A day in my life: Saturday July 17, 2010

Thoughts:
Thanks for the advice on the running shoes and interval training.

I’ve bought a new pair of running shoes. They are Brooks and the same as my old running shoes. I tried them on when I bought the other pair and they too felt great on my feet. Only the store had them in red/white which I didn’t want. Searching the internet I found out that they were available in blue/white too so I bought them online as I already tried them on. And they were 10% cheaper than when I bought them in the store.

As for the interval I’m going to do that outside and see if I like it. The advantage is that I can do that in the morning before work. The treadmill is in the gym which opens at 8 am when I’m usually already at work.

All my runs this week have been in the morning before work. I get up at 5.15 am and am outside at 5.30 am. I love it, you start your day refreshed and I have more energy during the day. When I come home I have all the time for Bella that she needs now that she’s growing. She needs longer walks now.

The only thing is that I’m still trying to find balance in my bedtime. I’m used getting to sleep between 11 and 11.30 pm but that leaves about 6 hours sleep. I need at least 6.5 to 7 hours sleep a night. But on the other hand I don’t want to be in bed by 10.15 pm, my evening is too short then. So I need to find out what works for me.

What do you do when you have planned an early morning run? Do you go to bed very early or normal time?

As for the eating, I’m starting on that after the weekend. No diet, no counting calories, nothing like that. Just eat healthy and think about what I eat and exercise of course. No diet anymore for me, I’m totally done with that.

Exercise:
This morning it was time for my long run. I had to run 7K according to my schedule. When I first started I didn’t really feel like running but made a deal with myself I had to run at least 5K. During the run it got better and I ended up doing 7K without walking. My new shoes make such a difference, now I realized I really had to replace the old ones.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, a little bit of wind, ± 18C / 64 degrees.
Distance: 7 K / 4.3 miles
Time: 00:49:15
Average time: 7:02 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour

Fran’s daily outfit:

Friday

Friday's shoes

Saturday

Saturday = flip flop day

6 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday July 17, 2010

  1. Friday’s shoes are wild! LOL! I can’t wear heels (not coordinated enough).

    I have that same sleep issue. I like to go to bed at the same time, but am unable to sleep in – even when I don’t have to get up.

  2. LOVE those wild pumps! And I knew you would love my Friday shoes…so you!

    I think those green pants look a little loose on you – maybe you need a smaller size? Pretty summery outfit, nonetheless! And I adore the black and white top for Saturday – plus see how much thinner you look in those capris? Yeah, I think the green pants are too big.

    So good going on running the entire 7K! I have to bargain with myself on those longer runs all the time – nice that you kept going! I wonder if your new Brooks are the same as mine – picture please! They are comfy – glad you got another pair.

    As for running early, I go to bed the same time – I don’t sleep all that well anyway. Sometimes I wish I could take a nap during the day but I never do.

  3. I love the Friday shoes. I don’t wear heels anymore, but they are still lovely to look at.

    I never exercise in the morning. It is always the afternoon or evening. I usually go to bed at 11, but have been trying to go at 10 instead. I usually get up between 6:30 and 7.

    Yay to healthy eating!

    Great deal on the shoes!

  4. Hey Fran thanks for visiting my blog. I am so glad to have found a Dutch blogger 🙂 (actually you found me) – and I *love* your header, my favourite flowers!

    What a great idea to post your daily outfit. Wouldn’t it be fun to look back in 20 years to see what you were wearing now!

    Have added your blog to my feed reader! So I’ll visit again soon!

  5. My daughter thought your green shoes were fabulous! I did too! I am an early morning exerciser.

  6. I work out at 5:30 several times per week. And I struggle with not getting enough sleep because I just can’t get to sleep early enough (especially now when it’s so hot)…

    I LOVE your green shoes!

Leave a Reply

