Weight challenge + Workout goals: June 2010 recap

Weight Challenge June  2010
Starting weight: 89.2 kg (196.6 lbs).
Target weight: 70 kg (154 lbs).

Weight on June 1st: 79.8 kg (175.9 lbs)
Weight on July 1st: 80.6 kg (177.6 lbs)

This months result: + 0.8 kg (+ 1.7 lbs)
Total loss: – 8.4 kg (18.5 lbs)

Fat percentage: 40.6 (last month 40.8)
Muscles percentage: 30.0 (last month 30.5)
BMI: 26.9 (last month 26.7)

Unfortunately some of the weight I gained during my vacation is still not gone. But if that didn’t happen the weight would be around the same as on June 1st. I’m not making progress here. Fact is I still eat too much and not always the healthy choices. I’m not going to make excuses, it is how it is. All I can do is pay more attention on everything I put in my mouth and work out more in July than I’ve done over the past few months.

Workout goals 2010, update June
Well, the first 6 months of this year are done. And to be honest, I’m nowhere near the goals I’ve set for this year. Even considering that, I have no intention to adjust my goals or set new ones. The year isn’t over yet, it just means I have to work harder the next 6 months to reach them or get a lot closer to them.

Two positive things: I did more workouts in June than in May. July will have a goal of 15 workouts again and I have every intention to reach that.

The same for the mileage in June which is higher than in May but still far away from my goal of 75K this month. Next month I still keep the goal of 75K. If I don’t skip any runs I should be able to reach this one too.

Overall conclusion: the first 6 months have been below expectations but that’s even the more reason to make the last 6 months a success.

Your opinion needed:
Recently I’ve bought a Jeff Galloway book about running a half marathon. He says it’s best to take a non-exercise day before your long run. My long run is on Saturday so I switched my rest day to Friday instead of Sunday.

After doing a strength training last Tuesday and thinking it over the past couple of days I’m sure that I just don’t like doing this, never have and never will. Weight training has never had my interest, in fact I kind of hate it, always have. The thing I like doing most is running.

That’s why I decided to skip this and instead do a cardio training on Tuesday on the stationary bike and elliptical, maybe the rowing machine.

On Sunday’s I’m going to take a long walk for at least one hour with Bella, she needs to walk a lot more and more as she has so much energy.

So what’s your opinion: do I workout my upper body enough by cardio on the bike and elliptical and taking more long walks?

Workouts:
Number and time of workouts in May:  10 workouts, total time 4 hours and 11 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in June:  12 workouts, total time  5 hours and 59 minutes.

Goal June: 15 workouts

Running goals:

  • Goal kilometres/miles in 2010: 900 K / 560 miles.
    Goal June: 75 K / 46.6 miles
    Total June: 42.8 K / 26.6 miles
    Total May: 32.4 K / 20.1 miles

    Total till 06/30: 242.5 K / 150.6 miles
    Total running time: 28 hours 48 minutes

  • Run a 5K < 35 minutes -> 34:06 on 12/13/2009
    Run a 5K < 32 minutes
    Run a 5K in about 30 minutes
  • Run a 10K < 1.15 -> 01:11:17 on 03/13/2010
    Run a 10K < 1.10
    Run a 10K < 1.05
    Run a 10K in about 1.00
  • Start training for a half marathon -> started on April 19th

12 months, 12 runs:
In 2010 I want to participate in a run every month.

Runs:
1. March 7, Trappenbergloop Huizen, 4K -> 00:26:51, 8.9 km/hour, 6:43/km.
2. March 28, Zandvoort Circuit Run, 5K -> 00:32:36, 9.2 km/hour, 6:31/km, new PR 5K.
3. April 18, Nike Ladies Run Hilversum, 10K ->01:13:49, 8.1 km/hour, 7:23/km, new PR 10K.
4. August 25, Emiclaerloop Amersfoort, 5K
5. September 19, Dam tot Damloop Amsterdam, Ladies Run, 4 EM/6.4K
6. October 10, Hoge Veluweloop, 10K
7. November 5, Bergrace by night, 5.6K
8. November 21, Zevenheuvelenloop, 15K

12 responses to “Weight challenge + Workout goals: June 2010 recap

  1. I wish you all the best for the next 6months and hope that you get to goal this time…I am going to work harder as well as want to drop 2kg’s before my holiday to Cape Town the 1st November ~

    Am sure there will be bloggers who will offer you their opinions about your question…I prefer to remain silence to questions like that ~ not being an expect as well.

