A day in my life: Wednesday August 4, 2010

Thoughts:
Today I had a dinner date with my best friend K. who also works with me. Every year after we both had our vacation we have this date to catch up on everything that has happened when we were on vacation. K. picked the restaurant but you can leave that to her as she knows all the good spots in the town where she lives and I don’t.

The restaurant

The restaurant is situated at water:

View from the restaurant

We had a great dinner (see below) and talked and laughed and had a really good time.

K. and Fran

Tomorrow is my day off but I’m busy: go for a run, do some housekeeping, do my weekly grocery shopping, have an appointment with my hairdresser and have to go to the vet with Bella. Yesterday she was exactly 6 months and we have a check up on her if she’s growing enough, if all her teeth have changed and so on.

Exercise:
Yesterday was a walking day. I had a nice lunchwalk with my friend K. of half an hour and when I got home I had a walk with Bella for another half hour. This morning I was supposed to run but I was so tired last night and this morning that I decided to skip my run. I will go for a short run tomorrow morning.

The final countdown:

Monday

Breakfast: 3 whole wheat crackers with raw prepared minced beef, soy milk vanilla, orange juice.

Morning snack: cherries

Lunch: 2 slices of bread with chicken and cucumber. I’ve bought a salad and a glass of milk at work.

Afternoon snack: a nectarine.

Dinner: fillet of pork, potatoes, stir-fried Chinese cabbage with a tablespoon of soy sauce.

Evening: 1 small glass of red wine.

Calories: 1526 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
335
Notes: Good day!

Tuesday

Breakfast: 3 “beschuit” (I believe this is typical Dutch) with strawberries, orange juice and Earl grey tea.

Morning snack: nectarine.

Lunch: 3 whole wheat crackers with jam, salad I bought at work and tropical juice (ate my lunch behind my desk so could take a photo)

Afternoon snack: an apple.

Dinner: meatballs, rice with dried fruit, fruit salad.

Evening: 1 small glass of red wine.

Calories: 1553 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
140
Notes: Good day!

Wednesday:
Breakfast: 2 rice crackers with low fat cream cheese, a piece of kind of spiced gingerbread with a little bit of butter and a fruit salad.

Morning snack: a nectarine.

Lunch: bread with an omelet, vegetable soup, rucola salad and a glass of milk.

Afternoon snack: an apple.

Dinner: for starters marinated beef tenderloin, main course a tajine with lamb, pumpkin and chickpeas. No dessert but a latte macchiato. We started with a glass of Prosecco and some bread and had a Chardonnay at dinner. K. and I estimated that the dinner was about 700 calories but we’re not sure.

Bread for starters with 2 spreads

First course

Main course

"Dessert"

Evening snack: none, have had enough.

Calories: 1675 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
none.
Notes: Although they had delicious desserts like chocolate pie and cheesecake I didn’t take any of it although I was tempted. But now I’m glad I didn’t, it was enough as it was.

Fran’s daily outfit:

Tuesday

Shoes Tuesday

Wednesday

Shoes Wednesday

18 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday August 4, 2010

  1. Enjoy your day off. That looks like a beautiful setting for a restaurant.

  2. Dang your food looks good – especially that tagine?

    Have a super day off. Make sure you do something fun 😀

  3. Hi Fran,
    I love it when you post pictures of where you live!

    I love your outfits as always and boy do those strawberries look wonderful! When I hit the Farmer’s Market this weekend I will have to purchase a few strawberries and cucumbers:)

    Enjoy the rest of the week Fran!

  4. Love the outfits! Nice and colourful.

    Glad you were able to have a nice time with K. and the food looks great.

    I always used to eat beschuit met boter and suiker. Lekker. Also the spiced gingerbread. Mmmm…makes me miss my Oma a lot.

    Have a great day off and have fun with Bella! Hope she is progressing well.

  5. I don’t know what “beschuit” is but it looks delicious!

    Your Tuesday outfit is my favorite shirt of your; you look very sharp in Wednesday’s dress!

  6. This looked like a fun day! Hope you enjoyed it….the tagine looks good….I actually had Moroccan tagine on Monday, as we had friends visiting from Switzerland.

  7. look at you all colorful my friend — you look great!
    Good for you for passing up dessert and for knowing when enough is enough. I did that at a resturant not to long ago and it was so liberating!
    Enjoy your day off!
    oh and thank you so much for stopping by gina’s blog and offering your support

  8. You had a great night out with your friend…she is lovely…so slim, lucky girl…
    She chose a very nice looking restaurant as well ~ I’m not very good at choosing…I get stuck in a rut.

    Yesterday was your walking day….well my friend…it burns calories so good on you, better than sitting around doing nothing I say.

    Bella is a whole 6 months now, how long have you had her?? not as long I remember.

    Have a great day today…run, clean house and relax….

  9. The food at the restaurant looked very similar to a turkish restaurant we like to go to here in Leuven – in fact they serve the exact same bread with the two spreads! Glad you had a good time with your friend.
    BTW, which royal palace are you going to visit in October?

  10. I find it funny some of the stuff you eat for breakfast. I could eat burritos for breakfast though so I guess it is the same thing. One of the restaurants we went to in Turkiye had 7 courses. Needless to say I never ate all of it but why do restaurants give so much.

  11. What a wonderful Dutch restaurant, Fran! It’s situated in an interesting place of that special part of the world.
    I like the breakfast that you had on Tuesday. I’m sure it’s good although that breakfast is low in calories 🙂
    My daughter’s luggage isn’t arrived yet 😦 It’s the first and the last time that I travel by AIR FRANCE!
    Have a nice summer Fran!

  12. Looks like you and K. had a great time catching up in a nice restaurant! Dinner looks great!

    Have a great day!

  13. Great job staying in your calories range – even when eating out! That is awesome. I love seeing the foods you eat. Some are the same as in the US (I’m sure you see similar things on American food blogs) but some are different. I love to see how the different cultures eat. Very interesting!

  14. Look at you all on top of counting your calories! Good going Fran! and by the way, you’ve got kick ass legs girl! I’d wear nothing but skirts if my legs were that damn sexy! 🙂

  15. Oh, I must say that biscuit with strawberries looked delish! I might have to try that. And I wanted to say your dress is gorgeous! I love the colors and style and it looks great on you! Fun fun fun! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed your time with your friend.

  16. Glad you had fun with your friend. You are doing a wonderful job with your food – it’s so healthy and appetizing. I wanted to tell you that I get up at 4:30 or 5:00 in the morning. I do my posts the day before and schedule them to come up in the morning though! 🙂

  17. Enjoy your day off. The lunch with your friend looked very nice!

  18. I love Wednesday’s dress!

    Looks like you are doing well with documenting your food! And that buscuit strawberry thing looked great!

Leave a Reply

