A day in my life: Monday June 28, 2010

Thoughts:
Yesterday was my one year blog anniversary. I can’t believe how fast time goes by and that it’s been a year since I first started blogging. I’m addicted to it now because I met so many wonderful people through my blog and by reading yours. So I want to thank you for you continuing support, even though I mess up again and again and start over again and again.

I took a sneak preview on the scale Saturday morning and as expected I gained during my vacation. If I hadn’t been active all week I think it would be more. Next week it’s all about fruits and veggies which I ate way to little of the past week. I’ve bought delicious summer fruits on the market Saturday: peaches, cherries, strawberries, melon and pineapple.

In a few days the first 6 months of this year are done and I’m nowhere near the goals I’ve set on January 1st (more on that later this week). Therefore I have every reason and intention to make the second 6 months of this year a bigger success than the first, starting today. The plan is the same as always: eat healthy and exercise, that’s all that it takes, now I just have to do it!

Fran’s Summer Challenge:
The challenge is for 12 weeks. Start Monday June 7th and ends on Sunday August 29th.
I’ll update my challenge every week on Sunday or Monday.

Goals (week 2 and 3):

  1. Lose some weight every week.
    Week 2:A small gain of 0.3 kg (…. lbs.) totally my own fault, too much snacks.
    Week 3: vacation, no weigh-inn this week.
    0 out of 12 weeks. (3 weeks done)
  2. Exercise at least 60 out of 84 days.
    9 out of 60 daysWeek 2:  Monday: 30 minute run. Thursday 23 minute run, Saturday 3K run.
    Week 3: Tuesday: 4K run, Saturday: 2K run.

  3. Do something active every day (this can be working out, running, housekeeping, walking with Bella, going for a ride on my bike and so on) for at least 30 minutes.
    17 out of 84 days (3 weeks done).Week 2: Monday running. Tuesday walking/puppy training. Wednesday walking, Thursday running, Friday none, Saturday 3K run and lots of walking, Sunday walk of 2,5 hours.
    Week 3: Monday lots of walking, Tuesday 4K run and lots of walking, Wednesday 2,5 hours kayaking, Thursday lots of walking, Saturday 2K run, Sunday none.

  4. Run at least two times while we’re on vacation.
    Result:done! Did 2 runs, 1 of 3.2K and 1 of 4K. The hills were very rough as I’m not used to running on hills so kept the runs short.
  5. Follow the half marathon plan and don’t skip any runs.
    1 out of 12 weeks (3 weeks done).
    Week 2 + 3: week 2 of the plan I spread over two weeks because of our vacation but I missed 2 runs of the training (the interval and the long run) so week 2 has to be done again.
  6. Eat more fruit and vegetables.
    Week 2: okay.
    Week 3: vacation, terrible.
  7. Try a new recipe at least once a week.
    3 out of 12 weeks
    Week 2: 1 on Tuesday (wraps) and on Thursday (cheeseburger)
    Week 3: none but made 2 new ones in week 2.
  8. Take Bella to the beach for the first time in her life.
  9. See “Eclipse” (Twilight Saga).
  10. Read at least 6 books before August 29th.
    1. Tess Gerritsen – Life support

    2. Stephenie Meyer – The short second life of Bree Tanner.
    3. Stieg Larsson – The girl with the dragon tattoo

Exercise:
Saturday morning I had scheduled my “long” run of 7K but as soon as I started running I knew that that wasn’t going to happen. From the first step my legs hurt, apparently they were still sore from all the hills I walked up and down in the past week. So I decided to “take my loss” and make it a short round and pick it all up this week.

Stats:
Weather: sunny, hardly any wind, clear blue sky, 20 ˚C/68 degrees.
Distance: 2 K / 1.2 miles
Time: 00:14:15
Average time: 7:08 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour

This morning I got up at 7 am to go for my 30 minute run. As soon as I got outside I noticed it was already hot (we’re having summer here with temperatures above 25 C/77 degrees). And as you may or may not know I’m not a runner for warm weather. So I took it easy because where I run there is hardly any shadow so I’m running most of the time in the sunshine. But I made my 30 minutes and am happy with that.

Stats:
Weather: sunny, hardly any wind, clear blue sky, 25 ˚C/77 degrees.
Distance: 4.4 K / 2.7 miles
Time: 00:30:40
Average time: 6:58 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour

Fran’s daily outfit:
Stole this idea from Shelley (hope you don’t mind) who has introduced Fashion Friday on her blog. I like fashion and clothes and some of you comment on my outfits every now and then so I thought I’ll show you my daily outfit. Feel free to say if you like it or not and if it suits me right.

Yesterday I wore a summer dress. I’ve bought this dress 2 years ago a size smaller than my regular at that moment and never got to wear it till this year. I wore my Crocs flipflops which I always wear when I’m at home and have no make-up on because I never wear make-up during my vacations. (I’m sorry, can’t get this picture rotated, no matter what I try).

Today another summer dress, same story as yesterday, this is the first year it fits perfectly.

