A day in my life: Saturday July 3, 2010

Thoughts:
Thank you for thinking with me about the weight training. I know that it is important so I’m going to think about it this weekend what I’m going to do. I’m thinking about doing a few upper body exercises and crunches in the gym after my cardio training, do the Shred every now and then and maybe do push ups and crunches 3 days a week.

Yesterday it was the hottest day in Holland of this year. It was 35 C (95 degrees) and boy was it hot. At these temperatures it’s almost impossible to do anything. I went to visit a friend of mine in the morning who recently bought a new house which I hadn’t seen yet. Thank goodness for airco in my car. After I came home I did nothing more than sit in the patio with a book and lots of water, sweat was dripping of me only by sitting down.

At 4 pm the Dutch soccer team had to play it’s match against Brasil. And what I never expected happened: we won! The last time we had won from Brasil was in 1974! This means we are in the half final next Tuesday and have to play against Uruguay. I’ve seen them play last night and I have good hopes we will end up in the final. Who knows maybe we will be World champion soccer which we never have been before.

Today it’s not as hot as yesterday, I don’t have many plans for today. Tomorrow R. is having another bike race. He has to leave early in the morning, later in the day I will go there to watch him ride

I wish my American blogger friends a happy 4th of July tomorrow.

Exercise:
Thursday morning I went out for my recovery run. It wasn’t very hot yet but I took a route through my village so I had more shadow than on my normal route. It was a nice run, didn’t overdo it, just ran.

Stats:
Weather: sunny, no wind, ± 20C / 68 degrees.
Distance: 2.9 K / 1.8 miles
Time: 00:20:06
Average time: 6:56 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour

This morning my long run was scheduled. I totally miscalculated how hot it was. When I got up it was cloudy and not too hot. But 5 minutes I started my run the sun came out and it temperatures got up very fast. Stupid enough I forgot to bring water, that won’t happen again I can tell you that. After 5K I got a bit overheated and had to take walking breaks to cool down a bit. But I did do the whole 7K as planned.

Stats:
Weather: sunny, small amount of wind, ± 22C / 71 degrees.
Distance: 7 K / 4.3 miles
Time: 00:52:34
Average time: 7:31 /km
Average speed: 8.0 km/hour

Fran’s daily outfit:
Thursday something I would never wear to work: a red/white skirt with a white top.

Friday I kind of dressed up (the photo of the dress is vague, sorry) as I had to visit a friend. A yellow summer dress.

The shoes to go with it:

Today another skirt in blue and white with a blue tshirt.

Movie review:
Marley & Me


After their wedding, newspaper writers John and Jennifer Grogan move to Florida. In an attempt to stall Jennifer’s “biological clock”, John gives her a puppy. While the puppy Marley grows into a 100 pound dog, he loses none of his puppy energy or rambunctiousness. Meanwhile, Marley gains no self-discipline. Marley’s antics give John rich material for his newspaper column. As the Grogans mature and have children of their own, Marley continues to test everyone’s patience by acting like the world’s most impulsive dog.

I wanted to see this movie for a while now. I loved it. I watched it together with R. and while Marley was a pup, the things he did are some of things Bella does too. For example stealing your bra and run around with it, it happened more than once that Bella did that too. By the end of the movie when Marley got old and died we saw things we experienced with Roussy the last few years. I cried so much by the end of the movie.

Quote of the day:
Freedom has its life in the hearts, the actions, the spirit of men and so it must be daily earned and refreshed – else like a flower cut from its life-giving roots, it will wither and die.
Dwight D. Eisenhower

5 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday July 3, 2010

  1. Love the yellow summer dress – it looks so refreshing! We are going to be getting that heat like you have this week. Eeek!

    The thing with strength training, and any exercise really, is that you need to do what works for you. If you don’t enjoy it, then it becomes a chore and next thing you know, you are just sitting on the couch.

  2. Glad u got some help about the weight training…I know its very important as I have mentioned it in my blog before, but with summer and not wanting to go to the gym I am only doing cardio…but winter time will get back into weights again.
    When I personal train my mommy friend I do weights, squats, lunges, abs so am doing something 2x a week, but not enough for someone at my fitness level.

    Yesterday sure was hot, and YES I did my ironing with a HUGE struggle, but now its done…today is our hottest day of the year 38 degrees. WE going next door to support Germany in their match later, so holding thumbs Germany does as well as Holland did yesterday.
    I so badly wanted Ghana to win last night, they were the better team to me…but what I do know about soccer…LOL, its a joke.

    Today Cape Town is supporting Germany….its wonderful to see.

    Nice summer outfits there my friend…love seeing what combinations you coming up with every day.

    Enjoy today…

  3. Yay for the Netherlands! I watched the game yesterday too…but much earlier than you of course. There was a big crowd of Dutch people in the bar and they were EXCITED!!! I really loved that goal off the head!!!

    You have such pretty clothes! I love to see what people wear.

    Great job on the runs!!! I hate when I forget water!

    I read the book Marley and Me and I cried too. Bella stealing your bra…LOL!!! Funny doggy!

  4. Marley and Me – I loved the book and cried through the end, and then the movie killed me…I went with my younger son and we both cried and cried, and barely made it out to the car before we were sobbing…our dog Jackie had recently died and that movie just wrecked us. Glad you made it through – it’s definitely pulls on your heartstrings!

    Now, onto happier things…your clothes! I love the red skirt! You look so good in skirts – makes me want to try something beyond my black skirt. And the shoes are sexy! Your legs look great in them!!!

    Hope it’s been cooler for you – heat is tough when you’re not used to dealing with it.

  5. Boy, I sure hope it cools down before we get back to Belgium tonight – this heat is beastly. Congratulations on the Dutch team making it to the half finals!!! I can just imagine the Oranje craziness going on right now! We will be cheering for you on Tuesday – everyone is saying it’s going to be a Germany-Netherlands final.

Leave a Reply

