A day in my life: Thursday September 30, 2010 + Weight Challenge + Workout goals: September 2010

Thoughts:
Are you ready? This is going to be a long post. Let’s begin 🙂

Tuesday I had a dentist appointment. As you may remember: I’m afraid of the dentist. I had been nervous all day for it. We switched to a new dentist practice that is highly recommended in our town and this was my first treatment by her (my dentist is a she). She had to fill one of my back tooth. My previous dentist didn’t want to do it and pull it out and put a crown on it but that’s very expensive and I didn’t want that. But this one tried. I am so happy with her, I didn’t feel a thing. Not from the anaesthesia, not from the drilling, not from the filling and not afterwards. The only thing was that the anaesthesia wasn’t worked out till 8 pm and I had a terrible headache by then from the stress before. It could probably happen that I finally get over my fear for the dentist with this one.

Exercise:
I do not know what happened yesterday but it was a terrible run. It had pain in my right leg (upper, lower and foot) from the start till the end. I had to walk a few times but that didn’t help either.
Could be from speedwalking on an incline on the treadmill on my gym shoes on Monday. Or maybe because I worked the entire day, wore heels (not too high) and I’m not really used to running after work anymore. I’m sure it will go away, there’s no running on my schedule till Saturday and I’ll see how it goes by then. Weather was perfect for running by the way.

Update today: leg still hurts a bit.

Stats:
Weather: sunny, bit of wind, ± 16C/60 degrees.
Distance: 3.5 K / 2.1 miles
Time: 00:24:19
Average time: 6:57 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Five Star – All fall down.

The final countdown:

Monday
A piece of beef, potatoes and mixed vegetables.

Calories: 1636 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
345 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:

Tuesday
Easy dinner because I had been to the dentist: Soup of green peas (no pic, forgot to take it).

Calories: 1653 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
none (daily exercise not counted)
Note:

Wednesday
A salad with cherry tomatoes, onion and tuna with roast potatoes.

Calories: 1556 (goal 1500-1700).
Calories burned:
284 (daily exercise not counted)
Note:

Fran’s daily outfit:
Tuesday a black skirt with flowers, black blouse and black boots.
Wednesday is kind of special. The pants I’m wearing I’ve got for almost 10 years now. When I bought it, it fitted perfectly. Over the years I didn’t fit in them, at one point I couldn’t even get it over my upper legs. Yesterday morning I tried it on and to my surprise it fitted. Funny how something old can turn into something new 🙂

Tuesday

Wednesday

Weight Challenge September  2010

Starting weight: 89.2 kg (196.6 lbs).
Target weight: 70 kg (154 lbs).

Weight on September 1st: 78.6 (173.2 lbs)
Weight on September 30st: 78.8 kg (173.7 lbs)

This months result: + 0.2kg (+0.4 lbs)
Total loss: – 10.4 kg (22.9 lbs)

Fat percentage: 38.9 (last month 39.8)
Muscles percentage: 30.5 (last month 30.4)
BMI: 26.3 (last month 26.3)

I did gain a bit this month but overall it’s not much as my weight have been fluctuating much more this past month. Positive is that my fat percentage dropped with almost a point. I’m not completely satisfied but also not completely disappointed with this result.

Workout goals 2010, update September

I’m satisfied with this month. I’ve worked out more than in August (I did count a few walks as a workout, won’t do that in October). Although I didn’t reach my goal of 75K this month, still it’s more than all the other months this year (except for July). Plus I totally rocked Syl’s challenge: 20 minutes of activity every day. I missed one day but that’s when life got in the way and I really had no opportunity to workout. I’m keeping the same goals for October and added 1 goal. Going to try to make October an even better month than September.

Workouts:
Number and time of workouts in August: 15 workouts, total time 9 hours and  27 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in September: 20 workouts, total time 13 hours and 25 minutes.

Goals September:

  • Watch my pace on every run. -> needs improvement
  • Run at least 75K / 46.6 miles  -> no, but it’s the second best month of this year.
  • At least 20 minutes of activity every day. -> yes except for one day when life got in the way.

Goals October:

  • Watch my pace on every run.
  • Run at least 75K / 46.6 miles
  • At least 20 minutes of activity every day.
  • Weight training at least once a week.

Running goals:

  • Goal kilometres/miles in 2010: 900 K / 560 miles.
    Goal September: 75 K / 46.6 miles
    Total September:  62.3 K / 38.7 miles

    Total August: 57 K / 35.4 miles

    Total till 09/30: 438.8 K / 272.6 miles
    Total running time: 51 hours 31 minutes

  • Run a 5K < 35 minutes -> 34:06 on 12/13/2009
    Run a 5K < 32 minutes
    Run a 5K in about 30 minutes
  • Run a 10K < 1.15 -> 01:11:17 on 03/13/2010
    Run a 10K < 1.10
    Run a 10K < 1.05
    Run a 10K in about 1.00
  • Start training for a half marathon -> started on April 19th

12 months, 12 runs:
In 2010 I want to participate in a run every month.

