A day in my life: Saturday October 16, 2010

Thoughts:
Happy weekend to all of you. Got two fun things planned. Tonight I’m going to a birthday party of a friend of mine. She recently joined a band which will perform on her party too and she will be singing as she’s the lead singer. There are going to be other friends of me too whom I haven’t seen for a while (met them all through the internet on a Dutch women’s forum, “speak” to them everyday on the forum) so I’m looking forward to it.

Tomorrow R. has a get together from his motor club. They come together at a place about 20 minutes from our home. I will go with him and while R. will be chatting with them, I will take Bella for a walk in the forest that is situated there.

I’m going to stop with the daily outfit. I think I still will take a pic of my favourite outfit of the week. Starting next week I’m going to add something new to my blog. Stay tuned

Exercise:
Woohoo: I ran my first 12K ever today! And it went fantastic.

There was a lot of wind which is normal where I live, it did slow me down a bit but I don’t mind wind because it keeps me from getting hot. I’m more an Autumn or Winter running girl then a Summer girl, it’s often too hot for me. I run better in Autumn and Winter. I had about 85% of the run the wind either in my flanks or at the front. I walked every 2K but never stopped moving. Mentally I didn’t think about 12K I had to run but in 2K parts, after every 2K I said to myself: only 2K to go. I concentrated a lot on the music, I have a lot of Glee music on my Ipod now and these songs always make me happy and I got a lot of them today on the shuffle mode.  I’m a happy girl today.

Stats:
Weather: cloudy, lot of wind, ± 10C/50 degrees.
Distance: 12 K / 7.4 miles
Time: 01:24:39
Average time: 7:03 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Lynrd Skyrd – Sweet home Alabama.

Daily dinner

Thursday
Chicken with snow peas, leek, onions, garlic, cashew nuts and a bit of soy sauce with rice. Very easy to make and very tasteful.

365 days photo challenge:

Day 80 – Sunday October 10
Scenery of the location of my run.

Day 81 – Monday October 11
Totally forgot to take a photo so another one of Sunday’s run. Me at the starting line.

Day 82 – Tuesday October 12
My perfume collection. I love perfumes and wear a different one each day, depending on how I feel that day and what perfume goes with that.

Day 83 – Wednesday October 13
Day outside the office, had lunch at this place.

Day 84 – Thursday October 14
Yes, new running shoes again! I could buy these with a discount. They are exactly the same as the Asics I bought this Summer. These are for when I run on the treadmill in the gym, it’s forbidden to use your outdoor shoes there.

Day 85 – Friday October 15
R. is renovating the garage.

15 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday October 16, 2010

  1. Great that you are such a happy girl today…
    I am struggling ….feeling so down lately…but know there is so much going on and once I hit the sunshine and see my family I will uplifted again.

    Great news on the run….I didn’t know you have never run a 12 before…the most I have run was a 16km, if you remember the day I got lost in the forest…that was my longest run up to date…filled with fear and worry!!!

    I dont enjoy running in the wind at all.,…where my daughter ( youngest ) stays its very windy and when I do the mountain route the wind pains my ears…I prefer a light breeze but wind is not for me…nor is the cold weather runs, I cant get my breathing right…am so looking forward to running out in the sunshine again..feel the sun on my skin…catch a suntan!!

    I see from your perfume collection something that I find very interesting…Dark haired people go for darker, deeper smelling perfume and light haired perfume u usually find with lighter haired people…
    I cant wear the dark perfume, I love all the light ones…my dark haired friends smell divine but if I put the same perfume on it smells horrible on me. I had a friend who wore Angel…I loved the smell on her but when on myself it was horrible.

  2. Congratulations on the 12K! Great job! I am very curious about what the new thing is you are going to announce on your blog… Have a great time tonight with your girlfriends – sounds like a lot of fun!

  3. Congrats Fran, you are well on your way to half marathon distances! You are doing so great!
    Loved all the photos, the route on your run looks gorgeous!
    I also like to wear perfume but mostly when I have some where to go. For everyday I usually just wear a fruity body spray. I had my signature perfume but I’m kinda over it, need to find a new scent! 😉
    Have a great weekend!

  4. Hi Fran, very nice work on the 12K! You are really building a strong base. Glad you have some fun things planned tonight, as it seemed your week was quite hectic (from your last post). I had such a week too, and not many miles were run….such is life. I use 2 perfumes…one of which is a man’s, but I love it! The other one is my ‘signature’ but is not overwhelming.
    Have fun, and a good weekend!

  5. I laughed a little at the size of that garage. I don’t think that would fly here in the US! We have a 1 car garage and worry a bit about resale value with that.

    Great job on doing 12K!

    Have you ever tried Angel perfume bu Thierry Mugler? That is one of my favorites!

  6. Congrats on the 12k and have fun at the party tonight!

  7. Great job on the 12K! Have a wonderful weekend!

  8. Congratulations on the 12K – so happy to hear it went well for you!

    I get hooked on one perfume scent for years…lately it’s been Jessica McClintock. Before that it was Beautiful (by Estee Lauder, I think). Obviously I love florals!

  9. whoo hooo on the run!!!

    dinner looks great, I may work that into my plan next week (am starting planning dinners again and Hubs wants to eat “vegetarian” a few times a week).

  10. Hi Fran,
    Yay for the 12 K!! Awesome job…doesn’t it feel great? You are totally ready for a half marathon!

    I am also a perfume junkie….I have so many freaking bottles…but I like options:)

    That is a great picture of you….you are looking slim and trim:)

  11. I have the same shoes – I LOVE THEM!!! Enjoy
    Great job on 12k- Busy lady- I too love perfume and have a similar looking section on my dresser!! SMILE and HUGS
    Can’t wait to see what you have in place of outifts>>????:)

  12. Which Asics model are those shoes? I like them. Pretty scenery for your run.

  13. Great job on the run!! I couldn’t do it, but I want to! I love perfume bottles, but don’t have that many – you are an inspiration.

  14. Thanks for the pictures, a day in the life of Fran. Fun!
    I also like your new shoes, pink is in right now, all of the new running clothes out for winter are fuschia, I love it!

  15. Love the pics!! & great job on the run!!! Have no clue what Glee is..lol I hate running in the wind not that I am calling myself a runner…yet

Leave a Reply

