A day in my life: Thursday August 26, 2010

Thoughts:
Let’s talk about good intentions today, shall we?
So here I was with my new workout plan. I decided to follow a Pilates class once every two weeks.
I called my gym to set the dates I wanted to go and what did they say? “Class is full”

My gym is not that big which I like. They don’t have many classes either which I don’t mind because I don’t follow classes. They have 3 Pilates classes on Tuesday morning, afternoon and evening at 8 pm. As I work my only possibility was Tuesday evening and that’s full. I was disappointed when I heard that because I loved Pilates and was looking forward to getting back to it.

I told her I was disappointed and she asked me if I could join a class at 7 pm which I prefer even more.
Of course I told her yes! They are still looking and planning if they are going to have an extra class at 7 and then put me on the regular list. I can then go every week if I want to and if I don’t go, I call them a few days before so my spot is free for someone else.

Fingers crossed that this class will start and I can get back to Pilates.

Exercise:

Emiclaerloop Amersfoort 08-25-2010
Yesterday my first “race” since April. I did this one last year and it was so hot that day. Yesterday was a lot better, it was cloudy, no wind and because of that a bit humid and 18C (64 degrees). The track was a 2.5K round and you could run 1 to 4 rounds. I choose to do 5K at this run. The first 2.5K went very well, my legs felt good and I had a fast pace. The second 2.5K I was slower. Some parts of the route were very small and the slower runners had to keep right so the faster runners that were doing the 10K could pass. Because of that I had to stay behind some slower ladies a few times which influenced my time. But all things considered I’m happy with my time, it wasn’t a PR but it wasn’t a complete 5K according to Edward and Edward is always leading for me. After all the struggles I’ve had the last weeks with running it felt great that I felt good during this run.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, no wind, 18C/64 degrees.
Distance: 4.95 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:32:45
Average time: 6:37 /km
Average speed: 9.1 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: John Fogerty with Bruce Springsteen – When will I be loved.

The final countdown:

Tuesday
Little meatballs, couscous, salad of tomatoes, cucumber and red onion.

Calories: 1846 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
(daily exercise not counted)
Notes:
Had a dessert of 138 calories which caused that I got over my goal of max. 1700 calories.

Wednesday
Pita breads with chicken, salad and corn.

Calories: 1704 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
434 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:
Good day!

Fran’s daily outfit:
I love who Wednesday’s outfit looks on me, it made me feel thin and happy with my look.

Wednesday

Wednesday shoes

Thursday

Thursday's shoes

Movie review:
Millennium 2: The girl who played with fire

After spending a year abroad, Lisbeth Salander returns to Sweden. She calls on her court-appointed guardian to remind him, in her own way, of his promise to submit satisfactory reports on her behavior. Mikael Blomkvist continues as a editor of Millenium magazine and they are onto a major story about prostitution and trafficking in women from Eastern Europe. When the investigative journalist working on that story is killed, the police announce that Lisbeth is their prime suspect. Lisbeth and Mikael work independently trying to find who is behind the murders. They not only learn the identity of the culprits but also some of Lisbeth’s family secrets.

What can I say, it’s a good movie, as good as the first one. Again the girl who plays Lisbeth is casted perfectly for this part. There were some parts left out of the book but it was not annoying. Can’t wait to see the last film which we will watch next Sunday.

9 responses to “A day in my life: Thursday August 26, 2010

  1. Have fun at pilates!

  2. Congratulations on a successful race. It may not have been your fastest, but you felt good doing it and that’s what matters.

    I’ve been put on wait lists for classes before. The waiting is annoying, but at least there is hope. So far I’ve always been lucky that another class was added. Hopefully the open up a class for you. I loved Pilates when I did it before.

  3. Bravo on the race!! Speedy McGee, too 😀

  4. Wednesday’s pic is terrific. You look great! All that hard work is paying off. Sounds like you also had a good race, good speed too. Enjoy the pilates…..I used to go twice a week during my lunch hour, then I stopped over the summer. It will really build your core.

  5. Love Wednesday’s out fit you look so slim Fran! Great work on your run, and I hope that class works out for you and you are able to go. Never tried pilates but heard so many great things about it!

  6. Wow, you had one fast 5K!!! Congratulations – so glad the race went well for you!

    And you can tell that you felt great in Wednesday’s outfit by your smile and pose – love it when clothes make you feel so good!

  7. That outfit does look great on you Fran
    Does make u look trim and slim…BUT you are that!!!!

    Well done on the race time, I think its very good….I will be a little slow for you to run with as I have lost my pace with not being able to push myself this summer…but hey, hitting the treadmill again in September!!!

  8. Great job on your race – and good news about the Pilates class – so cool that the time would be better for you too! There are some limitations about going to a smaller gym (like mine opens so late in the morning) but there are advantages too!
    I agree – we have a ‘sisterly’ vibe going – funny!

  9. I hope you’ll get to take the Pilates class! I’ve been taking Pilates/Yoga/Spinal Alignment classes, and I love them. Unfortunately, they are very expensive, so they are only an occasional treat…

    Great job on the race!

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