Runs:
1. March 7, Trappenbergloop Huizen, 4K -> 00:26:51, 8.9 km/hour, 6:43/km.
2. March 28, Zandvoort Circuit Run, 5K -> 00:32:36, 9.2 km/hour, 6:31/km, new PR 5K.
3. April 18, Nike Ladies Run Hilversum, 10K ->01:13:49, 8.1 km/hour, 7:23/km, new PR 10K.
4. August 25, Emiclaerloop Amersfoort, 5K (actual 4.95K) -> 00:32:45, 9.1 km /hour, 6:37/km.
5. September 3, Vathorst Run Amersfoort, 6.6K (actual 6.55K) -> 00:45:07, 8,7 km/hour, 6:54 /km.
6. September 19, Dam tot Damloop Amsterdam, Ladies Run, 4 EM/6.4K -> 00:42:17, 9.1 km/hour, 6:36/km.
7. October 10, Hoge Veluweloop, 10K
8. November 5, Bergrace by night, 5.6K
9. November 21, Zevenheuvelenloop, 15K
10. December 4, St. Nicolaasloop, 10K
11. December 11, Koude Polderloop, 5K
12. December 31, Sylvestercross, 6K.

15 responses to “A day in my life: Thursday September 30, 2010 + Weight Challenge + Workout goals: September 2010

  1. I would say that you have succeeded this month Fran, not only in your goals but in being able to wear something new, sometimes the weight thing just doesn’t matter!
    I see you have alot of runs planned, that is so great, because it always gives you something to work towards.
    Great work Fran!

  2. I love wearing something new!!!

    If I don’t have a race planned, I work out a lot less. Racing gives me something to look forward to!

    Keep up the good work!

  3. I don’t mind reading your long posts Fran.

    Your running plan gives you motivation. I look forward to reading about the Hoge Veluweloop, 10K race which you are running the 10th of October 🙂
    Have a nice training!

  4. Fantastic month you had…one of your best so far, think us motivating each other really helped….:)
    Great meals you had, haven’t had roast potato’s in years…only sweet potatoes.

    I’ve just got back from teaching, my man in on the autobarn driving back after his trip to the UK…so off to make our dinner now…Salmon Salad…boring hey!!
    Chat soon…
    And congratulations on great month, here’s to October.

  5. Sorry to hear your leg is hurt Fran. 😦 I hope it’s healed up by Saturday. My daughter is extremely fearful of the dentist too. We once spent over 9 hours in the dentists office just trying to get her to sit in the chair. She did eventually, but she is still not very cooperative. That black dress & skirt looks very nice on you.

  6. Great month Fran! You look great in your clothes and I’m sorry that your leg is hurting you. I hate the dentist!

  7. I love my dentist and he is probably going to retire soon!

  8. So very cool about the black pants!!! That is when you really see all the changes you’ve made with your body – love it!

    What is UP with having a sore leg during a run??? It’s really frustrating, that’s for sure. I hope it gets resolved for both of us. Oh, and I end up drinking Gatorade or coconut milk during my runs because it’s so hot and humid that I sweat buckets and need to replace the salt. Last winter I could run without having to drink anything during the run. Couple more months and I’ll be free of the hydration belt. 🙂

  9. Wow – what a list of runs coming up – how exciting!

    Happy day for the dentist. Sometimes the actual anticipation of the visit is so much worse than the actual appointment!

  10. Congratulations on your super September. You did what you said you would when you started Syl’s challenge. It really seems to be working, and your weight loss is awesome! Hope you sort out that leg….try massaging it with arnica, which is natural and works very well. I look forward to reading about October!

  11. You’re doing great Fran! I got a big ole smile on my face when I looked at your race schedule. I love it!
    P.s. I would love to put your dad’s name on a ribbon on my shirt, if that’s ok with you, I just need to know his name.

  12. So glad the dentist went well! Next time you won’t be as worried beforehand, now that you’ve had a good experience with her.
    Good job on the September goals too! And it looks like you have some nice races lined up to keep you motivated through the end of the year.

  13. How wonderful to finally get over your fear of the dentist. And wow..you look great! I’m happy to see that you’re doing so well. I thought your page was private, but I’m glad to see it’s not!

  14. Oy. Hope the dentist wasn’t too bad. I hate the dentist as well. I just dread it! Hopefully you’ll like her and it won’t be too bad…

  15. I hate the dentist too. I spent so much on dental work this year that I could have bought a new wardrobe instead!

    YOu are doing great! Love the black skirt!

Leave a Reply

