A day in my life: Monday September 6, 2010

Thoughts:
This week is national fundraising week for the Dutch cancer foundation. I’ve been a volunteer for a few years now. After my Dad died of cancer I wanted to contribute something to the foundation so they can do more research at this terrible disease. Every first week in September I go by houses in two streets near my house to collect money for the foundation which I did tonight. Luckily the people in my town are very generous and I get some money everywhere I stop.

Busy times have started for me, like for most of you too, especially at work. This means I don’t have as much free time left as during Summer but that’s okay. So if I don’t read your posts shortly after you posted them, don’t worry, I definitely will catch up on all of you in weekends. Just wanted you to know, it’s not lack of interest, just being busy.

Exercise:
I didn’t workout Saturday and Sunday but I did take a walk with Bella on both days. The weather has been perfect the last couple of days so walking was a pleasure. On Sunday R. joined us which was fun. We met some chicken and some gooses during our walk:

This week I’m back at normal training for the next 3 weeks and started this morning with training 1 of week 9 of my half marathon plan. I went out at 5.30 am in the dark and came home in the dark. Sun doesn’t get up till around 7 am these days. I took a new route because the one I usually run has no lights and I can’t see a thing. During Winter I will run through my town which isn’t a problem because at this time not many people are up yet so it’s nice and quiet. I watched my pace and speed up two times during the run for 4 minutes each. I felt very good this morning and really enjoyed this run.

Stats:
Weather: dark, light wind, 15C/59 degrees
Distance: 5.2 K / 3.2 miles
Time: 00:35:13
Average time: 6:46 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Dire Straits – Money for nothing.

Weekly review week 35:
Monday: WII Fit, 45 minutes, burned 157 calories.
Tuesday: Pilates, 55 minutes, burned 125 calories.
Wednesday: Running, 5K/3.1 miles, 33 minutes, burned 445 calories.
Thursday: Walking, 36 minutes, burned 147 calories.
Friday: Running, 6.55K/4 miles, 45 minutes, burned 576 calories.
Saturday: Walking, 33 minutes, burned 120 calories.
Sunday: Walking, 54 minutes, burned 124 calories.

Weekly totals:
Time: 5 hours and 1 minute.
Distance: 11.55 K / 7.1 miles
Burned calories: 1694

The final countdown:

Saturday
A salad of chicory, apple, smoked bacon, carrots, raisins and light crème fraîche with some bread. This was a delicious salad.

Calories: 1625 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
120 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:

Sunday
Vegetable soup with toast.

Calories: ? (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
124 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:
In the afternoon I stopped counting after eating too much chocolate and biscuits at my afternoon tea. I felt fat for the rest of the day. Really need to pay more attention to the weekend and don’t let old habits take over again.

Fran’s daily outfit:
Not very happy with today’s outfit but I couldn’t decide what to wear this morning. Going back to putting my clothes ready the evening before so I don’t have to think about what to wear in the morning with my sleepy head.

13 responses to “A day in my life: Monday September 6, 2010

  1. Love the outfit! Your scenery on your walk is beautiful. I wish I had something like that to enjoy while exercising. Happy Labor Day

  2. I find I have that same problem if I leave choosing my clothes to the morning…sleepy brain just doesn’t know what to pick!

    Very sweet of you to collect for cancer research, and how nice that your neighbors all contributed! It is a disease that definitely touches a lot of lives.

  3. Good job on sticking to your eating programme (and the exercise too)! Sometimes a day or two off, does wonders for one. I am sure that you will find you are refreshed and ready to run this week.
    I am sorry about your dad. I work for a company which develops cancer drugs, and the great hope is that the devastating effects of this disease will one day be a thing of the past.
    Those black trousers are fabulous……you look very good in them!

  4. Good for you on the volunteering. More people need to do that 😀

    I had one of those chocolate snacking days yesterday. Ooops.

  5. what a great cause and so happy that people saw it that way and you didn’t get door slams!

    To Sick Syl that soup looks so good!

    I actually am feeling a little better today, not so lifeless, I was able to do the shred today, some groceries and even made and ate dinner, it’s been a better day forsure, yesterday was awful, couldn’t even move off the couch. Not so good when you have two little ones running around!

  6. Popping in before I leave at 7.30am this morning….
    hehehe, so much for only coming to your blog this afternoon….

    You do so much for others its wonderful!!!!

    Try have a good day at work today I will catch up with you on BB…
    BTW Yellow looks good on you!!

  7. Can’t believe you run in the winter outside.. I think I will stick to the gym when it gets really cold. The salad looks yummy!

    I think the outfit looks good on you but you look very tense for some reason.

    Love that you help with such a great cause.

  8. Looks like you have a great workout schedule 🙂

  9. So nice that you collect for cancer funds like that. And cool too that you have a national movement for that.

    It is getting light much later here now too…makes me sad. I love summer and it passes too quickly!

  10. As a cancer survivor I admire what you are doing for the Cancer Foundation.
    Great pictures, I am sure you walked in a very beautiful place. Very elegant lady!

  11. Thats great, collecting for such a great cause. Cancer affects WAY too many people. So scary.

    I think your outfit looks nice. For me getting dressed in the morning is pretty easy. I don’t have a lot of clothes and most of what I buy goes together so I can usually grab whatever. I’m not very dressy, more comfortable – but I can dress that way for my job.

  12. I really like the outfit! Glad you were able to collect a lot of donations! Cancer is such a horrible disease.

Leave a Reply

