A day in my life: Friday July 23, 2010

Thoughts:
Something has got to change! I didn’t weigh my self this week, didn’t feel like it because I knew/felt it wouldn’t be a great result. I need to exercise more and eat more healthy than I’m doing now.

As for the exercise, my half-marathon training is going great. I have to run 4 times a week and stick to my plan. I’m statisfied with this part of the exercise, everything is according the plan.

But I haven’t seen the inside of the gym in two weeks. Starting Monday I have to go to the gym twice a week for strength and cardio. Doing that I’m at 6 days of working out which is what I need if I want to lose weight.

The eating part. I still won’t go on a diet or count calories or go to the Weight Watchers. It didn’t even cross my mind this time, I’m done with that. What I’m going to do is follow a 4 week eating plan. It’s from a book that I have for about 2 years now and it’s written by a Dutch cook who had to lose some pounds once and that’s when he came up with this book. It’s not a diet but a weekly eating plan. I need to refocus on my portion sizes and my snacking in between meals and this will help me with that.

The book is divided in 4 parts, one for every season and every season has 4 weeks with an eating plan.

The plan is to do 4 weeks again in October and use the Autumn plan, 4 weeks in January for the Winter plan and 4 weeks in April for the Spring plan. The other weeks I will rely on myself that I’m going to make different choices than I do now.

I’m going to make a photo of every meal except the ones I eat at work. I don’t want to explain there why I’m taking a picture of my food.

I’m starting on Friday July 30th because I’ve already done my grocery shopping for this week and will go again next Thursday. I’m going to use 3 days of the Spring section and start with the Summer part on Monday.

Well I did catch that cold after all. I slept terrible last night and have been awake a lot so am kind of tired right now. I was glad I only had to work this morning because I took the afternoon off. First thing I did was take a nap but it didn’t help much. Will go to bed early tonight as I have scheduled my long run tomorrow and don’t want to skip that.

Last weekend Bella was in the garden and started to bark, she sounded upset so I went out to take a look. It was dark but I could see that she was barking at toad. Ugh! I hate toads and frogs. It slipped away in the dark. This afternoon Bella started to bark again and I looked what she was barking outside. I saw the bushes move and there it was again: the toad. Bella tried to catch it, she put her leg on it but it got away again and disappeared in a hole in the rocks we have in the garden. I did manage to take a pictury of the filthy thing. Next time I try to catch it or let R. catch it because these things can come into your house, happened to my best friend a few weeks ago.

Exercise:
Thursday morning I had to do my short run of this week: 20 minutes. I still had a cold so just started running and would see how it would go along the way. It went fine so had a good feeling afterwards.

Stats:
Weather: clear, a little bit of wind, ± 14C / 57 degrees.
Distance: 2.9 K / 1.8 miles
Time: 00:19:45
Average time: 6:49 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour

Fran’s daily outfit:

Thursday: day off so casual day

Friday

Shoes Friday

Movie review:
Revolutionary Road

It’s 1955. Frank and April Wheeler, in the seventh year of their marriage, have fallen into a life that appears to most as being perfect. They live in the Connecticut suburbs with two young children. Frank commutes to New York City where he works in an office job while April stays at home as a housewife. But they’re not happy. April has forgone her dream of becoming an actress, and Frank hates his job – one where he places little effort – although he has never figured out what his passion in life is. One day, April suggests that they move to Paris – a city where Frank visited during the war and loved, but where April has never been – as a means to rejuvenate their life. April’s plan: she would be the breadwinner, getting a lucrative secretarial job for one of the major international organizations, while Frank would have free time to find himself and whatever his passion. Initially skeptical, Frank ultimately agrees to April’s plan. When circumstances change around the Wheelers, April decides she will do whatever she has to to get herself out of her unhappy existence.

I hadn’t seen this movie yet and I found it a sad movie. Two people who are so unhappy with their life and each other. There was no way this was going to have a happy end and it didn’t. I found it a very good movie, Leonardo and Kate acted very well and I liked the fifties setting.

7 responses to “A day in my life: Friday July 23, 2010

  1. Happy Friday evening to you
    Am having my glass of wine while sitting online ~ hubby is as busy outdoors as ever in the garden.

    I noticed on DM that u have upped the running compared to last month, its great that you are back into the swing of things again.
    Love seeing your training on my BB when it comes up on Twitter.

    WW worked for me, I lost 20kg following that program so will always stick with that ~ but remember when I was searching for the correct program I started and stopped ~ I see myself in you at this time. You will find something that works for you…

    Nice outfits you had this week….xx

  2. We have 3 ponds on our property and with ponds comes many, MANY frogs & toads. We don’t often see them (and have never had one come willingly into the house – though 1 o 2 have been brought in) but we hear them all the time. For me it’s a lovely song. In the springtime we’ll have literally 100s of frogs chirping late in the evening. They usually “sing” around the time we go to bed and I find it very soothing. In early & late summer the bullfrog is out and his throaty call always makes me think of summer. I really enjoy them. 😉

  3. sounds like an interesting book. I look forward to seeing how that works for you. Sometimes it is just easier to have someone tell you what to eat for a little while. 😀

    I like toads and frogs, although not to pick up. I like to have them in my garden so they eat the bad insects.

  4. Wow Fran, you are doing great with your half marathon training! Glad you were able to get a run in, even with a cold. As for the gym – I can see why you haven’t been there in a while…you just haven’t been too enthused on doing the strength exercises, and you don’t need the treadmill right now since the weather has been good. It’s hard to get back into something once you lose the routine.

    Maybe that “seasonal” diet will be a good thing and kick start you back into losing weight. Sounds interesting and I like how you can plan your year out with it.

  5. Great job with the training! Hopefully, the little break from the gym will make your weight workouts more fun again…

    You have the best shoes!

    The movie sounds sad…

    Enjoy your weekend!

  6. I didn’t see that movie but I did read the book – and it was overwhelmingly sad, which made me not want to see the movie anymore, even though Kate Winslet is one of my favorite actresses.
    We just got back yesterday – and I am on the same spot you are as for the exercise and eating – I really need to get back into a good routine. I put on some weight with all the good wine and bread in France.
    I’m curious – what is name/author of the weight loss book you are going to use? Maybe I could find it at my library.

  7. I’ve never read that book but I’ll follow your eating plan on your blog. I hope you’ll reach your goal.
    Although you hate toads and frogs, they are useful in your garden: they always eat mosquitos 🙂 I love your eclectic posts, Fran.
    Enjoy your beautiful summer!

Leave a Reply

