A day in my life: Wednesday May 5, 2010

Thoughts:
Yesterday it was May 4th. On this day we remember all the victims of World War II and all victims (civilian and military) that died in war situations. We do that by hanging our flag half-mast from 6 pm till after 8 pm. At 8 pm the whole country (or almost) is silent for 2 minutes to remember the victims. After that we raise the flag again till sunset.

So there I sat in front of our TV right before 8 pm. We always watch the remembrance ceremony at the Dam in Amsterdam where the Queen is present. So we were quiet and right before the end of the 2 minutes a man started screaming and the crowd got into a panic and tried to run away. It seemed a man raised his arms and started screaming (not in Dutch) and another man seemed to drop a suitcase. Our Queen and her family were brought to safety immediately and after peace had been restored she came back and the ceremony continued. I found out this morning 68 people were hurt.

I told you last week what happened on Queens day last year and now this, I often wonder what country/world we’re living in these days. Here’s a video of what happened, the panic starts at 1 minute 50. At 5 minutes the Queen, Prince Willem-Alexander and Princess Maxima return.

Today on May 5th we celebrate our freedom. May 5th is the official date that we were liberated by mostly the Canadians back in 1945. Every 5 years this day is a public holiday. It is mostly celebrated by freedom concerts all over the country (not in my village by the way).

We went to puppy training with Bella yesterday and she did very well. There were 6 dogs for the training. We got to ask a lot of questions how to raise Bella. We got a clicker which is meant to help her learn things. For example: every time she pees outside we click and she gets a treat which is a piece of her normal food. This way she learns that when she pees outside it’s good.

Tomorrow my free days are over and it’s back to work. Bella is going to stay with my mother in law and on Friday R. has the day off so she won’t be alone this week.

Exercise:

Half marathon training week 2 (May 3-May 9):
Tuesday: Climax run, pace 5:57-6:12/km, 100-100-200-200-300-400-600 m, 3 minute breaks. -> done but skipped the 400 and 600.
Wednesday: 30 minute endurance run, pace 6:57-7:12/km with 3 tempo runs of 3 minutes, pace 6:27-6:42/km. -> done, 4.4 K.
Friday: 20 minute endurance run, pace 6:57-7:12/km.
Saturday:  7 km endurance run, pace 7:12-7:27 /km

Yesterday I did my interval on the treadmill. It didn’t go too well, I think it’s the shoes. We are not allowed to wear outdoor shoes in the gym so I wear my Reebok fitness shoes instead of my running shoes on the treadmill and I start to think that’s the reason why my interval training isn’t going like I want too. My legs are tired after 20 minutes. How do you do that when you run on the treadmill in the gym?

Stats:
Weather: inside.
Distance: 3 K / 1.8 miles
Time: 00:20:15
Average time: 6:45 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour

Today I did training 1 of this week: 30 minutes with 3 tempo runs of 3 minutes in it. It was a good run, nice weather: not too cold and no rain. I like the variation in this run, normally I just run for 30 minutes at the same pace but the tempo runs in it makes the time go faster and the run more fun.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, not much wind, dry, ± 15 ˚C (59 degrees).
Distance: 4.4 K / 2.7 miles
Time: 00:30:00
Average time: 6:48 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour

Goal total km’s/miles week 18:
22.5K / 13.9 miles.
Total week 18: 7.4 K / 1.8 miles.

Daily Quote:
For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others.
Nelson Mandela

14 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday May 5, 2010

  1. Have you asked your gym about their definition of “outdoor shoes?” I know we have a similar rule at our gym but it’s for boots or muddy, lawnmowing style shoes. Athletic footwear is their definition of allowed shoewear…I would check, becuase it’s not super healthy (nor recommended) to be doing intervals or long runs of any time without good shoes on!

  2. ah Nelson Mandela quote….
    That’s OUR man!!!

  3. Great job on your training program so far!! Have a great day 🙂

  4. Sounds like things are going great for you! Too bad you have to go back to work already. It’s always hard going back after a vacation ;o)

  5. Sounds like Bella is in good hands! Watching that video and seeing everyone run is scary. What is this world coming to when you can’t even get through a ceremony. It really bothers me the way people are becoming. If you don’t agree with something stay home. Thats my thoughts.

    Good job on working out. You are doing better then me.

  6. That is so awful about your ceremony. So sad that those people were hurt as well. Two years in a row – ugh. We have something similar here on November 11th. We call it Remembrance Day.

    I’d suggest getting a 2nd pair of proper running shoes for your indoor runs. We used to do this in our home gym … but it fell to the wayside and now we use our outdoor shoes. I think good running shoes are essential.

  7. I’m sorry your ceremony was disrupted like that – what is up with the crazy people in this world?!? Very frustrating. It’s a lovely tradition your country has, with the specific times for lowering the flag and the moment of silence. I’m learning so much about Holland from your posts!

    I would buy another pair of running shoes for the gym – you have to be comfortable there. It I know ahead of time that I’m in for a long run on the treadmill, I bring my running shoes…makes it much better.

    We did clicker training with Paco and it worked quite well. Dogs are so smart and it’s fun to see them catch on to the learning!

    Hope you have a good day back at work.

  8. That is scary to see. Sometimes I don’t understand why people think they have to right to just do whatever they want at any time?

    I am so glad you are training Bella early! That will make her such a joy for you and she will be a happy dog 😀

  9. I’m like you Fran – when I heard about what happened at Dam Square I said to my husband “is not even the 2 minutes of silence sacred anymore?? What is wrong with people??” And we also talked about Queen’s Day last year. It’s so sad to me. I have only lived here 15 years but have come to cherish much of what Dutch people cherish and somehow feel violated when people ruin those things.

    Bella has a lot to learn but with the both of you training her I bet she’ll be a very good doggie 🙂

    Way to go on your training! If you got running shoes for use only at the gym would they allow that?

    I’m back to work too. Next week another short week though!

  10. Yes, what happened in Amsterdam was on our news yesterday as well – really scary. What is wrong with some people???
    So glad things with Bella are going well – raising a puppy is a lot of hard work and dedication, but it sounds like she is very lucky to have you guys as her people!
    Good luck with getting back to your training!

  11. That video is so upsetting. Why do people do things like that? I often wonder what they are trying to accomplish.

    We trained our dog early and he is such a great dog now. I bet Bella will do fabulous.

  12. Can’t really help you on the shoe problem because I have a treadmill at home and when I attempt to run on it, I use my regular running shoes.
    do you think you would be able to wipe them down and use them anyway? Not sure just a thought!
    And how cute that Bella is in school, I bet she will graduate on the honour roll 🙂

  13. I like your new layout Fran!

    Why can’t you wear outdoor shoes on the treadmill? Is that a gym rule?

    And, I saw the chaos from that guy. I don’t know why people have to be so idiotic. What is this world coming to?

  14. Hi Fran: just dropping by to say hello. I’ve been out of the internet loop for a while. Work is very busy and I had to travel for work for two days last week. I’m trying to catch up but I am way behind.

    Glad Bella is doing well with school. Our PM was in your country on that day. What a shame that happened. I just don’t understand.

Leave a Reply

