A day in my life: Thursday October 14, 2010

Thoughts:
Tuesday my Pilates class was cancelled because the instructor was ill. My plan was to do some weight training because I really need to start with that. But I had to finish a presentation for my manager which took me more time than expected and I worked a little overtime because of that. Besides the fact that I was home later, my legs were even more sore than Monday and I decided to take a day of rest.

Yesterday same story, I had planned to do an interval on the treadmill. At the end of the morning I left the office and drove to another city where I had to help my manager set up his presentation. When we tested it the movies I embedded in the powerpoint presentation didn’t work anymore. It took me 45 minutes to get it working again. My manager asked me if I could stay during his presentation just in case it wouldn’t work again, which didn’t happen, everything went fine. But I left there at 4.30 pm instead of the planned 2 pm and of course was bothered by traffic jam. I was home around 6 pm and dinner wasn’t ready yet and I was tired.

Well sometimes life gets in the way of your plans and you have to accept that.

Exercise:
Today I had a short run scheduled and decided to take Bella. That wasn’t a big success because she kept pulling the leash and not in the direction I had planned. I don’t think I will bring her again on a run, unless she listens very well (which she doesn’t, she’s a terrier, that’s her excuse 🙂 ) and can run without a leash. But we were quite fast together.

Stats:
Weather: drizzling, bit windy, ± 12C/53 degrees.
Distance: 3 K / 1.8 miles
Time: 00:20:18
Average time: 6:46 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Gloria Gaynor – I will survive

Fran’s daily outfit:
K. told me that I looked a bit angry on Tuesday’s pic and that’s correct. Let me tell you I wasn’t, I just happen to look a lot like that. Wednesday’s outfit is actually too dark but I wore black pants, a blue silk blouse, black blazer and black boots with high heels over my pants.

Tuesday

Wednesday

Boots Wednesday

Thursday in new running outfit I bought last weekend

14 responses to “A day in my life: Thursday October 14, 2010

  1. I had to laugh at the fact that Bella was going in a different direction. That’s something my dog would do!
    You are right sometimes life gets in the way, but you come back just that much stronger.

  2. Now this is exactly why I dont plan my training as life happens and once cant always get to it….I have a few things planned that I do every week…but other than that play it by ear….like tomorrow have no run planned with the neighbors so will wake up and decide then what to do as I could say now…I will go to gym, wake up and not feel like it…and then I feel disappointed in myself…
    I know planning works for you as does to do lists…..as you know I need to do that…and still haven’t ~ if I worked like you I know it would be so different for me…am lazy, you not!!!

    Glad u got out today even if it was a difficult run…at least you got out and 3km is better than nothing at all….

  3. I admire how you didn’t let yourself get upset when work (and traffic) got in the way of your exercise. Being able to go with the flow is such a good quality to have, and something that I need to work on, lol!

    I laughed at your run with Bella – I’ve tried running with Paco (he’s a fox terrier mix so that must explain it) and it was a disaster – he’s all over the place…plus he’s way too fast for me.

    Love your boots! And that new running jacket looks fantastic on you – the blue inserts are so stylish. You really look great in that outfit!

  4. Oh, cute new running jacket. Very nice! It’s no fair that life gets in the way. I think we should all be able to do what we want, when we want. Yeah, I know, life doesn’t work that way. Boo hoo:(

  5. I sometimes have to change my my training plan, Fran.
    You took a nice photo of you while you were wearing the new running outfit 🙂
    Happy running!

  6. Those boots look fabulous – and so does your running outfit. You look like a pro 😀

  7. Oooh – I LOVE your boots! And your running outfit -in fact all the pictures are stunning!

  8. It can be frustrating to me when I can’t do the workout that I’ve planned. I’m pretty “stuck” on following my schedule. I think you had a great attitude, thanks Fran.
    Cute black and flowered blouse!

  9. Yes, life happens… You’ll get some good workouts in soon! 🙂 Cute outfits! I really like the top on Tuesday! And I often look “angry” too when I am not! Hubby tells me that all the time! 🙂

  10. Yes, life happens… You’ll get some good workouts in soon! 🙂 Cute outfits! I really like the top on Tuesday! And I often look “angry” too when I am not. Hubby tells me that all the time… 🙂

  11. Bella wants to rule! However I would like to have a dog to run with. Your manager MUST understand your priority: before the run later the job!!!

  12. I love those boots!!! And yes, life happens…but you’ll get in the groove again soon..I have no doubt.

  13. Hi Fran,
    Oh great! Now I want to go shopping for running stuff:)

    Have a fantastic weekend! Do something fun:)

  14. Oh yes, life definitely does get in the way – often! I can totally relate to that. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

