A day in my life: Thursday July 15, 2010

Thoughts:
It’s time to change something. The past 6 weeks (3 of those were vacation) I didn’t lose any weight. In fact I gained a little every week. Looking at it on a weekly base it’s just a small gain but 6 weeks in total shows a gain of 1.9 kg / 4 lbs. This is way too much. I need to focus again on healthy eating and making smart choices. It’s not that I’ve been eating all the time, it’s a small bite here and a small bite there. I want to see a weight loss on my scale next Thursday to break this chain of gaining. Something to work on coming week.

Let’s talk a bit more about running shall we?
I need your opinion on two things.

I’m thinking about buying another pair of running shoes. I’ve done some research on the internet and I’ve read that it’s a good idea to have two pairs. If you run in the rain for example your shoes have more time to dry while you use your other shoes on your next run. It seems to be better for your feet to switch between shoes and your shoes will last longer if you switch them up.

What’s your opinion on this, how many pairs of running shoes do you use?

The other thing concerns interval training. As you may know I do my interval training on the treadmill in the gym as I can control my speed on the treadmill. When I was at the running store to buy my shoes the sales man told me that it was better to do my intervals outside because you have to deal with the weather too which makes you stronger. It suits me better to do it outside because I can do this before work, now I have to go to the gym after work when my legs are more tired after a day of work.

What do you think, do you do your intervals outside or inside on the treadmill?

Exercise:
Yesterday I had planned to do my interval outside instead of the gym on the treadmill. I used Garmin trainingcentre to make the workout and uploaded it to my Garmin. When I wanted to start it yesterday morning it didn’t give me my pace which I need to see if I run fast enough. I couldn’t get it to work and when something doesn’t work like a Garmin or an Ipod I get pissed which I did. I was so pissed that I went home and did nothing. Next time I’ll use the old fashioned way: write the intervals on my hand with a pen 🙂

This morning: new day, new chances so I got up again at 5.15 am to do my short run of the week. Weather was perfect: cloudy, dry, a bit of wind and not too cold. Didn’t look at my pace just ran. It was a great run in a for me fast time.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, hardly any wind, ± 16C / 60 degrees.
Distance: 3 K / 1.8 miles
Time: 00:20:15
Average time: 6:45 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour

Fran’s daily outfit:
Today I wore my new flat shoes to work and I felt like a midget. I’m so used to wearing heels that it felt strange to wear such flat shoes. In fact my legs were more tired when I got home than when I wear my heels.

Wednesday

Shoes Wednesday

Thursday

Shoes Thursday

What’s for dinner:

Wednesday: piece of meat, baked potatoes, grilled vegetables

Thursday: pasta with meat/tomatosauce

14 responses to “A day in my life: Thursday July 15, 2010

  1. One thing that has helped me in taking off the weight is to watch how many carbs I eat. I also measured my servings so I would be eating the right amount. I put on 3 pounds while my daughter was visiting for a week, I know it was the bread and the beer.
    Right now I have three pairs of running shoes and am getting ready to get another pair.

  2. I think intervals are a good idea. Inside or outside. I love intervals. I get a great work-out and I’m never bored. Work-it girl. Those 4 pounds will be gone before you know it!!

  3. I only am using 1 pair of running shoes right now. I’d love to alternate, but it’s not feasible for me to have 2 pairs at a time right now.

    I too think outdoor running is better and makes you stronger & faster. That said, I’ve been on the treadmill mostly for the last while do to a few tummy issues and also as I have run late at night alot and it’s not safe to do that on my streets in the dark because of traffic and no lights.

    When I do intervals outdoors I usually pick landmarks and run faster in one section, slower in the next. It might not be exact, but the idea is there. I usually run faster outdoors than on a treadmill so I’m not too worried on time, just that I’m running fast and hard during the interval section. I haven’t tried using my Garmin yet for that, but I should.

  4. I am not a runner, but even walking or cycling on the stationary bike I like to do intervals. I think you should mix it up, sometimes outside, sometimes inside.

    I also think it is a great idea to have to pairs of running shoes. It makes sense.

    Good luck with a loss!!!

  5. Okay, I just have to say that your description of “a piece of meat” on dinner just cracked me up for some reason 😀

    I have one pair of running shoes. I am very hard on all of my shoes, so I have one dedicated pair for running. When that pair gets more worn out, they become my other workout shoes (lifting, walking, etc).

