A day in my life: Monday October 11, 2010

Thoughts:
First of all I’m so happy that my regular readers almost all participate in the Virtual Pink Dress Run. And I’m glad some new followers (thanks to Syl) are joining us too. Thank you girls, you are the best! If you missed it: see here.

I’ve made a new page on my blog. I’ve put my running playlist on it. I’ll be updating it regularly. Maybe you can use it for some inspiration for songs. You can find it here.

Exercise:
Yesterday I had the “Hoge Veluweloop”. I signed up for 10K. The weather was perfect for October, at some point around 6K even to hot because there was no wind, no shadow and sunshine everywhere.

I started this run without expectations, I would just run it and see where I would finish although I had about 01:10 in mind. I started too fast as usual but it didn’t really bother me, I felt good. I did do my walking breaks as I always do on my long runs. The route was so beautiful, it was forest all around me and I looked around me a lot. When I looked at my Garmin around 9K it came to mind that I could finish below 01:10 and I kept running. I stopped my Garmin at 10K and at that point I was about 100 metres from the finish line. And guess what:

I SET A NEW PR ON THE 10K.

I’ve beaten my old PR with almost 3 minutes, I still can’t believe I did it but I did. My time: 01:08:23 (last PR 01:11:10). You can understand my day couldn’t be better anymore.

Hoge Veluwe

With my Mom

Before the start

During the run

Finished!

Stats:
Weather: warm, little wind every now and then, ± 21C/69 degrees.
Distance: 10 K / 6.2 miles
Time: 01:08:23
Average time: 6:50 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bruce Springsteen – Cover me

Weekly review week 40:
Monday: Running, 5.3K/3.3 miles, 35 minutes, burned 459 calories and 50 minutes of walking.
Tuesday: Walking, 25 minutes.
Wednesday:. Off day
Thursday: Running, 3.6K/2.2 miles, 24 minutes, burned 314 calories.
Friday: Walking, 40 minutes.
Saturday: Walking, 25 minutes.
Sunday: Running, 10K/6.2 miles, 1 hour 8 minutes, burned 854 calories.

Weekly totals:
Time: 2 hours and 7 minutes.
Distance: 18.9 K / 11.7  miles
Burned calories: 1627

Daily dinner

Saturday
I baked a delicious apple pie.

Sunday
Pork tenderloin with mushroom sauce, baked potatoes and a salad.

Monday
A beef burger, potatoes and stir-fried pak-choi cabbage (bought a bit too little)

Fran’s daily outfit:

Monday

Monday's shoes

19 responses to “A day in my life: Monday October 11, 2010

  1. Great job on the new 10k PR! And then all that yummy food–what a great weekend!

  2. it was so great to see so many pictures of you in action FRan! Great job on the 10k, and I’m so happy so many people have decided to join us. I will keep reminding on my blog and maybe we can get some more to join us ;-).
    Yes I have biked to my moms before but this time I took the scenic route and added 10km to my ride. It was great!
    Off for thanksgiving # 2 today, I’m a little sore today so gonna take a rest day, back to the shred tomorrow ;-).

  3. Congratulations on your new PR – that is an awesome time!!! So proud of you, my friend! 🙂 Glad your mom was there to witness it (and Miss Bella, too).

    Your apple pie looks fantastic – what do you use for the crust? I want some (notice I did not say “a piece” – I want more, lol!).

  4. Oh – great idea to list your running playlist – I am going to steal some song ideas from you!

  5. congrats on the 10k…so almost typed pie there lol, man that thing looks yumm..ok back to the 10k…good job!!!
    M

  6. Hi Fran…Brittney from( http://pursuitoftherealme.blogspot.com/ ) would also like to join the run..I told her I would let you know

    I think this will be so much fun!
    is that first pic where you run sometimes..how pretty!
    M

  7. Woo Hoo on the PR! 10 minute miles – that is pretty speedy, congratulations!

    And that apple pie? I want some!!

  8. Super job on the race, you must feel great cutting time off of your best run! I laughed at the picture following your race picture with thumbs up, it was the pie. Was that your reward? Yum, it looked so beautiful and professionally baked!

    Look for my new “practical” shoes purchase. Blah, but, functional. Your flats are cute!

  9. Congratulations on you PR! You should be so proud. I love the race photos. You looked fantastic!
    (P.S. – You now have me craving a slice of apple pie! :))

  10. Great job and I loved the pictures! I also have “Cover Me” on my Ipod, along with a few other Bruce Springsteen hits. He rocks! Your apple pie looks absolutely gorgeous – one of my favorite things to eat when we go to the Netherlands but I bet yours is way better than anything in a restaurant.

  11. Look at you….great to see you at the start and finish….and with your mom.
    Your apple pie looks amazing…I cant bake so am very impressed.

  12. new PR- woooo hooo!!!!

    I am going to do my run on Sunday- I actually have to do 7.5 miles that day so it will get done for sure!

  13. Congrats on the time!! That is great. That pie looks yummy!! I think I will be coming over..lol I bet your house smelled delish!

  14. Oh YIPPEE YIPEE YIPEEE!!!!!!!!!! I’m so happy for you with your new PR. That’s fantastic Fran. And you got some great pictures of you too. LI love it! Congratulations!!!

  15. Hi Fran,
    Yay!! Congrats to you! Oh, the joy of a PR:) Nice job Fran! I love those pictures! I wonder why mine never turn out that good:) You better order a few of those babies!

    Enjoy the week!

  16. Hooray!! Congratulations Fran – and great pictures. You look so strong!

  17. GREAT job on the run Fran!! WHOO HOOO!!!!

    did you really bake that beautiful looking appeltaart???

  18. Wow I must get the recipe for that apple pie- looks fantastic!! Great Job

  19. Congratulations on the PR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    That apple pie looks amazing!!!!!

Leave a Reply

