A day in my life: Sunday August 22, 2010

Thoughts:
Thanks for the comments about wheather or not let co-workers about your blog. I’m going to stay with my point and don’t share it with co-workers. It’s something for me. Sure it’s a public blog and anyone can read it if they want to but they have to do some research before they found me. I didn’t link my blog on my Twitter and Facebook (which I hardly use) account for that reason.

Amy said this in her comment “Plus I guess most people probably are a lot less interested in us than we would like to admit!” and I think that’s true. I know only about 3 people in my daily life that they read my blog for sure. More people know about it but I think they don’t take the time to read it. That’s fine by me. The thing I like about blogging is “getting to know” people from different countries and it’s a way to talk about your running/weight loss with people who are running or in a weight loss journey too.

I just keep going writing my blog and reading yours and appreciate your comments. And keep work and private still private as I always have done.

Exercise:
Woehoe … I DID IT! I ran my first 11K ever! But it was a tough one. The first 7K I was doing great but between 7 and 8K it became a struggle till the end. I still start off on my long runs too fast. My pace should be around 7:12 / 7:29 per K but this run it was 7:08 per K. Considered the fact that my first K’s were below 7 minutes, overall I ran too fast. I need to slow down at the beginning so I won’t collapse at the end. Something to work on. That being said: I’m damn proud of myself I did it!

Stats:
Weather: sunny, hardly any wind, 19C/66 degrees.
Distance: 11 K / 6.8 miles
Time: 01:18:29
Average time: 7:08 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Madonna – Like a prayer.

Review week 33:
Monday: Running, 4.3K/2.6 miles, 30 minutes, burned 362 calories.
Tuesday: Cardio workout, 43 minutes, burned 263 calories.
Thursday: Running, 3K/1.8 miles, 20 minutes, burned 264 calories.
Saturday: Running, 11K/6.8 miles, 1 hour and 18 minutes, burned 943 calories.

Weekly totals:
Time: 02:51:00
Distance:  18.3 K / 11.3 miles
Burned calories: 1832

The final countdown:

Friday
A salad with smoked chicken breast, cucumber and cherry tomatoes with a dressing of olive oil, vinegar and mustard. I had an Italian bread with it which I didn’t finish completely.

439 calories

Calories: 1695 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
none (daily exercise not counted)
Notes:
Stayed below 1700 calories even though I gave myself a treat. It was a cookie with lots of butter which I bought at the bakery, total of 422 calories. But I had normal meals during the day so it didn’t do much “damage” to my daily total.

Saturday
A salad with fricandeau, pickles, croutons, pasta and a bit balsamico dressing. 379 cal.

379 calories


Calories:
1566 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
943  (daily exercise not counted)
Notes:
I fell back at an old habit in the evening. I had some chips, not as much as I used to eat on a Saturday night but still. I’m not happy with that because it’s got a lot of calories and I don’t want to go back to that habit. So got to leave the chips alone. Lucky that my dinner had not that much calories so overall I stayed within my goal.

365 days photo challenge (day 22-29):

Day 22 – Saturday August 14
Been so tired all day, all I wanted to do was going into this …

Day 23 – Sunday August 15
Walk in the forest

Day 24 – Monday August 16
Sweaty face after a hot run. You can see I’m not that happy after a hot run.

Day 25 – Tuesday August 17
My Blackberry is finally here.

Day 26 – Wednesday August 18
Returns almost every day: cooking.

Day 27 – Thursday August 19
Bella wants to help cleaning but it’s more molesting the feather duster.

Day 28 – Friday August 20
Fresh cherries, they were so big and tasty.

Day 29 – Saturday August 21
Watching R. at a motor race, he’s number 11.

21 responses to “A day in my life: Sunday August 22, 2010

  1. WELL>….I am a dedicated blog reader…I am a fan of your blog and everyday I look out for your update and its the first blog I read if you have updated that day…I also look out for Sarah, Syl and a few others of course…but yours is the one I usually read first as near the top of my list ~ Under D!!

    I love blogging and dont care if no one likes what I say….I want to say it!! hehe ~ I do care about the people I follow on blogs…thats me.

    Great about that 11km run…I agree one has to start of slowly and then go faster towards the end ~ I have to do that…but then I am oldish for having started running…

    you had a great week I see….
    1. Nice to see where you sleep every night
    2. The forest is beautiful in every country hey?? even in CT
    3. Yip, you and heat don’t like each other too much…LOL
    4. You do have a BlackBerry, I have a WhiteBerry…hehe
    5. I wish I had a gas stove, u dont get them here that often..SA you do.
    6. Bella’s having fun with her furry friend…
    7. GREAT photo of those cherries…well done
    8. I can hear the noise of those bikes!!

