A day in my life: Wednesday June 30, 2010

Thoughts:
We’re having a period of hot weather here in Holland. Normally it’s about 22 C (71 degrees) around this time of year but since we got home temperatures go up to 30 C (86 degrees). To some of you this may not seem hot 😆 but for our country it is. I workout early in the morning, then do some cleaning in my house (have lots of overdue jobs around the house) and the afternoon I spent in the garden in our patio. Might seem kind of boring but I enjoy it because I can’t stand the heat very well.

I’ve been working out 3 days in a row now. Has been a while since that happened and it makes me feel very good. I have lots of energy and the best part: I do it with a smile. Oh if only I would never have to work again so I could workout in the morning all the time. But ….. that’s not going to happen, will have to go back to work eventually. But till then I’m enjoying the fact that I can go in the morning.

Exercise:
Yesterday I went to the gym as soon as it opened at 8 am and did a strength training upper body. Took me 43 minutes which is just long enough for me. I’ve decided that my workouts in the gym won’t be longer than 45 minutes. I’m not a person who likes strength training a lot and 45 minutes is just perfect for me.

Today again to the gym to do my interval training on the treadmill. Interval training is more easy when I do it in the morning instead after work. Unfortunately my gym doesn’t open till 8 am so I can’t do it before work. So just enjoy that I can do it in the morning during my vacation.

Stats:
Weather: inside.
Distance: 4 K / 2.4 miles
Time: 00:26:58
Average time: 6:44 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour

Fran’s daily outfit:
Yesterday: army girl. R. hates this dress but I love it because of how it fits, it’s perfect for a hot day.

Today I choose Capri pants, I prefer wearing dresses or skirts on hot days but today it’s not as hot as the past few days.

What’s for dinner:
Monday night back to normal: chicken breast covered with cornflakes, potatoes and left over salad from Sunday.

Yesterday a salad with strawberries, Brie cheese and cashew nuts with some bread. This is a great salad to eat on a Summer day.

Quote of the day:
A perfect summer day is when the sun is shining, the breeze is blowing, the birds are singing, and the lawn mower is broken.
James Dent

4 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday June 30, 2010

  1. The weather is very very hot here as well….I have been so busy I have not had time to enjoy it by lying outside getting a tan, and that’s what I want to do…tan!
    I also run early in the morning as its too hot, but even at 7.30am you build up a good sweat!!
    Outfits look good on you…mice and summery
    Food always looks well prepared ~ now let me go entertain Landi!!

  2. I love that quote. There is nothing better than feeling like you really don’t need to do anything productive on a hot summer day. I on the other hand, must go strip 5 layers of paint of my porch windows. Oh joy!

    Good for you for working out so much. I wish I had your motivation right now! 🙂

  3. You know, a 45-minute strength workout is plenty! I do between 35-45 for a full body. More than than and I am just reworking muscles that don’t need it. And you know I love lifting!

    Good for you on being back on the exercise bandwagon 😀

  4. I love how you acknowledge the heat your *other* readers have to endure…86 degrees sounds wonderful to me, lol! Glad you are enjoying your vacation and getting your exercise groove back on. Sometimes changing up the time is just what you need…too bad you can ‘t stick to that 8am workout. And I think it’s much better to do a shorter workout on something you don’t really enjoy all that much – that way, you’ll keep coming back, rather than burn yourself out.

    You look so thin in the capri outfit! And as for the dress, I have a couple that Jeff doesn’t really like, but too bad – sometimes it’s just hot and I have to wear them! Your dress is a good color with your hair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

