A day in my life: Saturday June 5, 2010

Thoughts:
Thursday I had a meeting where I had to take notes. I knew it was going to be a long day and it was. We started at 9 am and we’re finished at 5.30 pm. So at night I didn’t do much more than sit on the couch and watch a movie “Bride Wars”.

Yesterday I had the day off and it was girls night out! K. came over to my house to have dinner at my place. Since the weather was beautiful yesterday we could eat outside:

After dinner we went to the theatre to see Sex and the City 2. We’re both huge fans of this show and we saw the first movie together too.

Of course if you go to S&TC you have to wear designer shoes. K. wore Gucci’s and I wore Calvin Klein pumps:

I’ve had a great time but it’s always fun to do something with K.

Today I’m going to enjoy yet another sunny day and tonight we have a birthday party from one of our friends.

I usually mention my weight only once a month but I was so happy with my weigh inn on Thursday I want to share it with you this week. I’ve lost 0.7 kg/1.5 lbs. That’s huge for me and I’ve only run twice since my last weigh inn. Only 0.2 kg/0.4 lbs to go and I’m below 79 kg/174 lbs and I can’t even remember when the last time was I weighted that. Definitely somewhere around 2000. This inspired me to the following:

Fran’s Summer Challenge:
Inspired by my weight loss this week, Syl’s summer challenge and Heidi’s 30 days of activity for June I made my own challenge for this summer. I’ll start next Monday June 7th and the challenge ends on Sunday August 29th. This is 12 weeks, 84 days. I’ll update my challenge every week on Sunday or Monday.

Goals:

  1. Lose some weight every week.
    No pressure here, just lose some every week.
  2. Exercise at least 60 out of 84 days.
    I know myself so I kept this to a number  that I can achieve.
  3. Do something active every day (this can be working out, running, housekeeping, walking with Bella, going for a ride on my bike and so on) for at least 30 minutes.
  4. Run at least two times while we’re on vacation.
    We’re going away for a week on June 18th and I’m bringing my running clothes and shoes.
  5. Follow the half marathon plan and don’t skip any trainings.
    Exception: the week we’re on holiday. In that week I want to run but just for fun.
  6. Eat more fruit and vegetables.
    Speaks for itself.
  7. Try a new recipe at least once a week.
    I’ve got 67 cook books and a lot of recipes from magazines and the past few months I didn’t use those very often.
  8. Take Bella to the beach for the first time in her life.
  9. See “Eclipse” (Twilight Saga).
  10. Read at least 6 books before August 29th (aangeven welke).

So here it is, I put some fun challenges to my list too because my life isn’t all about exercising and eating healthy. If you want to join me in this, be my guest. I have one rule only and that’s that you have to add at least 4 things to your list that are fun. If some of you join me I will send something to the one who did the best in her challenge at the end of it.

Exercise:
No exercise since Monday. Work has been so busy but that’s over now so no more excuses.

Latest movie seen:

I’m a huge fan of S&TC so I was really looking forward to seeing it. I didn’t like the first part of the movie that much, too sticky. I loved the gay wedding, it was so over the top. I started to like it more once the girls arrived in Abu Dhabi and from that point it got better. The best part in this movie was for Samantha in my opinion, I really loved her in this one. And I liked Miranda a lot better too in this one.

Overall conclusion: I liked it but I don’t think there should be a third movie unless they come up with great storylines because that’s what I missed a bit in this one.

What’s for dinner:
Thursday: pasta

Friday: a rocket salad with snow peas, green asparagus, cucumber, cashew nuts, tenderloin and a dressing.

Quote of the day:
“The most important thing in life is your family. There are days you love them, and others you don’t. But, in the end, they’re the people you always come home to. Sometimes it’s the family you’re born into and sometimes it’s the one you make for yourself.”
Carrie Bradshaw.

