A day in my life: Friday April 21, 2010

Thoughts:
Weekend has started: jippie! The weather is going to be beautiful so I look forward to some running and enjoying the nice weather by sitting in my garden with my Breaking Dawn book.

Tomorrow we are going to an animal shelter to orientate on a dog. We both want another dog because we love the have a dog in the house. I don’t know if there will be one that we love but we’re just going to check it out.

I have a question for the runners. I’m confused! I “learned” that you should replace your running shoes after 1.000 (620 miles) to 1.500 K (930 miles) but today I read on another blog that you should buy new ones after 650 K (400 miles). Who can help me out here because if that’s true I should start to think about buying new shoes soon. My shoes still feel perfect on my feet, I never have trouble or pain caused by my shoes. So I would really like to hear your opinion on this.

Exercise:

Half marathon training week 1:
Wednesday: 30 minute endurance run, pace 7:09-7:24/km with 2 tempo runs of 3 minutes, pace 6:39-6:54/km. -> done, 4.26K
Thursday: Pyramidrun, pace 5:57-6:12/km, 100-200-300-600-300-200-100 m, 3 minute breaks. -> done, but skipped the last 200 and 100 m tempo, was exhausted.
Saturday: 20 minute endurance run, pace 6:57-7:12/km. Strenght training upper body.
Sunday:  6 km endurance run, pace 7:12-7:27 /km

Yesterday I went to the gym to do my pyramidrun on the treadmill. This interval was longer than any interval I’ve ever done and I have to admit that I didn’t do the last 200m en 100m because I was exhausted, but I will keep on trying.

Stats:
Weather: inside.
Distance: 3.3 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:22:07
Average time: 6:42 /km
Average speed: 9.0 km/hour

Goal total km’s/miles week 16:
22K / 14.2 miles.
Total week 16: 8.5K / 2.6 miles

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday I marinated some chicken in curry paste and yogurt and then grilled it. We ate it with Indian “naanbrood” and mango salsa.

Today R. wasn’t home for dinner so I bought an already finished Thai Noodle soup at the supermarket and ate a bagel with peanut butter.

Pic of the day:

Thursday: We had our favourite picture of Roussy printed on Canvas which arrived Wednesday. It’s hanging on the wall in our living room and it’s the first thing you see when you enter the room. It’s just like she’s waiting for you when you come home. I love it.

Friday: new issue of the Dutch Runner’s World in the mail. I love to read Runner’s World. Do you read it?

Daily Quote:
“It’s not that some people have willpower and some don’t.
It’s that some people are ready to change and others are not.”
–  James Gordon

Tamara, today’s quote is for you.

14 responses to “A day in my life: Friday April 21, 2010

  1. Have a great weekend! In regards to the shoes, I started to feel like I should get new ones about 300 miles. I think it just depends on how you feel too. If they are still feeling okay, I would not worry about it 🙂

  2. Hi AGain!,
    I was just commenting on your last post while you were writing this one 🙂

    I’ve been told to change running shoes every 500 miles or so and since I am a heavy weight runner, I definitely stick to that schedule.

    Great job on your training. Please send me info on your half marathon plan. I’d like to take a serious look at it if I could. Is it from a book or on the web?

    Yes, I read Runner’s World and love it.

    I made chicken marinated in curry paste and yogurt this week to. Funny!

    Love, love, love the picture of Roussy to greet you each time you come in. What a lovely idea.
    Best wishes as you search for that new friend to join your family 🙂

  3. FRAN!! You got buried in my reader and I haven’t been staying up on your journey!! I’m so happy to come across your blog again.

    How exciting to look for a new dog! Good luck!

  4. Awww, what a wonderful idea and such a sweet picture of Roussy! Love the placement of it as well.

    I hope you find a dog at the shelter – when we went to look, I had my eye on another dog, but Paco found us and that’s who we took home. Your next pet is somewhere out there.

    I’m curious as to what answers you will get to your running shoe question! I may go get fitted again in a week or so – but darn, it’s hard to justify spending so much money so soon! Of course, if my feet don’t hurt then it will be worth it. 🙂

    BTW, your chicken dinner looks wonderful!

  5. Auh Fran, I hope you find the perfect companion. I can’t wait to see if you were able to find a new dog.

    As far as the shoes, I don’t really know. I replaced my last pair just about a month ago because I feared they wouldn’t last for my half marathon next month. I just went with how I felt. i still run in my old shoes sometimes, as they really do feel good still.

    Hope you have a great weekend and the sun shines for you.

    Oh and love the picture, what a great way to keep the memory alive.

  6. I love that photo of Roussy!

    As for shoes, yes – you should replace them. I think every 500 miles or so is good. The problem is, you wear shoes out and they stretch, so they tend to feel very comfy – but they are not supportive that way. Plus, you wear the bottom out and have less cushioning. I replace my shoes, and even though the old ones feel fine, I am always surprised at how much better the new pair feels (of the same brand, no less).

  7. I don’t run as much as you, but walk six times a week 3 miles or so. I tend to replace my shoes every 3 months. I usually replace them when I can start to “feel the road” if that makes sense.

    Love that pic of your little doggy. So sweet.

  8. Love that you got Roussy’s pic on a canvas – those are so nice to hang up!
    About the shoes – with mine I really start to feel it when it is time to get a new pair – you will notice your legs and feet don’t feel so great after a long run and the cushioning in the insole doesn’t seems as cushy… I don’t really keep track of the mileage but rather pay attention to how my legs feel.
    Enjoy the summer weather – isn’t this awesome? I am sitting out on our patio with the laptop as I type this right now! (with a glass of white wine, since I already got my run in today)!

  9. Awww, I love that pic you had done of Roussy. The placement sounds perfect. So sweet.

    Geez, the mileage thing is all over the place. I’ve heard to replace them every 300 miles. Though I’ve also heard that it depends on the shoe. The old brand I had definitely needed replacing more frequently. The cushioning broke down quickly and really needed to be replaced every 3-4 months. The brand I’m wearing now (Mizuno’s) I’ve been told last alot longer and they seem to work for me for up to 9 months.

    Mine still usually look pretty good when I replace them and I use them as casual wear. I have 3 pairs of runners on the go at a time – running shoes, casual wear, and the oldest pair for yardwork.

  10. Love the doggie.
    I also have heard every 300-400 miles.
    Hope you had a good run, your food looks yum, I think I am hungry.

  11. About your question, you are right. In the past we could wear the running shoes for 1000 km but now, with the new technology, their life is 600 km even if they seem again fit and comfortable. A good start for your half-marathon. Hi from Italy

  12. Fran, did you get a friend? i’m sitting on pins and needles over here 🙂

  13. I love Runner’s World! The picture of Roussy melts my heart…so much personality! I hope you find a new friend soon… Regarding the shoes; I usually work on “feel” because I am not good about documenting exactly when I start running in my new shoes. I can automatically tell when I need new shoes because my feel start to feel sore in the same spots each and every time! My black toenails from the race last week indicate I need new shoes NOW!

  14. Thank you for the quote. It’s that kind of grounded approach that will produce results.

    That is a beautiful pic of Roussy. What a tribute. It’s lovely.

    About the running shoes, I believe that your legs will tell you when you need new shoes. That’s why the advice you will read is so varied. I always know when my legs start getting sore and there doesn’t seem to be a reason. Best thing to do if you’re not sure is to take them into a good running store with knowledgeable staff and have them look at your wear pattern. They’ll tell you if you’re getting close to needing new shoes.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