    I do both indoor and outdoor intervals. The only real advantage to doing them on a treadmill is that you can get an exact pace and time for them, but I don’t know as it makes much difference in the overall scheme of things.

  6. Right now I’m on my first pair of running shoes, but I’m hoping to get another pair next week, which will be nice to have, as I avoid running when it’s raining, or just rained, because of the drying time with my shoes. I hear some runners even have lighter weight shoes that they only use for racing, but I can’t imagine that…yet. 😉

    As for intervals, I don’t really do them yet, but I like doing stuff outdoors – even though it’s hot as blazes. I’m really no help here.

    Good luck with buckling down on your diet – sometimes you just know that it’s time to get a little more serious about eating.

  7. I have two pairs of running shoes ~ one for the road and one for the forest (trail running shoes)
    I find that works for me.

    When I train with the group of ladies I make them do intervals…..but easy ones as trying to get them to a stage where they can run….they walk and then run, then walk then run…I use lamp posts, trees etc for indications.
    Alone I dont do intervals.

  8. I only own one pair of running shoes. To me though it would make sense to have 2. I think it would be better on your feet.

    As for interval training I think that is something I need to do both places.

    Love the shoes in the first pic. To cute.

  9. I own two pairs of Asics Gel Nimbus and I love being able to switch them out. They wear out a lot slower, too. And I have heard it also gives the foam cushion time to bounce back so the shoes stay supportive longer… I think the rain argument is a good reason to have two pairs, especially if you live in a place where it does tend to rain a lot (like both of us do)!

    I have never done an interval training outside (don’t have a Garmin YET) but I have heard the same thing about running outside vs running on a treadmill so I can imagine that is true.

    And good for you for getting up so early and getting your run in! I was sitting here debating about going for a run, and you have inspired me to do it – I am going to go put my things on and go do one last neighborhood run before we leave tomorrow!

  10. I use 2 pairs of running shoes in the winter, so that I have one on, and one drying. However, I tend to stick with one pair during the Summer. My shoes are by Karhu, a Finnish running company (actually owned by Swedes), and they are probably my most prized running possession!

    I still do my intervals on the treadmill. I find it quite hard to get outside for this, I do not know why. Possibly because I can control the speed more indoors and actually try and crank it up.

    I am with you on flats…..they make me look like dwarf, so I kinda avoid them….though I do own 1 pair! Mooi loop!

  11. I have two pairs of shoes. The newer pair are always my running shoes (except in bad weather) and the older pair is the cross training, lounge around in, bad weather shoes.

    I used to do my intervals on a treadmill too but I have to say, I’ll never go back. I really like track workouts for intervals. I really do think the help!

  12. I mostly have one pair of running shoes. That is because I have inserts and it is a pain to change them back and forth. I do intervals on the treadmill so I know the speed.

  13. Hi Fran,
    I have one pair of shoes for the road and a pair of trail shoes for rocks and technical terrain. I rarely wear the trail shoes, they are kind of clunky!
    I think it’s good to do the intervals outside, as well as inside on the treadmill. Since I don ‘t have access or a need to run on the treadmill, I do intervals outside and we do switch up the locations; all flat, little hills here and there, because it’s definitely necessary to strengthen up your joints and tendons by running on varied surfaces and inclines. I don’t think this can always happen on the treadmill. This, by the way, isn’t for just getting faster, it’s for strengthening and keeping yourself injury free! This is my goal, now that I’m doing more and getting older!!
    Have fun, that’s the main thing and hang in there with the weight thing. I think we all have cycles with that, especially when we’re exercising and actually feeling hungry a lot of the time!!
    Cute pink/orange top! I love it.
    You’ll die…I just bought RED jeans. I don’t know why I did it but now I have to find something to match!
    Happy Friday,
    meg

  14. I think that the best way to lose weight is the cross training (if you follow your normal diet).
    Running shoes: I wear 3 pairs: one for the races and 2 for the workouts (but they start their “life” with one month of difference.
    Interval training: both the options are good. On the treadmill you use different muscles of the leg. Outside you run in different situations: weather, downhill, flat ecc.
    Your shoes: I like the wednesday ones (the other are beautiful too).
    Food: The wednesday is my favorite dish.

Leave a Reply

