A day in my life: Saturday July 31, 2010

Thoughts:
July is almost over, can you believe how fast time flies by. Life is kind of boring right now, not much happening so not much to tell about. It’s vacation season here in Holland so social life is quiet.
But in August I’ve got some fun things to look forward too.

August is also the start of the second half of the race season for me, will get back to that tomorrow in my July recap of my workout goals and weight challenge.

This weekend is going to be a quiet one too. Already got my run in this morning, have to go to the farmer’s market to get some fruit for next week and tomorrow morning we’re going to my Mom for coffee. Besides that it’s relaxing time.

Have a great weekend!

Exercise:
This morning I had to do my long run of the week: 9K. I didn’t feel as great as last week. I had a walking break at 2.3 and 4.6K but at that point I was kind of tired so switched to 6 minutes running and 1 minute walking break and that helped me to make it.

Before I used the run-walk-run method I would shorten my run on days I didn’t feel great but not today. I wanted to do that 9K and I did. And even though I took some walking breaks I was one minute faster than the last time I ran a 9K so I’m happy with myself. This method really seems to work for me.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy with some rain along the way, ± 16C / 60 degrees.
Distance: 9 K / 5.6 miles
Time: 01:03:45
Average time: 7:05 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour

The final countdown:

Friday
Breakfast: two whole wheat crackers with jam, low-fat vanilla soft curd cheese, an orange and Earl Grey tea.

Morning snack: a “Fruitkick” it’s a bar of grains and dried fruit.

Lunch: a sandwich with tuna in a bit of light mayonnaise with cucumber. At work I bought a small salad with a little bit of tuna, green olives, walnuts, a little thousand islands dressing and I’ve bought a juice (tropical fruit flavour).

Afternoon snack: an apple which I had to share with Bella 🙂

Dinner: minced steak, couscous, stir-fried Italian vegetables.

Calories: 1640 (goal 1500-1700).

Calories burned: None, that is I did walk Bella 4 times and cleaned the inside of my car but I only count the calories burned by working out. Everything else I consider normal daily exercise.

Notes: Haven’t been hungry and the food tasted very good. Have to be careful though with the toppings on my salad as olives, walnuts etc. because those calories can add up if I ain’t careful.

Fran’s daily outfit:
Sometimes Im really stupid. I’ve bought this mirror which is a bit too small to take good photo’s of my outfits. This morning I looked at my closet in the bedroom which has 3 sliding doors, 1 is a big mirror, and the light went on in my head: eureka!  I can slide that mirror door to the right and I can take a photo that way (if I don’t slide it the bed is in the way). Why didn’t I think of that earlier? Friday’s photo is a bit out of focus, still not used to making photos this way, need more practice.

365 days photo challenge (day 3):

Day 3 – Monday July 26
My office where I work 4 to 5 days a week.

Day 4 – Tuesday July 27
I ran into this “mommy” cow with her calf when I was walking with Bella.

Day 5 – Wednesday July 28
At the market in my village I saw this two “Indians”. One of them was playing a flute and it was beautiful music. The sold all kinds of Indian stuff.

Day 6 – Thursday July 29
Weekly grocery shopping

Day 7 – Friday July 30
It speaks for itself that in my photo challenge there will be a photo of Bella, probably once a week.

9 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday July 31, 2010

  1. Good job on finishing your 9K! I’m glad you found a method that works to help you get your distance in. it is demoralizing if you have to stop early – you start thinking you can’t do it. I have 6K tomorrow – that should be do-able!

  2. Great post!!!

    Good time on that 9km…did send u message on twitter this morning as well when it showed up there.
    I have to walk up the hills here, have run them a few times but the get too much if I go run daily.

    Great choices of foods…love the look of your dinner….

    Glad to see your 365 here today, i did mine as well…
    Your office is so so tidy…and nice space with balcony leading off it…lucky u.
    Love the cow and baby calf pic…great capture
    I love markets, ours are not as interesting as your are..CT has good markets as well…
    Nice to see where u do your grocery shopping, is it big inside as looks small?
    Of course I want to see Bella so happy that she is in your weekly challenge pics.

    Enjoy your weekend.

  3. You are too funny with the mirror thing…don’t feel bad – I’ve done things like that, too. But I am glad you realized it – love seeing more of you and your outfits!

    Are you wanting suggestions on your food? I can’t remember.

    I am so intrigued that you are running with such good times doing the run/walk/run method! I’ve read great things about that program and have been debating doing it for my longer runs. You are certainly showing that it works – plus you are getting in some good running and seem to be feeling very optimistic about it, which is wonderful!

    I love your 365 photos – neat glimpse into your life.

  4. Nice to have such a relaxing weekend.

    Great pics. Bella is so sweet looking.

  5. Good job on your run. I have used the run/walk method. The running class i took also had us do run/walk.
    Love your pictures !

  6. That is a nice office that you have. What is it that you do?

    Great job on the run! Sometimes it just takes a little bit of pushing to finish. Like lifting weights, right? 😉

  7. Yes, what do you do at your office?

  8. Great job on the run. I am starting to think that I am the only person that doesn’t do grocery shopping every week. I hate it and will wait till the last minute to do it. Probably why my weight won’t go down.lol The veggies in the last pic. look yummy!

  9. Hi Fran,
    My runs have not been feeling so hot lately too. I am not sure what the deal is but I am hopeful it is just a little slump.

    Dinner looks amazing as usual:) I love grilled veggies..Mmmm! Bella is so cute and she looks like such a happy dog!

Leave a Reply

