A day in my life: Monday July 19, 2010

Thoughts:
Hope you all had a great weekend. I know I did. Didn’t have any appointments so stayed at home and relaxed and relaxed. Did I mention I relaxed? Also I did a lot of thinking and searching the internet. I’ve been thinking a lot about two things.

First strength training. I’m going to bring that back in my workout plan as I know the importance of it. But as working out has to be fun to stay motivated I’ll start with small steps. When I’m at the gym I will do a few upper body strength exercises, abs work and the rest of the time I’m spending there cardio.

I’m also thinking of doing the 100 push ups challenge again and the 200 sit ups challenge but I haven’t decided on that yet.

I also thought about my long runs. Ever since I started running last year I struggle with my long runs (starting at 8K / 5 miles). During the week I dread the day I have to do my long run. It’s sort of a mental block in my head. Somehow I have the feeling I can’t do it. If I want to run a half marathon next year I have to overcome this mental block. A few weeks ago I bought a book by Jeff Galloway: Half marathon you can do it. This is where I read about the run-walk-run method.

In my mind you’re only a runner if you can run your long distances without stopping or walking but that’s not true at all. It’s okay to walk during a long run. The clue according to Galloway is to start walking before you get tired and you will finish your run without being exhausted and even got some more in you to speed up towards the finish. It is proven that you won’t lose much time on your overall time, in fact some people even finished faster because they weren’t that tired at the end.

I like this because it’s easier for me to see a 10K as 10 times 1K than 1 time 10K, I get freaked out.
So next weekend I have an 8K planned and I’m going to see if this method works for me. After every K I will walk 1 minute. You can play with the run-walk-run method how you want to. You could also run 4 minutes and then walk 1 minute, or run a mile before you walk. If this works well for me I’m sure I will run that half marathon next year even if I have walk breaks in it.

The runs on my weekdays will be without walk breaks, I’m only going to use it for my long runs. Time isn’t that important anymore, finishing is.

Have you heard about the run-walk-run method by Galloway or even tried it? What’s your opinion/experience with it.

Fran’s Summer Challenge:
The challenge is for 12 weeks. Start Monday June 7th and ends on Sunday August 29th.
I’ll update my challenge every week on Sunday or Monday.

Goals (week 6):

  1. Lose some weight every week.
    Week 6:. gained 0.2 kg / 0.4 lbs.
    0 out of 12 weeks

  2. Exercise at least 60 out of 84 days.
    21 out of 60 days.
    Week 6:Tuesday 4.4K run, Thursday 3K run. Saturday 7K run.

  3. Do something active every day (this can be working out, running, housekeeping, walking with Bella, going for a ride on my bike and so on) for at least 30 minutes.
    34 out of 84 days.

    Week 6:Tuesday 4.4K run, Wednesday housekeeping, Thursday 3K run. Saturday 7K run. Sunday long walk with Bella.

  4. Run at least two times while we’re on vacation.
    Result:done!

  5. Follow the half marathon plan and don’t skip any runs.
    4 out of 12 weeks
    Week 6: week 4, training 1, 3 and 4 done.

  6. Eat more fruit and vegetables.
    Week 6: could have eaten more fruits over the weekend but overall a good week.

  7. Try a new recipe at least once a week.
    6 out of 12 weeks
    Week 6: 2 (pasta with meat/tomatosauce and a sandwich with salami/chees/tomato/rocket salad)

  8. Take Bella to the beach for the first time in her life.
    We did that on July 7th.

  9. See “Eclipse” (Twilight Saga).
    Went to the movies Monday July 5th.

  10. Read at least 6 books before August 29th.
    1. Tess Gerritsen – Life support

    2. Stephenie Meyer – The short second life of Bree Tanner.
    3. Stieg Larsson – The girl with the dragon tattoo
    4. Karin Slaughter – Broken
    5. Stieg Larsson – The girl who played with fire.
    6. Stieg Larsson – The girl who kicked the hornets nest

Exercise:
What better way to start a new week with an early morning run. Went out for my 30 minute run at 5.30 am and it was a great run. Legs felt good, breathing was good, weather was good, it all went very smoothly.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, a little bit of wind, ± 14C / 57 degrees.
Distance: 4.5 K / 2.8 miles
Time: 00:30:07
Average time: 6:42 /km
Average speed: 9 km/hour

Fran’s daily outfit:

Monday

Shoes Monday

What’s for dinner:
Saturday I made a sandwich with rucola, cheese, salami and tomatoes. It tasted very well.
Yesterday vegetable some with some bread and I made a delicious dessert. It’s called: coupe red-white-blue (as our National flag). At the bottom some blueberries. In the middle soft curd cheese mixed with whipped cream with some sugar. At the top raspberries that I’ve cooked for a few minutes in some orange juice with a bit of sugar.