13 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday June 5, 2010

  1. Looks like you made the most with your friend last night…weather is really good. One look at those high shoes and my feet pain…I cant wear them anymore…but do look very pretty.

    have a good time at the party this evening!!!

  2. Love all your goals Fran and I know that you will achieve them, and if you come up short it’s ok too because sometimes “life” gets in the way!
    I love that you went all dressed up to the movie.
    I never watched the show on TV but did watch the movie when it came out and want to see the second part. Glad you were able to have a “girls” night
    Have a great weekend my friend and give that sweet Bella a hug for me!

  3. Hi Fran,
    Thanks for visiting my blog and adding me to Google Reader. I would love it if you also became a follower. I am trying to reach 100 followers and I am very close. I have seen your comments on some blogs too. You have a lot of goals for the summmer! Good for you. I have been thinking of some. One is going to be to run in at least three new places in my state. I am not including traveling in this. I like to run in different places and maybe this will motivate me to do so.
    I love time with friends too. I have a long weekend coming up with friends that we do annually and I am really looking forward to it!

  4. Hi Fran,
    First of all I love the heels! I made the mistake of wearing heels the day after I ran my first half marathon…huge mistake:) I have learned my lesson and now wait a few days after a longer race before I put those babies back on. You have a very nice blog here. I am trying to become a follower but don’t see a link for where I can follow. For now I will just copy your address and add you to my blog roll:)

    Woo hoo for girls night and Sex in the City:) It sounds like you had fun! I still have to go see that movie!

    I think it is awesome that you live in the Netherlands:) I love meeting other bloggers from different parts of the globe…this is very cool!

    I hope that you have a nice weekend Fran!

  5. You and K are so cute – LOVE the shoes! Is that your patio? It’s very pretty.

    Congrats on the scale surprise…sometimes weight loss sneaks up on you (which is always nice!).

    Your challenge sounds good, and I’ll join you. Four fun things? Hmmm.
    1. Ride my poor neglected bike twice each week.
    2. Cook something from Cooking Light magazine in June, July and August.
    3. See a movie in June, July and August (at the theater, not a rental).
    4. Learn how to use most of the features on my new Garmin by the end of August.

    I need to print this out so I’ll remember what I’m supposed to be doing! Thanks for the literally, FUN, challenge!

  6. Nice shoes. I will probably watch the movie at home by myself like I did the first one. I really enjoyed that one. Looks like you had a wonderful time with your friend.

    Great goals!!! I know you will achieve them.

    Have fun the rest of the weekend.

  7. Cute shoes, Fran. I love seeing girls having fun and the simplicity of a fun dinner at home is great! I’m inspired to take some pictures of my daughter and I when we go off to a bridal shower tomorrow. Stay tuned!

  8. Love the pumps! And the summer challenge is a GREAT idea – I might just join in with you! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  9. Well aren’t you the cutest fricken thing? You look absolutely gorgeous dressed up to go to that movie.

    Great summer plan! I may have to adapt it in a few weeks. I say in a few weeks because I’ve devised a plan of my own for the next four weeks. I’m even excited about it. I’m ready to get this ball rolling again.

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  10. Fran,
    You look amazing! Congrats on your weight loss. Want to send some of that my way? I need to get back on track. Tomorrow is my starting date too. Don’t know if I’ll be running too much for at least another week, but I’ve been walking and swimming.
    I think I may just join in on some of the points on this challenge. I have to come up with fun stuff. 🙂

  11. Before I even saw the close up, I was like “Oh, I love your shoes” they are great!

    You have some awesome goals and I know you will do it!!!

  12. You look good in your pic. Love the shoes:) Thanks for the movie review.

    Awesome summer goals! I’m sure you’ll do great. I joined Biz’s summer challenge and have similar goals to yours…

  13. Cute shoes!

    Great challange Fran. I’m glad I could be part of what inspired you to take this on. I think you have a plan that you can stick to, but will still be a challenge.

Leave a Reply