Book review:
The short second life of Bree Tanner, an Eclipse novella by Stephenie Meyer

Fans of The Twilight Saga will be enthralled by this riveting story of Bree Tanner, a character first introduced in Eclipse, and the darker side of the newborn vampire world she inhabits. In another irresistible combination of danger, mystery, and romance, Stephenie Meyer tells the devastating story of Bree and the newborn army as they prepare to close in on Bella Swan and the Cullens, following their encounter to its unforgettable conclusion.

I’m a big fan of the Twilight Saga so this novella was a must read for me. It’s a thin book, I finished it within I think 2 hours. I liked it but not as much as the story of Bella, Edward and Jacob. But it gave an insight how the newborns lived and how they became an army.

What’s for dinner:
Friday a salad with nectarines, feta cheese and ham. It was a hot day and I love eating a salad with some bread on those days.

Saturday I made a Greek salad, I still needed veggies which I ate too little the week before.

Yesterday we had a bbq at home. I made a big bowl of fruit salad and green salad.

Quote of the day:
I have to make myself take a day off. I get addicted, and I feel guilty if don’t run. I have to remember it’s the recovery days when you actually get stronger. When you take a day off, you can run fast and hard next time you get out there.
Danica Patrick, Professional race-car driver

15 responses to “A day in my life: Monday June 28, 2010

  1. Your fruit looks amazing!! You have made such great progress on your goals 🙂 I hope you have a great week!

  2. It is HOT, isn’t it? We had a rough time running on Sunday morning. The nice thing about hot weather is that it feels like vacation even though we are just at home! And making all those nice salads!

  3. Realized I hadn’t read anything on you. I bookmarked you so hopefully I don’t forget again. I am sorry…

    The fruit looks yummy! I just bought some Friday! Love the pics. as I love to see what everyone wears. I have a hold on the Twilight book as I have read them all and I can’t skip this one. I love your backyard. I sure do miss having one and can’t wait to have one again.
    Today it is 30 and I am loving it!

  4. Oh my gosh, you have a Tiki hut! That is so cool…I dare not show my husband the picture or he will be sad that we don’t have one!

    Your fruit looks so appetizing! Love those little strawberries – and the cherries – YUM! I bought those plus pineapple and blackberries this weekend – does your pineapple come from Costa Rica like ours?

    That first salad? AMAZING! I never would have thought of that combo but I’m going to try it…what kind of dressing did you use? All of the food you posted looks so good. 🙂

    Yay for the fashion show!!! You look cute in both dresses, even with the mirror squishing you down to my height in the first picture, lol. Love the blue pattern in the second dress…and now I want to go look for some sundresses!

    I’ve never read any of the Twilight books (can we still be friends? 😉 ) – one of these days…

  5. Is that your gazebo in your back yard? How lovely!

    That is an interesting mirror LOL!

    Happy blogiversary 😀

  6. I like Sarah love this hot weather and the only difference with this weather is I go out early to run and not at 3pm like I did for May and June ~ I do think that people from Europe suffer with the hot weather, I see it all around me how the German’s complain that its too hot…
    Strangely MS sufferers are also meant to struggle with the heat and I have not found this to be the case with me, so keep saying to hubby, I cant have MS as I love the sun and HOT days.

    Well done to Holland they have gone through to the next round today!!!!! The Orange team ~ here we come!!

  7. YUM! BBQ looks amazing!

  8. Happy Anniversary my friend! Love your blog and catching up, it keeps me on my toes because of the time change ;-).
    That fruit looks so great. i love how fresh and sweet it looks, love summer time for that reason alone ;-).
    Love your dressses, the second one is my favorite. But if I were to be honest with you I would say that your mirror gives the widening illusion. You are beautiful and I think you should find a new mirror ;-).
    hope you are having a great day!

  9. Loved your vacation pictures! Sounds like you’re on top of things with your goals. Mine this year was to reach 600 miles by the end of the year, so far I am on target. I found setting this helped me to get out and run when I didn’t feel like it.

  10. Hi Fran,
    Happy Bloggy Anniversary! I love your cute summer dresses…you look great in both of them:) Also, I am so jealous of your outside eating area:) I wish that we had something like that…a charming place to eat outside! By the way, your BBQ looks amazing!

    I hope that you have an excellent week Fran!

  11. Congratulations on your blog anniversary! What a great accomplishment. You look wonderful in your dresses! I love how you set such specific goals.

  12. Lekker!!!

    Love all the fresh food.

    Both of your dresses look great!

    I love your backyard! I don’t like the sun on me, so that would be perfect!

  13. Thanks for stopping by yesterday. Your comment is up and posted. 🙂 Love the pics you post. They are so pretty. I think the second dress is my fav!

  14. onelittletrigirl

    Happy Blogversary Fran!!!!

  15. We’ve been friends for a year! That feels good. Happy anniversary Fran.

    Those dresses are very cute. I should really wear more dresses in the summer.

    Those lovely strawberries look totally delish.

    Is that your little gazebo where you were eating your dinner? It’s sweet!

Leave a Reply