Saturday's sandwich before

and after

Sunday: vegetable soup

Sunday's dessert

Book review:
The girl who played with fire – Stieg Larsson

Lisbeth Salander is a wanted woman. Two Millennium journalists about to expose the truth about the sex trade in Sweden are brutally murdered, and Salander’s prints are on the weapon. Her history of unpredictable and vengeful behaviour makes her an official danger to society – but no-one can find her anywhere. Meanwhile, Mikael Blomkvist, editor-in-chief of Millennium, will not believe what he hears on the news. Knowing Salander to be fierce when fearful, he is desperate to get to her before she is cornered and alone. As he fits the pieces of the puzzle together, he comes up against some hardened criminals, including the chainsaw-wielding ‘blond giant’ – a fearsomely huge thug who can feel no pain. Digging deeper, Blomkvist also unearths some heart-wrenching facts about Salander’s past life. Committed to psychiatric care aged 12, declared legally incompetent at 18, this is a messed-up young woman who is the product of an unjust and corrupt system. Yet Lisbeth is more avenging angel than helpless victim – descending on those that have hurt her with a righteous anger terrifying in its intensity and truly wonderful in its outcome.

The second book of the Millennium triology and it was as exciting and intense as the first book.

What I especially liked is how Lisbeth and Mikael see things through different eyes. For example, Lisbeth bought an apartment in this book, described through her eyes it’s an apartment with no special things, just two bedrooms. Later in the book Mikael finds out where she lives and when he sees the apartment he is overwhelmed how big it is. It has a fitness room, a sauna, more than 2 bedrooms, a very modern kitchen and so on. As I can’t wait to see how this finish I’ve started reading the third book immediately after I finished this one. I can really recommend these books for you to read.

16 responses to “A day in my life: Monday July 19, 2010

  1. I’ve never had that mind set that you are only a runner if you run from beginning to end as I have chatted to many marathon runners who mentioned its okay to walk if your need to…
    I started my running doing running 4mins walking 1…but now I prefer to walk the first 10 mins ( like a warm up in an aerobic class ) then slowly I start to run at a slow pace, after 30 mins I feel strong and can go further.
    You will find what is good for you…and then get comfortable…good luck.
    Strength training is so important..

  2. Wow, Saturday’s sandwich looks fantastic! And the dessert – YUM. Could be for the U.S., too, as our colors are red, white and blue! 🙂

    I’ve read that Galloway book and lately, Jenny and I have been running one mile, walking for 30 seconds (your Edward can be set to do that – Ricky Bobby has been wonderful, letting us know when to walk and when to run) on our five mile runs. I agree, it’s hard to wrap your mind around running such a long distance! And I am in the same mindset as you – you “have” to keep running the entire time for it to count. But the little breaks are helping us, and what’s important now is getting in the distance, as we are training for a half. I think as long as it works for you, then do it. We are training like Galloway but hope to run the entire half. Of course, this is July, and the half isn’t until November, so who knows…we may change our minds!

  3. I swear I have those exact same glasses that you have your dessert in. And I want to eat my screen looking at that sandwich. YUM! I ♥ salami!!

    I’m not a huge fan of the Galloway method for the stage that I am at. However, I do think it’s a wonderful method for starting running and possibly for running longer distances or getting over plateaus in distance (such as you are doing). Just, for me, I don’t want to be running that way for my whole life. I don’t feel that if you have to walk that you are not a runner … but for myself, I feel more accomplished when I am able to run the whole thing. For me it’s a sort of pride thing, but that’s just personal, I’d never think less of someone else who walked, I’m just hard of myself that way.

  4. Ugh. Strength training. So good for you but so not fun… Good for you for taking it on!!!

    Looks like you have great goals!!!

  5. Yum on that dessert! It is perfect for summertime.

    Try a bunch of different strength training moves. While you may not like the general concept of ST, there may be some exercises that you like more than others or that seem more fun. Then you can build your program around those!

  6. Hey Fran – I’m having similar mental issues with longer runs. I will check out that Galloway book. Did you get it on amazon? in a book shop? bol.com?