    Enjoy the hot summer….am loving it.

  2. Well, if you don’t like doing something, my opinion is, as an adult, you don’t always have to do it (see Biz and her choosing biking over running as an example). Now, you won’t build much strength in your upper body by just doing cardio, but if you don’t like weight training, then why make yourself miserable? What about just doing some crunches for your abs and maybe some push ups for your arms – you don’t even have to belong to a gym for that…or, you don’t have to do anything – it’s your choice as an adult. 🙂

    Personally, I like doing weights for my upper body and I like seeing my arms become more defined, but truth be told, if I hated it, I probably wouldn’t be doing it.

    I like how you are not giving up or changing the goals you set for yourself in January!

  3. Well, you know my opinion of weight training. However, if you really don’t like it – you won’t do it. Weightbearing exercise is important though, so maybe just do a few wall pushups or squat while waiting for something to heat up in the microwave. Nothing formal, but something a little more than just cardio.

    I understand about the not liking thing. I feel like something is wrong with me because I don’t like yoga and everybody else seems to love it. So, I don’t do it 😀

  4. I don’t like lifting either. But there are a few arm exercises that I don’t mind. Can you find a couple that you can work in that don’t totally hate so that at least you’re doing something?

    Dang Vacation Weight…

  5. I have struggled with weight training, but I like the Gym in a Bag that I got on my blog and I also use the ball. It’s been a process though – and I don’t do it as much as I “should.” You are doing so well with everything else I wouldn’t worry about it too much.

  6. Well, I’m not expert and I don’t much like lifting weights but like you, I understand it is important. Especially as we, ahem, get older. How about just dropping and doing some pushups before you hop in the shower in the morning, or something like that. Make it a challenge. See how many more you can do by the end of the month than you could do the first time you tried it…..

    Something stuck in my head that an instructor at a kick boxing class i took a long time ago told us. He said “if you never to any other exercises, do crunches, squats and push ups. Just those three exercises will target each large muscle group and give you a degree of fitness” I think his message was you don’ t have to do a lot to make a difference.

  7. Running only will not lose the weight. Weight training is so important. You don’t need a gym to do it. I have done push ups before bed, biceps using food cans in the kitchen and squats when watching tv. I recently bought a kettle ball and love using it. Plank is another great exercise and can be done anywhere.

  8. I dont like to weight trai,. but I like the results, so I do it! I only do it once a week…sometimes twice, but always once. Just arms and abs. My legs take enough of a beating!

    Oh and this statement: “Overall conclusion: the first 6 months have been below expectations but that’s even the more reason to make the last 6 months a success.” SO TRUE!

  9. Honestly – I am not crazy about doing the weight training but I like the results I get from it. I enjoy trying to complete a program, so that is what keeps me motivated to keep doing it. I guess it’s just a question of figuring out what you like to do and what you want to do and how to combine the two. I do think weights help a lot as we get into our 40’s to prevent losing muscle mass, osteoporosis and putting on weight as we move into perimenopause.
    I am really enjoying Torino – but dang – it is HOT here! Bah!

  10. Here is an idea and what works for me fran, I can’t do a session of weight training on it’s own because I find it very boring, but I do like to put in a DVD that has a mix of cardio and weights.
    The perfect example of this would be the 30 day shred, where I work out my mid section and use some weights, it’s 20 minutes and I always feel like I’ve got in a good workout without it being boring. Just a thought.
    Or another option would be attaching ankle weights and arm weights and going for a walk with Bella, it’s something simple but atleast you are building a little muscle while out for a stroll.

  11. I think your goals are still attainable. Your June looks a lot like my June!! Let’s make July OUR month and rock it!!

  12. I worry more about taking a rest day before a race than before a long run. But if you are following that program you might want to follow it as completely as possible to see if it works. I have been terrible about weight training!

Leave a Reply

