A day in my life: Monday August 30, 2010

Thoughts:

Hooray! I’m in the Pilates class, starting tomorrow night at 7 pm I will go to Pilates every Tuesday night. I’m on the list so always secured that I can follow the class.
In normal workout weeks I will run 4 times, do 1 Pilates class and 1 strength/cardio session from now on.
This week is recovery week which means adding one extra cardio session and only 2 runs and 2 rest days. But as I committed myself to Syl’s challenge starting Wednesday I will do some activity of at least 20 minutes on my rest days, probable will be a long walk with Bella or yoga at the Wii.

Vacations here in Holland are over, this means work is getting busy as always starting this week. I’m so behind on lots of housekeeping tasks at home, need to spend some time on that too in the next weeks. Do I forget something? Oh yes: I need to run and workout too.

Saturday I found a nice surprise in the mailbox. It was the bracelet I won at a giveaway on Syl’s blog: one decision at a time, one bite at a time. Thanks again Syl for this and I definitely will wear it with pride.

Fran’s Summer Challenge:
My Summer Challenge is over. I started it on Monday June 7th and it ended yesterday Sunday August 29th. Here are the results:

Goals:

1. Lose some weight every week.
5 out of 12 weeks

The first 7 weeks I gained. When I started my new eating plan and started tracking my food I lost weight 5 weeks in a row.

2. Exercise at least 60 out of 84 days.
42 out of 60 days.

Not a 100% success but not a failure either in my opinion. Could definitely have done better, it’s an average of 3.5 days a week.

3. Do something active every day (this can be working out, running, housekeeping, walking with Bella, going for a ride on my bike and so on) for at least 30 minutes.
70 out of 84 days.

Missed 14 days but overall I’m not disappointed.

4. Run at least two times while we’re on vacation.
Result:done! 100% success.

5. Follow the half marathon plan and don’t skip any runs.
10 out of 12 weeks.
Due to my vacation I did one week in two weeks and I didn’t finish one week which I had to do again.

6. Eat more fruit and vegetables.
10 out of 12 weeks.
The two weeks where I didn’t eat enough fruit and vegetables where my vacation weeks.

7. Try a new recipe at least once a week.
12 out of 12 weeks
I didn’t make a new recipe every week but over the 12 weeks I’ve tried 12 new recipes. 100% success.

8. Take Bella to the beach for the first time in her life.
We did that on July 7th. 100% success

9. See “Eclipse” (Twilight Saga).
Went to the movies Monday July 5th. 100% success.

10. Read at least 6 books before August 29th.
1. Tess Gerritsen – Life support

2. Stephenie Meyer – The short second life of Bree Tanner.
3. Stieg Larsson – The girl with the dragon tattoo
4. Karin Slaughter – Broken
5. Stieg Larsson – The girl who played with fire.
6. Stieg Larsson – The girl who kicked the hornets’ nest
7. Dianne Emley – Cut to the quick
8. Tatiana de Rosnay – Sarah’s key

I’ve read 8 books so far, this part of the challenge has brought my love for reading back. The first half year I didn’t had the patience to make time and read a book but that’s changed again. 100% success.

Overall conclusion: Of the 9 challenges I’ve completed 5 of them and they all happened to be the fun part of the challenge. As for the other 4 I’m not disappointed in myself even though I didn’t met the goals, except for the weight loss, I’ve managed to complete over 50% of this challenges.
The challenge was fun to do and now I’m moving on to the next: Syl’s September Active Challenge.

Exercise:
I was supposed to go to the gym tonight but Bella had been alone all day and R. had to repair my car and I didn’t want to leave her again, she’s still a puppy. So I decided to dust of the Wii and do some Wii fit exercises. It was fun to do again and I am definitely going to use it for the yoga exercises in the future. Did some aerobic, muscle and yoga exercises.
After that I did 89 sit ups. Let me tell you that sit ups are more difficult if you have puppy who’s pulling your hair all the time.

Weekly review week 34:
Monday: Running, 4K/ 2.4 miles, 28 minutes, burned 339 calories.
Tuesday: Lunchwalk of 30 minutes and 67 sit ups, didn’t count this.
Wednesday: Running Emiclaerloop, 4.95K/3 miles, 32 minutes, burned 434 calories.
Friday: Strength training (triceps, shoulders, core), 31 minutes, burned 71 calories.
Saturday: Running, 5K/3.1 miles, 34 minutes, burned 445 calories

Weekly totals:
Time: 2 hours and 5 minutes.
Distance:  13.9 K /  8.5 miles
Burned calories: 1289

The final countdown:

Saturday

Calories: 1955 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
445 (daily exercise not counted)
Notes:
Fell back in old habits: bread for dinner and chips in the evening. Luckily for me it didn’t effect the scale too much this morning but have to be careful from now on with the weekend.

Sunday

A vegetable burger and veggies

Calories: 1703 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
none (daily exercise not counted)
Note:
Okay for a Sunday.

Fran’s daily outfit:

Monday

9 responses to “A day in my life: Monday August 30, 2010

  1. Congrats on completing your summer challenge. Now it’s on to the next one. This should be fun.

  2. Ooh, I like your outfit! You look really sharp!

    I think you did great with your summer challenge. Love that you rekindled your love of reading. And congratulations on kick starting your weight-loss again!

  3. Congrats Fran, I would say your goals were a complete success!

  4. Great job on the challenge! I think that if you hit every goal 100%, then you didn’t challenge yourself enough, so always look at those you didn’t quite hit as something to focus on for the next time.

  5. Nice job on meeting so many of your goals. I guess I am going to have to try those dragon tattoo books again.

  6. I think you did very well in your summer challenge, lots to be proud of…and as you said with your new eating plan you are dropping in weight which is what u want.
    I checked Syl’s blog now and see I have to take 3 pics of myself tonight….what will my hubby have to say about this, he already thinks I’m crazy…LOL
    You did lots of reading, the only reading I did is photography books….am wanting to improve all the time and so much to learn.
    so my friend remember for this week
    4 sets of 8 ladies push ups…( not 8 )
    4 sets of 12 sit ups….
    I completed mine when I got out of bed today…my chest and arms are sore from workout at gym yesterday.

    That outfit u wearing looks great on you ~ love the skinny look, suits you.

  7. Yay for pilates! You must be having good karma today too! I can’t wait to get back to doing the Wii fit now that we have our Wii back. The boys just made me a new Mii so I can do the yoga routine tonight. Hope the class is good!

  8. Great job on your challenge! That dinner looks great!

  9. Great job on the challenge!! So happy that you are good for Pilates. Makes me want to see if the gym has that class.

Leave a Reply