    Love your Monday skirt!!

    I keep wanting to do the 100 pushups and 200 situps but I keep “forgetting”. Why don’t we just do it?

  7. onelittletrigirl

    relaxation sounds wonderful 🙂

    PS- if you run, you are a runner. This whole “walking doesn’t count” stuff that people say, is bogus. Everyone is entitled to their own thoughts but really, runners run. And if they walk sometimes, thats okay too!

  8. I started out running with the run/walk method. It is how I did my first marathon. I still walk through water stops- longer than I needed to drink the other day – I needed the break. Good luck with this!

  9. Fran, I think I may have worded things a little wrong yesterday. And I’m sorry I gave you doubt. What I was trying to say is that I DO think it’s a good idea for you to try this method. I think it will be very useful for helping you get through the longer runs.

    The issue I have with it, is I think that it’s a great method for getting to the next level (whether that be beginner runners or starting to run longer distances) …. I just don’t think it’s something I’d want to continue doing for life. I know some people who follow this idea, typically doing a 10:1 ratio, and they just don’t seem to improve. After years of doing this they don’t improve their pace, and they quite simply can not run longer than 10 minutes without needing a break.

    I’m no expert, but when I learned to run I did start off doing run/walk intervals. But I slowly increased the running time as I progressed until I was comfortable running longer distances straight through. As I got to even longer distances I would run about 30 minutes (which I was very comfortable doing) then doing run/walk intervals.

    Of course, we all have different goals and struggles as well, so a particular method isn’t going to suit everybody. This method apparently does work well for many, many people – so there must be something there. I just don’t see it, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try it. I do think you should try it. See how it goes. Maybe it’s just the key you are looking for and it will be a good fit for you. I don’t see any loss in trying it, that’s for sure!

  10. Hi Fran!
    As I was reading your long run challenges, two things came to mind:
    (1) running with others
    (2) trying the Galloway method

    So when I read on and you mentioned Galloway, I was thrilled. That’s the group program I joined in early June. It’s fantastic and makes running longer distances much more do-able. I’m looking forward to hearing how you like it. I think once we get past the notion that we MUST run every single step we can make real progress AND have fewer injuries. 🙂 Have you checked out Jeff’s website yet? I reference it a lot. jeffgalloway.com I’m betting you have!

    HUGS from Orlando!

  11. Hi Fran,
    I have missed reading my Dutch friend’s blog:) First of all…I love your outfit and shoes! Second, your dinner looks so flipping good:) I love fresh blueberries and that dessert looks so light and refreshing! Thanks for the book review too! Enjoy your week Fran!

  12. I have definitely heard of the Galloway method, and I have a good friend of mine who is a three-time Ironman who uses it exclusively. He starts with a 8-9min run/1 min walk and then changes it as he needs to. I think it definitely works and no, it is NOT cheating. 🙂

    I definitely understand the mental aspect of the higher runs…another wa to think of it is that if you’re doing run/walk, estimate the # of times you’ll be walking so you have a “countdown” – IE 10 walking periods, then 9, 8, etc. It might help!

  13. I’ve heard of his method but haven’t done it myself. I am just impressed with the consistency with which you run. I love that dessert!

  14. I loved the dessert you had on Sunday, it looks so refreshing! Also, cute skirt with “my favorite” shoes, it’s kind of a dressier casual look. Nice!
    I really enjoyed reading your goals and what you’ve accomplished so far. It’s really interesting to see how you’ve already accomplished some goals and others are more challenging. I think the book reading would be so hard for me since I’ve been so busy lately but the exercising part would be something easier for me since I just love it so much. Some how, I make time for some things and NOT others. Guess I need to work on this!
    Re: walking/running, I think that what ever one chooses to keep their fitness moving forward and improving is excellent. Getting out there is the big battle, the rest is totally negotiable, right?
    Hugs!

  15. I read the first Stieg Larsson book and loved it. Would love to go see the movie.
    I make a waffle for breakfast that I call the “red,white and blue” I put sliced bananas, blueberries and rasberries or strawberries on top with a drizzle of real maple syrup.
    Have a good week.

  16. I’ve missed you Fran and glad to see things are going well for you! I have heard the Galloway method some, and I am a strong believer that we all have to find what works for us. You ARE definitely a runner, regardless and I’m super inspired by you 🙂

Leave a Reply

