCH a great time! I am so proud of you! Thanks for your support on my lousy day post. I’m starting to feel more like myself. It means a lot to me, your support. 🙂

Leave a Reply

