A day in my life: Thursday September 16, 2010

Thoughts:
I’m very frustrated with the number on the scale for the past few days. Every day I gain a little bit but I’m not eating more and I exercise. There could be a few reasons:

  • maybe I have to change the batteries of my scale
  • maybe it’s the time around my period
  • maybe I’ve hit a plateau
  • maybe I don’t eat enough

I’ve changed the batteries of my scale this afternoon. I remembered that a while back I also gained when a friend suggested I might have to change the batteries and when I did all was back to normal.

Because I don’t have an actual TOM anymore I never know when it’s around the time I should have it. I have had light headaches and felt bloated at the beginning of the week so this might also be a reason.

The weight I have now is the same that I had and maintained for a few years. I’ve read somewhere that when you reach a weight you’ve had for a long time your body remembers that and stays at that weight for a while: the plateau. After a while you should start losing again.

Most days I eat around 1500 calories a day. Maybe that’s not enough and I should eat around 1600 to 1700 calories a day. It’s possible my body is drawing on my reserves or something like that.

What’s the plan: first I weigh in again tomorrow, see if it was the batteries. If not I’ll wait till the beginning of next week if it is my period. If that still isn’t the case maybe I should continue for 2 more weeks to see if it’s the plateau and if all that doesn’t work maybe I should eat a bit more during the day.

What are you’re thoughts? What do you do when you do everything right and still gain a little bit?

Exercise:
Tuesday night = Pilates night. I still love it, we train a different muscle group each week. This week we did abs, boy did I feel them. I love this class, we are with 5 people (2 men) and I don’t like crowded classes so this is perfect for me. It is however a trial, I think that if it stays at 5 people they will cancel it again but I sure hope they don’t.

Yesterday I did the run I was supposed to do on Monday. Although it was dry there was a very strong wind. I love wind, also for running but today I didn’t feel like running against it. Instead I went to the gym to do my 35 minute run on the treadmill. I had to do 3 tempo runs of 4 minutes in it. I split it up:
1 minute speed walking at 7 km/hour.
5 minutes running at 8.6 km/hour
4 minutes running at 9.2 km/hour
Repeated that twice and finished with 5 minutes at 8.6 km/hour

Stats:
Weather: inside.
Distance: 5.1 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:35:32
Average time: 6:58 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Pink! – Funhouse.

Today I had a short run scheduled and decided it would be Bella’s debut as a running dog. I took her with me and she did great and loved it. I walked for a minute after every 5 minutes running. By the end she was a bit tired as she kept behind me so we stopped at 23 minutes. I was surprised that we were quite fast even though we walked 4 times. I definitely going to take her more often on short runs. It’s official: Bella is a running dog as of today.

Stats:
Weather: sunny, strong wind, ± 18C/64 degrees.
Distance: 3.4 K / 2.1 miles
Time: 00:23:31
Average time: 6:55 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Alanis Morrisette – You ougtta know.

The final countdown:

Monday
Beef with baked onions, potatoes, chicory with raisins and mandarins.

Calories: 1519 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
none (daily exercise not counted)
Note:
-.

Tuesday
Steak, potatoes and stir-fried conical cabbage with curry powder.

Calories: 1431 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
134 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:
-.

Wednesday
Pitta bread with chicken and a bit of garlic sauce and a salad with cucumber and corn.

Calories: 1400 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
382 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:
-.

14 responses to “A day in my life: Thursday September 16, 2010

  1. so frustrating isn’t it Fran! I hate that, I have backed away from the scale and now only weigh once a week, I just can’t handle to emotional aspects of weighing in every day. it’s just too much sometimes.
    Chin up girl, there are so many variables.
    I had the same experience this week, and just wrote about it, but it was in regards to a clothing size, just couldn’t get over that letter, it’s crazy to be hung up on stuff like that when I know deep down inside that I have worked my butt off and can’t let that rule me!

  2. Yay Bella the running dog! Glad you have a companion for your shorter runs! So sweet – bet she loves spending time like that with you.

    The scale can be so frustrating. I hope it’s a simple answer like the batteries, but if not, then I think you have a good plan. Maintaining (or having a plateau) is one thing; gaining is another, and that always alarms me when I haven’t changed my eating drastically. Crossing my fingers for you that it’s the batteries.

  3. Very interesting about the batteries…I’ve never heard that one. I think you might be onto something with the calories taken in also. Your plan of attack sounds good to me for figuring it all out.

    I will add, however, that we are around the same age. I find that every few years, it seems to take more to get back down to “race weight.” It’s so frustrating, but I do think it can be a sign of age. Ugh!

  4. Oh Fran I know this is so frustrating myself…am having lots of this the last 5 months in my maintaining part of the journey…I get excited when I lose but only to gain it back within a week or two…
    Still counting points and training…nothing changes but my weight.
    I would not think that adding calories is the best in this situation, I would drop it down by 300 calories and up the training by 300 calories and see what happens then…

    Great job today Bella….good girl!! Now part of the running group…welcome.

  5. Don’t you love having a little running partner? Glad Bella enjoyed.

    I haven’t found the answer to scale woes myself. It can drive you insane. I know, for me, I always hope the answer might be that I need more food … but unfortunately it never is and that makes me gain more weight. You sound like you have a good plan in place (a very patient plan) that should help you to figure out the cause.

  6. Do you take measurements as well? If not, that might be a better indicator for you right now, especially with your distance running training.

    Many people think that you will lose weight when you train for 1/2 and full marathons, but most often that is not the case.

    You could try bumping up your calories and see what happens. Nothing wrong with a little experimenting!

  7. Fran, I left you a blog award today. 🙂

  8. Please, please let it be the batteries! Yay for Bella on being such a good sport!

  9. I know this is so frustrating! When that happens to me, I try not to panic, but I just really monitor my eating. For me, it’s easy to add just a little bit too many calories and then see a small gain. I cut back and workout harder. This will pass!

  10. Hmmm, since you are also doing some weight training, it could be that you are improving your muscle mass. You look great, and muscles although heavier than fat, also take up less space than fat, so technically you should look at how you look (and feel) rather than just the number on the scale. Good job on the batteries though. You still sound very focussed!

  11. Hi Fran,
    I agree with Natalia…you are most likely creating muscle mass. I have gained at least five pounds this year due to my running and increased muscle mass. Other than my favorite pair of jeans being a tad bit tight, I am okay with it. Fran, you look great:) Cheer up Lady!

    I hope that you have an excellent weekend!

  12. Scales play with my head and drive me crazy. How accurate are they and what about the muscle mass, etc.? Ugh, if only we didn’t have to worry about these things!!

  13. I think we should all just throw the scales out the window. I hate mine 99.9% of the time lol. Love that Bella loves to run. I bet that it is to cute to watch.

  14. Ungh, I don’t know, I would probably put it down to the week simply being ‘off,’ and see if the next week goes better. I can understand how frustrating it must be when you are doing everything right and it’s still not working, though.

Leave a Reply

