Zandvoort Circuit Run, 5K, 03-28-2010

This morning we left at 9.30 am, it was about an hour drive to get to the race track and we arrived there at 10.30 am. When we stepped out of the car it was so windy and quiet cold. The circuit is situated near the beach on the Dutch coast so there’s always more wind then where we live.

We started walking to the start and on our way a buggy with a girl on it passed us and she lost her hat. So R. picked it up and gave it to her and she asked us if we wanted a ride to the start. So we did and didn’t have to walk all the way. While I was sitting on that thing some policemen on a bike rode behind us and said to me: that’s not the way, you should run. I laughed and said I had to save my strength for the race.

About 11 am the starting grid was open and I said goodbey to R. and off I was. There were three people from a gym who did a warming up with us. That was fun to do and to see how about 900 women were jumping up and down for their warming up.

At 11.30 am it all started. We had to do a lap of approx 1K and passed the finish/starting line again and after that it was running a round on the circuit. Because the circuit is situated in the dunes there was wind but not as much as on the beach so it didn’t bother me that much, neither did the cold.

There were three hills but I didn’t have much trouble taking them. In fact this whole run when perfect, I couldn’t believe it while I was running how easy it all went today. My legs felt good, my breathing was good and I was enjoying myself. Along the track there were dj’s who played music but I wore my ipod so I had music all the time.

Between the 3 and 4K I stayed behind two girls who had the same pace as I did and after the last turn I saw the finish line and I felt I had more so I fastened my speed. I stopped my Garmin a few metres before the finishing line as it was on 5K and I wanted to have that time.

I couldn’t believe it: 32:36 a new PR. I’ve beaten my record with 1 minute! I ran 9.2 km/hour, I’ve never run above 9K outside. How cool is that?

My official racing time was 33:09 and even that time is a new PR.  I finished as nr. 587 out of 885 women. Not a bad result at all.

All things considered: this was one of my best races ever, everything was right and it was so much fun to do.

After the run I searched for R. and we headed straight home as it was very cold and windy standing still. We were home at 1.30 pm.

The beach:

Part of the track:

Before the start:

Entertainment:

Passing through, I’m in the middle with the pink hairband

Finishing, it’s difficult to see but I’m behind the left of the Finish banner

Finished, again in the middle

YEAH: I DID IT!

My medal:

20 responses to “Zandvoort Circuit Run, 5K, 03-28-2010

  1. Hooray Fran! What a perfect day and a perfect race! Congratulations. What a week you’ve had. From a bad, hard run where you doubted yourself to your best run time ever. Quite a journey!! I hope to emulate your success in the future 🙂

  2. Congratulations Fran on running such a great race. And a PR!! How wonderful. Thanks for the pictures – they are great!

  3. Woohoo, Fran!!! You did it!!! I’m so happy that you had such a great race – and to get a PR is fantastic!!! Congratulations, my sweet runner friend!

    Great pictures, too – that really looked like it was a fun event!

  4. Love your pictures of the race. Sounds like it was fun and you had a PR, how great is that!

  5. Wow I got so excited reading this entry of yours..but must admit, I would have stayed home with the weather…I hate running outdoors in the cold…today I wanted to run but went out the front door, turned around and went back inside, so in the end didnt do anything today…tomorrow I will start, come wind, rain or sunshine…check up on me okay!!!

    Fantastic on your personal time….wow – time to celebrate that one!!

    Great photo’s, feels like I’m right there with you in Holland!

    Yes, we must plan a get together….My son is coming to Berlin this July so want to go there….so will have to chat to Heinz and see when we can plan…
    Oh…am going back to Cape Town in November as my daughter is pregnant and needs me when she gives birth…I need to look after Xavier…and of course help with the baby so she can get some sleep!!!
    We might stay for Xmas, Heinz busy thinking about it…I think we might as well as I will be right there…

  6. Hello again

    Yes that sounds perfect to me….June is my birthday month, am hoping to do something but if not July in Berlin will be special as with my boy…What month is a good hot month in Holland?? Sept?? We have to plan it so that Heinz can relax at the beach…we both love the sea…

    Yes please do check up on me, I’m in a slump with my eating and need to get back…if I dont I’m afraid all my hard work will be wasted.
    I ran on Thursday morning last for an hour….thats 3 days ago…3 days of doing nothing!!!!

  7. Yay Fran!!! Great job on the times! You must be so proud of your accomplishment. Thanks for all the great pics!

  8. Congratulations!! Look at you and your medal – so cute 😀

  9. Great job!!!

  10. Congrats!! This is wonderful. I am so jealous of you being by the beach. Are the tulips by you that they always talk about. I really want to see them. I am so proud of you for going and finishing! You ROCK!

  11. Great job! What a great day that you did so well!

  12. That’s great! I am so proud of you! GREAT JOB!!

  13. Wow, Congratulations on a new personal best!

    It was really quite cold and windy – I hadn’t been to the beach in so long, I’d totally forgotten about the wind! Luckily we didn’t get any rain, right?

    Great job, when is your next?

  14. onelittlejill

    Great job Fran! All your hard work is paying off- Woo hoo! And I love the medal.

  15. YAY FRAN!!!! Congratulations – I am so proud of you for your PR and an all around great race! I’m so glad it went so well for you. The medal is really cute too and the course sounds fun to do. Thanks for posting all the pictures – felt like I was there with you!

  16. Congratulations on your race and new PR way to go! I just love the picture of your medal.

  17. Wow you are getting fast woman! That is an awesome time. I’m glad you had a great run all around. You can put the last couple of tough ones behind you for good!

  18. What a fancy track and you can tell that a lot of people show up for those races, how fun! Nice job on your time and pace. I’m especially proud of you for getting out there and getting over your humps from the past few weeks…your smiled revealed it all. You’re in a great place. Nice medal too 🙂 !

  19. Great, great job!!! Awesome! I love all the race photos!

  20. Wow! This is fantastic…way to go…and such a beautiful place too!

Leave a Reply

