A day in my life: Wednesday September 8, 2010

Thoughts:
Getting back to the fundraising for the cancer foundation. MissZippy said that it’s great we have a national movement for that but we have that for a lot of foundations like for heart diseases, asthma, animal protection and so on. The Dutch are very generous when it comes to charity.

For example after the earthquake in Haïti we had a telethon too and the total amount of gifts was 83 million Euro’s (105 million USD), in Belgium it was 6 million Euro’s (for comparison). The gifts in the US were 58 million USD. I have to say that the people here gave 41 million Euro’s after which our government doubled it. But if you imagine that there live 16,5 million people here compare to 300 million in the US it’s a lot of money. It’s just an explanation by the way, I don’t mean anything with it.

Today I was supposed to do my interval training. My work has been very hectic the past 3 days because we have an important meeting tomorrow (which will be long and will cost me a lot of energy).  I’ve had a discussion with myself the whole day: should I or should I not go. Then I read MissZippy’s blog this afternoon about when you run you should enjoy the journey and that’s when I made up my mind. I knew I wouldn’t enjoy  my run this afternoon and would probably even hate almost every minute of it and I decided not to run today. Instead I took a walk with Bella after dinner because I did want to go outside to get some fresh air. I will run tomorrow though and I will enjoy it.

I’m also noticing that now that it’s busy at work again I need to sleep more. I’m tired and it’s only Wednesday. I have to force myself to go to bed at 10.30 pm, at the latest 10.45 pm to get my rest as I get up at 5.15 or 5.30 am. At this moment it’s about 11.00 or 11.15 pm before I go.

Exercise:
Yesterday I had a Pilates class. Last week we worked on the legs and shoulders, yesterday on the lower back and abs. I loved it. I might not burn that many calories with it but after I felt that my muscles could handle this better already compared to last week.

The final countdown:

Monday
Chicken with red pepper, mango, bean sprouts, onion and garlic with unpolished rice.

Calories: 1457 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
460 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:

Tuesday
Chicken (had it in the freezer, leftover from a bbq), potatoes and mixed vegetables

Calories: 1568 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
131 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:

Fran’s daily outfit:
It has been chilly yesterday and today that I wore boots today for the first time since April. The forecast is that it will get warmer by the end of the week. But I’m a bit bored with my Summer clothes which I always am in September (by March I’m bored with my winter clothes). Most of them don’t fit because they are too big but I have that same problem with my winter clothes so don’t know exactly why I look forward to wearing those 🙂

Tuesday

Wednesday

11 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday September 8, 2010

  1. I see the boots you mentioned you were wearing on our chat yesterday….

    Love the foods this week..Can u send me the *how to do * of the chicken dish, always looking for new chicken ideas and that looks like something I will like.

    You got out and did something….am pleased, but to be honest I know you are not going to fail the challenge, you are far too motivated…I’m not either….
    Gooooooooooooo girl…

  2. So glad the pilates class is working out! I think pilates and yoga are a great compliment to running – running makes everything so tight.

  3. Love the fact that you went out even though you didn’t want to exercise. I knew I needed to run or do some major cardio but I was wasn’t feeling it. Instead I did a 2 mile walk with me and my thoughts. Pat of my thoughts is that I need to start tanning again. Hopefully that will adjust my mood. I need something to get me out of this slump.

  4. Yay for boots! I feel the same way as you – I’m tired of my summer clothes. Only problem is here we have close to another two months of summer weather!

    Hmmm, now I want to go read Miss Zippy’s post. Good that you got out with Bella – I’m sure she loved walking with her mama.

  5. Glad you are enjoying your pilates class. I also think that it’s important to enjoy our lifestyle change. So if you don’t like to do sports x, do something else, even if it’s just for one day like you did today. There are so many options to choose from so why limit us to one thing if we can do something that’s more fun?

  6. If the clothes are too big, it’s time to go shopping, girl!

    That chicken dish looks yummy – do you have a recipe for that?

  7. Fran when I read your sentence about how when you run you should enjoy the journey I got teary eyed (but then again I’m very emotional lately ;-), too much going on right now) because I am not allowed to run until I’m done my antibiotics, I so would love to just lace up my shoes and get out there 😉

    That chicken dish looks so great, sounds like it’s so full of flavour, I know you have had a few requests but would you mind posting that recipe?

    Oh and I agree with Lori, go shopping girl 😉

  8. I love boots! You look like you are undergrowing your clothes – shopping soon for you?

  9. Thanks Fran ;-). As you are beginning your day I am ending mine, up way past my bed time ;-). Glad you had a great run!

  10. Hi Fran,
    I am so sorry that I have been a comment slacker for this week! My hubby needed the computer for fantasy football and my life is crazy:) I am planning on posting tomorrow…cross my fingers:)

    I am loving the outfits…as always!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  11. Fran, I’m so behind on blogs again but just wanted to drop in and say “hey” – you are looking so good and doing great things! Keep that always in your mind! 🙂

    will I see you at the Dam tot Damloop??? I got my packet in the post #22185! I’m pretty nervous about it…

Leave a Reply

