A day in my life: Monday July 5, 2010

Thoughts:
Yesterday morning I took a nice walk with Bella. It wasn’t too hot so we both enjoyed the walk. In the afternoon I went to see R. who had a motor race. On these days he leaves around 6 am and gets home around 8 pm so I never go with him the whole day. This was about a 45 minute drive so I went to see him race. Here’s a pic of him.

I rescheduled my run of this morning and will do it tomorrow. Instead I decided to clean my house as today is the “coolest” day of this week. Better getting it done so I can have the rest of the week to myself now that I’m finished with that.

Tonight we’re going to the movies. We’re going to see Eclipse and as you know I’m a big Twilight Saga fan so I can’t wait to see the movie.

Bella´s got a new toy: a little ball. But she’s always so ” smart” to get the ball under the cupboard where she can’t reach it. Here she is looking at her ball

Fran’s Summer Challenge:
The challenge is for 12 weeks. Start Monday June 7th and ends on Sunday August 29th.
I’ll update my challenge every week on Sunday or Monday.

Goals (week 4):

  1. Lose some weight every week.
    Week 4:. gain of 0.6 kg (1.3 lbs)
    0 out of 12 weeks

  2. Exercise at least 60 out of 84 days.
    15 out of 60 days.

    Week 4:
    Monday: 30 minute run. Tuesday: 43 minutes strength training. Wednesday: interval training on treadmill. Thursday: 20 minute run. Saturday 7K run. Sunday 42 minute walk with Bella.

  3. Do something active every day (this can be working out, running, housekeeping, walking with Bella, going for a ride on my bike and so on) for at least 30 minutes.
    23 out of 84 days.

    Week 4: Monday running and housekeeping. Tuesday strength training and housekeeping. Wednesday running and housekeeping. Thursday running. Friday none (too hot). Saturday 7K run. Sunday long walk with Bella.

  4. Run at least two times while we’re on vacation.
    Result:done!

  5. Follow the half marathon plan and don’t skip any runs.
    2 out of 12 weeks.
    Week 4: week 2, all trainings done!

  1. Eat more fruit and vegetables.
    Week 4:. Can do better on this one. Always eat not enough fruits when I’m having a vacation.

  2. Try a new recipe at least once a week.
    2 out of 12 weeks
    Week 4: No, will catch up on this one by making two a week  in the upcoming weeks.

  3. Take Bella to the beach for the first time in her life.
  4. See “Eclipse” (Twilight Saga).
  5. Read at least 6 books before August 29th.
    1. Tess Gerritsen – Life support

    2. Stephenie Meyer – The short second life of Bree Tanner.
    3. Stieg Larsson – The girl with the dragon tattoo

    4. Karin Slaughter – Broken

Exercise:
Sunday morning I took a walk with Bella. We walked 3.2K in 42 minutes. I’m adding this long walks on Sunday to my workouts of the year but not to my running mileage because after all it’s walking and not running. It was a nice morning for a walk, sun was shining, starting to get hot so we walked mostly in the shades.

Fran’s daily outfit:
Sunday white Capri pants with a black/white top on it.

Today a skirt in black/grey/white with a black top on it.

As we’re going out tonight I will wear my black peep toe pumps with this.

Book review:
The girl with the dragon tattoo – Stieg Larsson

Harriet Vanger, a scion of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families disappeared without a trace more than forty years ago. All these years later, her aged uncle continues to try to discover what happened to her. He hires Mikael Blomkvist, a journalist recently sidelined by a libel conviction, to investigate. Blomkvist is aided by the pierced and tattooed computer prodigy Lisbeth Salander. Together they tap into a vein of unfathomable iniquity and astonishing corruption on their way to discovering the truth of Harriet Vanger’s fate.

This book is the first of three, also called the Milennium Trilogy. They are all three on the bestsellers list in Holland for months now and I’ve heard many people talking about how good these books are. Stieg Larsson is a Swedisch writer who died before these books were published, he never knew how successful they are. The first 50 pages (of 560) were a bit hard to get through but necessary for the story that follows but after that it was thrilling till the last page, a real pageturner. I already have the other two books but will read a different book first. But I’m looking forward to reading the other 2.

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday I was home late and didn’t feel like cooking so I made a bagel with low fat cream cheese and avocado.

Quote of the day:
You are the only one who has ever touched my heart. It will always be yours.
Edward Cullen, Eclipse

13 responses to “A day in my life: Monday July 5, 2010

  1. Hello there
    Am quickly reading your update before I get ready to head out with my neighbor for a run….my 2nd one for the day…LOL

    Looks like you and Bella had a great walk and am sure R was happy you made the effort to watch him race.

    Seeing your photo of you wearing the skirt reminds me that I must find mine in the cupboard somewhere. I’m into dresses at the moment, they the coolest in this weather…My friend Steffi is making me 3 more dresses, I wish she would hurry up now as I am afraid by the time I get them it will be autumn. Will have to wear in November and December in Cape Town later as it will be summer there.

    That bagel looks great…I had an avo roll yesterday as well!!!

  2. Bella’s so silly ;0) My dog Simba has a ratty old money that use to be the kids toys when they were babies, he loves that darn monkey, and will throw it up in the air with his mouth and then it will land under the couch and Simba will just lay there until someone retrieves it for him ;-).

    You look great in your clothes Fran. and that bagel looks so good, maybe I’ll give avacodo another shot! LOL!

  3. Hi Fran,
    pleased to meet a Dutch runner and thanks for visiting my eclectic running blog.
    Although I’ve never been in Netherlands Iìm sure that it is beautiful. In 1994 I worked with same Dutch people in Romania: very friendly atmosphere and Dutch people speak English very well!
    I hope that this time the Netherlands soccer team will win the Fifa world cup. The final macth will be Netherlands vs Germany … and this time
    Netherlands will win 🙂
    Regards

  4. Bella looking for her toy – so cute, and yes – smart! I love your white capris and have been thinking about getting myself a pair – I swear I haven’t owned a pair of white pants since I was in high school – that old saying about how white makes you look bigger really stuck with me all these years…but you know what? It doesn’t. In fact, you look really crisp and fresh in them – perfect for summer!

    And here is your weekly Bondi Band reminder, lol!

  5. Thank you for that book review – I have been waiting for this book at the library and glad to see you liked it!

  6. Funny Bella!

    Glad you are having a wonderful time…walking Bella, getting the housework done…that means more fun time for you.

    R looks cool on the bike!

  7. Those peep toe shoes are sexy! 😉

  8. I loved the book review. Everyone here is talking about that book! I love the black and white skirt with the pumps, very summery.
    You have so many wonderful goals, you’re going to accomplish them all! Keep working at it!
    Hugs!

  9. That bagel looks yummy! I heard that Eclipse was the best one so far! I hope that you have a wonderful week! You just inspired me to do a fashion show of what I am going to wear on vacation and post on my blog 🙂

  10. onelittletrigirl

    You have great shoe taste!!!! And we have the same camera!

  11. What a great summer challenge! I’m excited to see you finish it!

  12. Hi Fran,
    I am going to have to wait for at least a week to see the movie Eclipse! Darn it! You will have to let me know what you think of it:) I read the entire series of books too! Mmmm, I love avocados:) Enjoy your week!

  13. I had heard of that book through other internet sites but hadn’t seen a review! You look great and I love those shoes!

Leave a Reply

