A day in my life: Thursday July 29, 2010

The final countdown:

I’ve mentioned before in a post that something has got to change concerning my eating habits.
For that reason I’m adding a new chapter to my posts called “the final countdown”.
The plan is to follow an eating plan from Friday July 30th till the end of this year.
And I hope that I can close this year on December 31 at goal weight!

I’ve bought a notebook, it’s for writing down everything I eat when I don’t have access to the internet. I’ve registered to a free Dutch website where I can track calories. Yes, you’re right, I’m back at tracking. I know I’ve said I would never do that again but it’s all part of the plan and I have to try it one more time. Knowing myself and being honest: I have no idea if I can keep up the tracking but I’m going to give it a try.

I’m going to make a photo of everything I eat. Except lunches I eat at work because at work there are only 2 people who know I have a blog and I want to keep it that way and don’t want to explain why I take pictures. Same goes when I’m somewhere where there are people who don’t know about my blog. And I won’t  take pictures of my regular coffee, tea and water. The purpose of doing is this is holding myself accountable.

At the end of the post of the daily food intake I will mention the calories and the burned calories. I’m aiming for 1500 to 1700 calories a day.

This means my posts will be longer from now on but no worries: it’s mostly pictures so hopefully fun to watch.

Wish me luck, I could definitely use your support in this.

Exercise:
I skipped my interval run yesterday, instead I took a long walk with Bella of an hour and a half.

This morning I did my “recovery” run of the week, fast run, wore my new Brooks and felt great afterwards.
My new shoes are great. My old pair were Brooks too so I already “know” the shoe. I think they are a bit better for me than my Asics so I think I’m going to use the Brooks for the long runs.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, ± 16C / 60 degrees.
Distance: 3.2 K / 1.9 miles
Time: 00:20:39
Average time: 6:27 /km
Average speed: 9.3 km/hour

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday fish with carrots and pees with potatoe slices.

Today macaroni ham and cheese.

Fran’s daily outfit:

Wednesday

Thursday

Shoes Wednesday & Thursday

Book review:
The girl who kicked the Hornet’s nest – Stieg Larsson

The exhilarating conclusion to bestseller Larsson’s Millennium trilogy (after The Girl Who Played with Fire) finds Lisbeth Salander, the brilliant computer hacker who was shot in the head in the final pages of Fire, alive, though still the prime suspect in three murders in Stockholm. While she convalesces under armed guard, journalist Mikael Blomkvist works to unravel the decades-old coverup surrounding the man who shot Salander: her father, Alexander Zalachenko, a Soviet intelligence defector and longtime secret asset to Säpo, Sweden’s security police. Estranged throughout Fire, Blomkvist and Salander communicate primarily online, but their lack of physical interaction in no way diminishes the intensity of their unconventional relationship.

I finished the last book of this triology and I’m kind of sad because it’s over. No more books of Larsson. This was a good book too but not the best of the three, I like the other two more. Next month the movies will be aired on a movie channel we have a subscription at so I’m going to watch them. These are the Swedish movies. I’ve read that there will be a US remake of the movies too and heard this week that Daniel Craig (aka James Bond) will play Mikael Blomkvist. I can’t say it enough: these books are a must read.

9 responses to “A day in my life: Thursday July 29, 2010

  1. You have my support behind you! Nothing wrong with tracking your calories. Sometimes we tend to eat more than we think we are, and actually tracking for a while anyway can maybe help you see where you are.

    That mac and cheese looks so good!

  2. You definitely have my support…and I love looking at pictures of food!

  3. Both dinners look really good!

    Good luck with tracking your calories. There is nothing wrong with trying different things to figure out what works…

  4. Good luck, Fran! I think the tracking sounds like a great idea! Keep up with the activity and exercising too! It sounds like you’re covering all of your bases, you are going to get there! Nice goals, keep following them and working hard!

  5. Fran…..you going to hate me but I am going to help keep you on track….I am going to be the person who tells you what I really think and not what you want me to think…
    I am going to keep you counting when you want to give up and say that this is not for you..
    This is for you…this calorie counting is for everyone..its the way to go when one wants to lose weight…Points/calories they all the same thing in the end….you choice calories then so be it…but you will finish this challenge as when you want to give up you will know that I am giving out a large sigh and saying * oh please, not again..get on with it…just do it for once *
    Take a photo of your diary at the end of each day as well…this way you have to write everything down…..I know how easy it is to start and then not finish writing all you eat down in a day…in the beginning you will do well but then slowly this will get to you….You have to get to goal weigh.
    I see Ivone on my group, she started at 94kg and yesterday weighed in at 66kg’s ~ she is a new person…

    Now one thing I want to point out to you and correct me if I am wrong…
    You fry a lot of your foods…
    When I look at your photo’s I can see oil..
    Try cut back on that ~
    Remember cheese is very high in calories…
    You have to take a look at what you eating and change it to low calories but healthy
    Salads
    Veggies like sweet potatoes instead of those circle chips you love…
    I also love but have had to change to keep my weight off..

    Okay now getting myself ready for you to ATTACK me…LOL
    Am doing it with LOVE…
    LOVE!!!

  6. Fran, you definitely have my support – we are battling the same dragon! These last few kilos are so annoying! You can do it – when you know you can train for a race and follow through with it and complete the race then you know you have the capability to complete a goal. And think of how relieved you will feel when you achieve it! Just do it!

  7. Good luck. I need to get my eating under control too.

  8. So when are we starting???
    I will start counting calories with you as from Monday…and points but will do the calories with you…x

  9. I love that poster! I have all kinds of those around my bedroom and work office- I think I need to add this one!

Leave a Reply