    BTW, how come you have 8 days in your week and i only have 7??? 😉

  2. Great job on the 11K!!!! You did it and you are right to be proud! It’s as much a mental victory as a physical one…you are on your way to the half marathon now.

  3. Congrats on the 11K, sounds like stars were all aligned today! The half-marathon is beckoning. Running is always a struggle for me – it is a deliberate attempt for me to go counter my natural tendencies, and that is why I started a blog. None of my friends run – in whatever corner of the world they are, so none of them read it. My co-workers are not interested either – I have told 2 people, but they do not run, and one told me to “diversify” my topics, so they do not read it either. So in the end I think one has to be interested in the topic (running in this case) to read any one particular blog. Then too, there is the question of finding the blogs which are the “right fit” for one – for this reason, I have few fears that mine would appeal to a wide audience, as most people seem to be quite hard core runners!

  4. I think we have to make the decision that feels right to us individually. None of my co-workers/bosses know about my blog and I like it like that. I have shared it with most of my family and friends, but truthfully only 2-3 ever read or comment on it. And that’s ok. I know they are silently supporting me…or at least that’s what I tell myself 🙂

    Congrats on your first 11k! I loved the pic of your face after your run. 🙂

  5. I LOVE your stove – it is absolutely gorgeous! I might actually cook if I owned something like that, lol! And your bedding is so pretty – love the colors! Your sweaty running face – I have to laugh, because that’s usually how I look in my first picture – then I force a smile and take another one.

    So happy you had such a great 11K – congratulations, what a long run!!! You are doing great with your running, my friend!

    R. looks pretty cool in his motorcycle leathers! Nice picture – he must really enjoy his racing. Kind of funny – you two both race, just under different powers – him with an engine, you with your feet!

  6. Great job on your run…I’m with you on the blog thing – if people want to find it, no problem but I don’t really go around getting lots of people in my daily life to find it. I’m fine with it if they do though too!

  7. I do read your blog, don’t post comments though.
    But this time I will:

    Contratulations with your 11K!
    Great job, very proud of you!

  8. Great job on the run! I have to say that your post fun face made me laugh, though. 😀

    And that stove – I how I would love that stove.

  9. I am so jealous of your stove. It is beautiful! I love seeing all of the photos of your life. How lucky to live in such a beautiful forest.

  10. Great job on the 11K!!

    and I am so jealous of your oven!

  11. Those salads look great! I love chips too!

  12. Hi Fran,
    Nice job on your 11K! You did it….go you:)

    Okay, so I am totally digging your gorgeous looking stove! Oh my goodness, it makes me want to think of all of the wonderful things that I could cook on it:) Cute picture of Bella too!

  13. Well, we like to read your blog, so keep it up! Congrats on your longest run to date. You’re right–taking it a bit easier on the front end pays off dividends in the end. Keep practicing it and it will become second nature.

  14. Nice post – nice pictures! Thanks for your comment – yes this stupid stuff DOES happen. Keep up the hard work though – you’re looking good on it.

  15. Woo-hoo on the 11k!!!!!

    Some of my co-workers know about my blog, but I dont think they read it- I dont think they care enough!

  16. I always take the time to read your running blog. It isn’t boring and I agree with you about facebood: I’ve never followed faceboof. I like our blogger community of running people in the world.

    Good luck on your 5 km race which you are running next Wednesday evening! What are you going to have at lunch before the race? I’m curious!
    Looking forward to reading your race report.

  17. I always take the time to read your running blog. It isn’t boring and I agree with you about facebook: Although I’ve never followed facebook I like our blogger community of running people in the world.

    Good luck on your 5 km race which you are running next Wednesday evening! What are you going to have at lunch before the race? I’m curious!
    Looking forward to reading your race report.

  18. WOOOOHOOO Way to go on hitting a new running milestone. Those new (longer) distances are tough, but I think you get so much pride from achieving them. I love your stove! Very nice.

  19. That is a great distance Fran, I am so very proud of you! WOW!!

    Oh and I did recieve your email on your blackberry so it did work!

    Bella’s picture reminds me of my little simba who chases the vaccumn and bites my mop 😉

  20. oh and also wanted to mention that I just added to your blog to my google reader and it worked – I was having some issues before but it’s there now and I will be able to see when you post a new entry ! So excited!

  21. Way to go on your run!!! I love your stove 😉

Leave a Reply

