A day in my life: Saturday August 14, 2010

Thoughts:
We had a great night together yesterday. We are a group of friends of which the guys know each other for more than 20 years now. The girls can get along very well too, in fact T. is one of my best friends. Every year we get together a few times and it’s always fun.

The only thing I shouldn’t do anymore at my age is drink a bottle of Prosecco. I don’t have a hangover but I’m tired after drinking a bottle and going to bed at 1.30 am. I’m getting old 🙂

Here are a few pics of last night:

T, me and M.

Exercise:
Yesterday I got up at 5.20 am to do my long run. I wanted to have it done before R. left for work so Bella wouldn’t be alone too long. My legs felt a bit tired from the interval training last Wednesday so I decided to add 1 extra walking break. I walked at 1.5, 3, 4.5, 6 and 7.5K. In the end it took only 30 seconds longer than the last time I did a 9K and had 4 walking breaks. Overall it was a good run, my legs turned out to be fine and I wasn’t exhausted by the end.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, misty, 12C/53 degrees.
Distance: 9 K / 5.6 miles
Time: 01:04:18
Average time: 7:09 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Eminem – Without me.

The final countdown:

Thursday

Breakfast: 2 rice crackers with “filet americain, an orange and orange juice.

169 calories

Morning snack: blue grapes.

Lunch: 1 slice of bread with an omelet, a bread with mustard cheese and a low-fat yogurtdrink, flavour strawberry-cherry.

Afternoon snack: nothing.

Dinner: taco pizza.

311 calories

Evening snack: some low-calorie crackers olive-oregano taste.

Calories: 1362 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
none (daily exercise not counted)
Notes:
Bit low on calories although I haven’t been hungry.

Friday

I haven’t been tracking this day but here are some pics of the food of the bbq last night.

The meat

Fruit salad

Couscous salad

Rocket salad with feta cheese and raspberries

365 days photo challenge:

Day 15 – Saturday August 7
Bella on the hunt: looking for the fish in the pond.

Day 16 – Sunday August 8
Making a Japanse puzzle (one of my addictions).

Day 17 – Monday August 9
Result after 2 hours working in the garden (picture taken from the addict).

Day 18 – Tuesday August 10
Will this get me back to the gym?

Day 19 – Wednesday August 11
Hello gym! Did you miss me?

Day 20 – Thursday August 12
Bella takes a nap after a day of playing at the doggy day care.

Day 21 – Friday August 13
How silly can one get after a bottle of Prosecco ….

16 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday August 14, 2010

  1. lovely to see so many fun photo’s on your blog today.
    I too am tried, I drank the same, 2 glasses not a bottle and feel so so tried today,….not going to train, tomorrow…cause I cant!! but am a lot older than you so have an excuse hey…hehe
    *I see your friends are all in boots and you in flipflops, have winter arrived in Holland already?
    Last night I spoke Afrikaans to the Germans and they said it sounds Hollandish…LOL…its very much the same but you have a different sound to us…ours is very flat and you from Holland have a high and jumpy tone…cant explain, but one day we will speak and you will see what I mean.

    Glad you had lots of fun…
    Today I have two photo sessions….then nothing!!!
    Tomorrow will run and get back on track….lost one kg from Mon to Friday, but know on Monday it will be up again…the story of my life!!

  2. So much to comment on!

    I don’t know why it’s called “Rocket Salad” but it sure looks good.

    I finally googled “filet americain” and I can safely say that we don’t have that in America…and I could never eat raw meat.

    You and the other woman look so stylish! That party must have been a blast; love your last picture!!!

    Your attic view of the garden is spectacular – what a lovely haven you and R. have created!

    I’ve never heard of a Japanese puzzle, but googled that as well – looks like it takes a lot of patience AND you have to be precise – I was never very good about coloring inside of the lines but your puzzle looks perfect!

    Love the picture of a sleeping Bella – they are so cute when they sleep!

    Oh, and a question: how long are your walking breaks when you do your long runs? I’m really impressed by how well you are doing with the long runs and your pace looks great!

    OK, I’ll end this monster of a comment – have a wonderful day!

  3. What a fun night!! I love your friends boots!

    Good job getting back to the gym!

  4. Looks like a real fun evening! The food looks wonderful too!

    Bella is so cute. Trying to find fish in the pond.

    The garden is really beautiful. It must be so nice to sit out there and enjoy the lovely weather.

    Nice pizza!

  5. Love all your pictures – most especially the one of you being silly – a bottle of prosecco would do the same to me, probably even worse!
    Good job on the run – I have 9 km tomorrow too, with the new Garmin – I am looking forward to it! I am counting in kms on the watch itself, but for some reason that website put it in miles – oh well…
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  6. Now that looks like a good time! A bottle of prosecco makes good blood. Nice pics, especially of Bella, and hope you have a great rest of the weekend.

  7. Hi Fran,
    This was a fun post! I love it when I get together with old friends and can just start right back up from where we left off:) Your little party looks like a blast…I totally get the feeling old thing! Damn, I can’t drink like I used to:) Great pictures…you look fabulous and happy!

  8. Looks like a week of good eats! And it looks like you had fun last night. I know what you mean though–handling alcohol gets harder the older we get! It’s a shame, huh??

  9. I love all the fun photos!!!! That fruit salad looks amazing!

    I find, and I am not even thirty yet, that I can hardly drink anymore!!!

  10. That rocket salad looks really interesting. What are the yellow bits? Croutons? I don’t think I’ve ever had salad with raspberries in it.
    And what is the title of that fitness book?

  11. Looks like a fantastic time with all your friends! I’m the same way – I have a hard time drinking anything anymore.

    Your garden is beautiful – I mean, it’s truly gorgeous! 🙂

    And the food just makes me HUNGRY.

  12. What a great group of pictures! Looks like you had a great time!

  13. you are adorable Fran, I have my share of alchohol this weekend too but for reasons I don’t wish to get into except to say that It’s been a very HARD week for me!
    I too can’t stay up to late, I feel so old when I start yawing at 9pm ;-).
    Friends, great food a little wine, there is nothing better!
    Love the pictures of you and bella 😉

  14. you should come visit me today, there is something for you on there 😉

  15. Oh, I’ve heard Prosseco is really good but I’ve never tried it! What’s it taste like? Good thing you didn’t have a headache…that could ruin a day!

  16. Love the pics! The one of bella is absolutely adorable!!

Leave a Reply

