A day in my life: Wednesday June 8, 2010

Thoughts:
Busy, busy, busy. Came home late so had a very fast dinner because I have to go to my beauty salon in half an hour. I also have to vote tonight.

Today is election day in the Netherlands for a new government. I think voting is a right and you should use that right but to be honest I still haven’t got a clue which party I’m going to vote for. I don’t trust anyone of them. They all make promises during the campaign period but never keep them.
Unlike in the US where you have the democrats and republicains we have lots of parties which we can chose from. So every 4 years we have a government that consists of at least 2 parties and that can be different every year. Usually the biggest party governs the country and provides our president but they’re never big enough to govern alone so they always need a second or even third party. All the other parties are the opposition. Usually I know what to vote for but not today. Oh well I’ve got 2 more hours to decide ….

Our company is a franchise organization and every year one of our franchisees brings a box of white asparagus for our management and I get one too. The traditional way to eat them here in Holland is with eggs, ham and hollandaise sauce (made of butter) with a white wine. The package had that all in it. I “learned” to eat them only last year but now I love them. White asparagus are pretty expensive here in Holland so I don’t buy them often myself. But Friday or Sunday it’s asparagus for dinner.

Exercise:

Yesterday I went to the gym after work to do my interval training on the treadmill. I brought my running shoes after cleaning them a bit. It went very well.
Schedule: 100, 200, 300, 600, 300, 200, 100 metres with 3 minutes break in between. I slowed down twice to fast walking so I could catch my breath and drink some water but I did all intervals so satisfying workout. Today is a day of rest.

Stats:
Weather: inside
Distance: 4.00 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:27:14
Average time: 6:48 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday noodles with chicken and vegetables.

Today a quickie: 2 slices of bread with a baked egg and cheese.

Quote of the day:
Politicians are the same all over.  They promise to build a bridge even where they is no river.
Nikita Khrushchev

13 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday June 8, 2010

  1. What a neat asparagus gift – since it’s so special, I would make it with the recipe and ingredients provided. I’ve never had white asparagus – is it much different from the green?

    Interesting to see that Holland’s elections are about as confusing as the U.S.’s – I swear, it’s a toss up as to choosing which you think might be the lesser of two (or more) evils!

  2. Mmmmm, I love asparagus. Where I’m moving they grow the BEST green asparagus. Have never tried (or seen in the flesh) the white variety. I use a Hollandaise sauce mix and hugely reduce the butter to almost nothing. It tastes great and is super low calorie. Spice it up with a little cayenne and paprika.

    I believe in voting as well … but have often been in the same position as you, not having a clue which way to go right at the deadline. They’re all crooks in my mind.

  3. Oh, and another way I’ve eaten asparagus is stir fry in a little oil then add a dash of oyster sauce or Maggi seasoning (if you have that there, I know it’s in Germany). YUM!

  4. Oh, white asparagus! I’ve never had that before. Sounds interesting. You’ll have to take pictures and tell us what you think!

  5. Actually, there are more than 2 parties in the US on the ballots, but the big money tickets are the Republicans and the Democrats, so it is pretty much always one of those 2 parties that get in office on a national level.

  6. Love the quote! Great job on the workouts 🙂 I love white asparagus!!

  7. I think voting is difficult everywhere. It’s tough to feel like your vote makes any difference at all. I hope you were able to feel good about the vote you cast tonight.

    Great run Fran! I’m going to have to work hard to catch up to you now. There was a time we were running very close times with one another but man, I was sucking wind hard this morning. I just have to tell myself that the first time back is the hardest for sure. Next time will be better!

    Enjoy that white asparagus! Tasty!

  8. We had to vote last night. We rushed home from track and I had one minute to spare before they closed the door. I was glad I made it, I do feel like we all can make a difference.
    Nice workout at the gym, keep it up!

  9. Hi Fran,
    Oh, that asparagus looks so good! One of my fovorites for sure:) I have never seen the little packs of eggs that hold just six of them….we need to get smaller packs here too:)

    Nice work on your running…keep it up!

  10. asparagus on the BBQ is my FAVORITE – yummy! oh and that egg sandwhich looks incredible, if I were to ever come to your house I would request that 😉

  11. I love white asparagus – the best ones I ever had were when we were on vacation in Holland north of Maastricht during asparagus season and stopped at a farm selling them right from the field – delicious!
    Did you end up figuring out who to vote for? We have our elections on Sunday and my husband is still unsure of who to vote for (I can’t vote – still a US citizen). I just wish politicians would get real and stop worrying about staying in power and start worrying about fixing problems.

  12. I have never heard of white asparagus, but it sounds very good! Your dinner sounds like it will be tasty – I hope it is!!! 🙂

  13. I’ve never even heard of white asparagus! What a treat. I think voting is a privledge too but sometimes I don’t know who to vote for either! Then I’m frantically searching the internet for good information!

Leave a comment