A day in my life: Saturday August 28, 2010

Thoughts:

Syl is hosting a challenge for September. She’s got two challenges:

  1. Do the 30 day Shred for 30 days in a row.
  2. 20 minutes of activity (walking, running, yoga, fitness you name it) 30 days in a row.

Because I’m training for a half marathon, doing the Shred will case soreness because it did when I did it last time. That’s why I decided to go for challenge number 2. On my rest days I will for at least 20 minutes walk with Bella or do some yoga on the Wii.

If you want to participate, go to her site at Live Smile Run and join us. You can accept the challenge till Monday August 30th midnight and it starts Wednesday September 1st.

This challenge connects perfectly to my Summer Challenge which ends tomorrow. More on the final results of that in my next post.

Exercise:

Friday when I got home from work I did a strength training at home. Didn’t want to go to the gym as R. wasn’t home yet and Bella had been alone all day and I felt sorry for her if I would leave her again immediately. I worked on the triceps and shoulders and did sit ups. It’s difficult to workout if your dog is around because she was constantly trying to steal my dumbbells. It was a short but nice workout.

Triceps
Close-grip push-up 3 sets of 10 reps
One-arm overhead dumbbell extension 3 sets of 10 reps for each arm
Lying dumbbell extension 3 sets of 15 reps
Shoulders
Seated Overhead Dumbbell Press 3 sets of 12 reps
Lateral raise 3 sets of 12 reps
Dumbbell upright row 3 sets of 12 reps
Core
Situps 83

This morning I had scheduled a long run of 9K but when I got up my right leg hurt a bit and I didn’t know if my leg would make it for 9K. I decided to split my 9K run and do half of it today and the other half tomorrow. I watched my pace which was around 7 minutes per km. This was a wise decision because the run felt good all the way, I had some energy left to speed up for the last K. While I was running and it felt so good I decided that I’m going to focus on endurance and not on speed. I have the habit to race my Garmin and try to run as fast as I can which means I collapse halfway or at the end of each run, that’s why my runs have been such a struggle lately. My leg felt good during the run, I could have done that 9K but the rain was pouring down by the beginning and the end of my run and I had enough of that.

Stats:
Weather: rain at the beginning, dry halfway the run, hard rain at the end, little bit of wind, 13C/55 degrees.
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:34:27
Average time: 6:53 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Black Eyed Peas – Let’s get it started.

The final countdown:

Thursday

A piece of pork, green beans, rösti

Calories: 1556 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
none (daily exercise not counted)
Notes:
Good day.

Friday

A vegetable burger, tagliatelle with a little bit of pesto and low-fat cheese, Italian vegetable stir fried.

Calories: 1842 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
71 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:
I had a birthday party to go to and I ate some peanuts while I was there which is the reason I didn’t stay within my daily goal.

Fran’s daily outfit:

Friday

365 days photo challenge:

Day 30 – Sunday August 22
Mushrooms growing and it’s only August, looks like Autumn has already started.

Day 31 – Monday August 23
My addiction: shoes!

Day 32 – Tuesday August 24
This little Shetland pony lives on this small piece of land in the street where I live.
Every time I see it, it breaks my heart. Not only because she has such little space but the people who own her do nothing with her, she’s just standing there all the time.

Day 33 – Wednesday August 25
My race number and gift afterwards (a wrist band where you can put your key in)

Day 34 – Thursday August 26
It has been raining all day and a lot of water has fallen. Streets were filled with water. In the photo you see by the car that’s driving by how much water there was on the road. It seemed like Autumn even though it’s still August.

Day 35 – Friday August 27
Working out at home (of course Bella wants to “help”)

Finally:
Meet the newest Dutch soccer star:

9 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday August 28, 2010

  1. As you know I too am going to do this challenge but going to do the 25 mins as extra to what I normally do ( I have the time )
    I want to do something that I dont do, like weights, PT type workouts and push my body for those 20 mins…I can work out at home or the gym…and as I told you…will not switch on computer till workout is done.

    Question….are u still frying your foods?? If you are how are you doing it…Olive Oil, Spray and cook??

    I also think Autumn is here…I see the leaves lying all over the route we run in the forest already…love Autumn, its a really beautiful looking time of the year…will have lots of fun with my camera I know before heading to CT for hot summer sunshine again…cant wait to run in 30 odd degrees again…and catch a tan while at it. Hate being so white as I am at the moment.

    You sure love your shoes. I have quiet a few pairs myself, but not many heel shoes as I dont work so need shoes for comfort.

    We have a dog that lives next door that reminds me of your pony…the dog does get to be taken for a walk once a day but spends all day in this biggish garden on a leash…
    That pony should be reported!! Thats so cruel

    Wow sure did rain there in Holland….
    BTW, does not look like we are going to be going to Holland for that competition as my ticket to SA costing us 300 euro’s more as am going in season time.
    I am going to visit a friend on the 17 September who lives on the border of Germany and Holland, we going to the SA shop in Holland on SAturday morning, will sleep over with them and Sunday drive home.

    Hey those are baby weights lying on the workout mat…..hehehe
    Need bigger ones girl…

    Have good weekend, I need to get to gym and train before I get more lazy than I already am.

  2. thanks for the plug Fran, this challenge is going to be so great, so many people joined, it truly surpassed my expectations and I’m so excited to have all of you join me, I’m sooooooooooo ready to get started ;-).
    Love your shoe obsession 😉
    Couldn’t view Bella’s video but i’ll be back later and try again!
    Oh and I’m so glad you got your bracelet – wear it proud and think of me, it’s pink after all LOL!

  3. 83 sit ups? Wow! And I am glad to see you lifting again 😀

    And that is a *lot* of shoes LOL!

  4. Good job all around! You look great in Friday’s outfit, all those miles and work with weights are paying off. I have quite a few pairs of shoes too, but still have a way to go to catch up to your collection!

  5. I so want that little Shetland pony. My first horse was a Shetland. Stubborn little devils, but oh so cute!

  6. You are doing a great job. You and my daughter would get along great – she loves shoes too!

  7. Bella is adorable with that soccer ball! And I love that she tries to steal your weights – she just wants to workout like her mama!

    Your shoe collection is gorgeous! LOVE that you are not afraid of heels!

    And hey – nice job doing 83 sit ups!!!

  8. Hi Fran,
    You are such a rock star for starting Pilates! Pilates is so challenging but so good for the body…you will really get a great workout!

    That veggie burger looks so good:) I used to eat those all of the time and it makes me want to have one soon.

    OMG, Bella is so cute and funny! I enjoyed the video:) My little guy wants a dog so bad. We have a cat and she would freak if I came home with a dog. I grew up with both and they got along just fine:)

    I hope that you have a great week Fran!

  9. WOW!! I love the shoes. I wish I had the room and what not here. We do have a weight limit though when we move so I have to watch what all I buy over here. Your dinners looked yummy. Maybe you can come cook for me!

Leave a Reply

